Borderland - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Borderland Reviews

Page 1 of 26
October 17, 2016
Extremely underrated and underappreciated movie can't believe how low user reviews are great character development that rises above cliche stereotypes,amazing well told story and good all around performances by actors entertaining trilling gruesome ride.
August 14, 2016
Audio mix is sloppy; background music and room tone overpower the dialogue. The last 30 minutes is basically just a gore fest and frankly difficult to stomach.
½ January 5, 2016
Wow! What an intense movie. Had me on the edge of my seat throughout. Bloody, violent, grim, dark, raw and gratifying. Lots of blood and some very dark, sinister characters. Loved it!
November 10, 2015
Borderland is one of those films that is so realistic in it subject matter, it will scare you away from doing certain things in real life. The story revolves around 3 guys who travel to Mexico for a fun weekend and end up pissing the wrong people off and you can guess what happens. It is gritty and real without any over the top moments to keep it grounded. This is all based on a true story so that makes it even more thrilling as you watch, knowing that this could potentially happen to anyone. It reminded me of the Hostel movies a little, with lots of blood, gore and torture scenes. There wasn't much horror in the film, but plenty of intense moments with the feeling of dread for the characters. If you have ever been to Mexico, this movie will give you a little scared about going again. Great acting coupled with a solid story, makes Borderland a great watch for anyone looking for a fun, gripping flick.
October 21, 2015
I will not be taking a trip to any Mexican border town anytime EVER!
½ September 20, 2015
Bloody as hell, gory as hell. What more could you ask for. Not a lot going on with the plot, but it's not really necessary. Kinda like a Mexican version of Hostel.
½ August 18, 2015
Couldn't finish it. Not a horror movie. More like a suspenseful drama based on true events. Slow start and the main story doesn't even start until 45 minutes into the movie. I was super hopeful and wildly disappointed. Not worth a watch.
July 29, 2015
Didn't even finish this one. :P
½ May 21, 2015
Possibly the worst movie I've ever seen.
February 16, 2015
Plays with multiple genres but pulls of some of them while being entertaining for the most don't buy though.
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
A true story based movie and it has some content similar to the hostel movies , violence , some torture scenes altho not as much. Story follows 3 friends in the border of US / Mexico with a lawless place with dangerous ppl.. Sean Austin have a role here aswell in a bit different way what he usually makes. Overall a well made movie with some creepy stuff that no one would like to face..
September 29, 2014
Borderland is maybe one of those horror pioneers together with Hostel that makes dark brutal scenes to its next level, and might be one of the best After Dark releases in years. It is decent and weak at times in terms of storytelling and bad acting but it gives the goods for Horror nuts aficionados.
September 6, 2014
A film the starts with pretty shocking violence and this continues at times throughout the film, we're talking 'Hostel' style violence and torture, but probably worse, then think of that as based on a true story and it becomes quite a disturbing tale. The acting at the beginning however (Mexican) was much more natural and believable than when it became American and for me that stood out. It has been done before, not sure where else it can go, but as already mentioned this was based on a true story, so for that at least it was an intriguing watch
June 10, 2014
Borderland (Zev Berman, 2007)

Forgettable thriller/torture-porn piece about a trio of clueless college students who head for Mexico to pursue extracurricular activities and end up running afoul of a gang of supernatural drug dealers. (No, really.) There were a few interesting set-pieces, and adding a supernatural element made some of the torture-porn elements of the script feel amusing rather than tiresome and overdone, but the simple fact is that a few days after I watched it, I had two or three images left in my head and had to go read a couple of synopses of the movie to remember anything about it. Not worth going out of your way for, but empty calories for those who enjoy this sort of fare. **
½ March 21, 2014
Sindsyg film. vanvittigt at tænke på den er baseret på virkelige hændelser.
½ March 7, 2014
Survival mexicain. Pas trop mal.
February 16, 2014
Strong and Astin steal this great movie!
December 30, 2013
Tenho andado meio "frágil" demais pra essa gênero cinematográfico. Vamos ver se eu aguento esse aqui agora.
½ October 10, 2013
Watched this based off the 100% rotten tomatoes rating. Boy what a mistake. RT should have rules that you need at least 25 reviews for an official rating. This movie makes the mistake of substituting gore for suspense. The dark mood is wasted as are some talented actors. The worst thing is that this just isn't at all...ever.
Page 1 of 26