Pathology - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pathology Reviews

Page 1 of 120
September 22, 2016
Nothing but gore. No specific plot.
July 26, 2016
Pathology is an interesting piece of work in which it deals with Teddy Grey, a young medical student/intern who is starting his work at a University hospital in Philidelphia. He basically has the life as he is engaged to his fiance (Alyssa Milano) who's father is a big fan of his and will do anything to help him succeed at his career. But upon his arrival at the University he starts to learn that his colleagues have been playing a game between them in which each goes and commits a murder and then the rest of the group tries to figure out how the person died and see if they committed the perfect murder.

At first Teddy seems game to play as the group's leader Jake Gallo informs Teddy that the group only selects "bad" people from their list. Teddy soon finds himself discovering not only is the group lying to him about the victims but he becomes embroiled in an affair with fellow colleague Dr. Judith Bath who also happens to be involved with Gallo. The movie has its fair share of gore and heavy sex themes. Lauren Lee Smith who portrays Judith Bath is the fiery redhead seductress and is very easy on the eyes.

While this movie did not rate well on RT in both with the audience and the critics i think they actually sell the film a bit short. While it does have some similarities with movies like Saw it is still very much different in presentation. Whereas Saw is your run of the mill serial killer movie/series Pathology is a little more clever in how they execute the deviancy of the group. For me i thought the plot was pretty original even though it didnt always expand on certain areas that i initially thought it would. And while the ending was abrupt i thought it was really good and i certainly wont spoil it by giving it away here. Lets just say i was pleasantly surprised and in awe of how it ended.

My rating: 8/10
½ June 30, 2016
sick bastards. unrealistic, all over the place movie.
June 20, 2016
I love any movie with Alyssa milano she is so amazing and beautiful.
February 7, 2016
Bad movie. The plot is lame, the dialogue is worse, a lot of the scenes evoke memories of torture porn, and the performances kinda suck. The only positive thing to say is that the direction and editing are pretty stylish.
August 9, 2015
A very intriguing premise is unfortunately handled in the most vile way possible with the writers of the Crank series pushing everything to the absolute extreme with so-so results. Right from the get-go all of the supposed "med students" act like sociopaths and not once was I ever convinced these characters were real people; smoking crack after each person they killed and bullying each other like they were in high school. As said before, the premise is brilliant with med students making a game out of killing people and attempting to discover the method, but the film is so focused on extremes and way too much unnecessary sex that it quickly becomes style over substance. There are definitely some inventive methods of murder and a little T&A is always welcomed, but for such a clever premise to fall so hard and have these characters able to do whatever they want without anyone becoming wise is just an insult to the medical field.
½ April 26, 2015
Pathology is about a group of doctors who kill people then try and figure out how they killed them exactly. It's bloody, brutal, sexual, animalistic and has a super cringe - worthy.
March 14, 2015
The cinematography and all this movie's performances don't fit in its gaping plot.
The story is unrealistic, as well as the behaviours of the characters, even though, as I said, the actors did a fairly good job.
Moreover, the whole concept is rotten.
February 4, 2015
Really sick, every patient's worst nightmare--twisted doctor killing patients instead of curing them, and for a game, no less
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
A thriller movie with much violence , sex and drugs. The usual stuff for this type of movies. Story decent and acting aswell but the story i thought were kinda bad but overall watchable.
½ December 11, 2014
This film is one that feels like, at some point, there was a really good pulpy idea sitting on a studio table. And then said studio went and completely messed it up somehow. That's just how I see it.

Anyway, "Pathology" is the tale of a medical intern who takes up a new role in a hospital pathology lab. When he ingratiates himself with his fellow young co-workers, the intern is dragged into a dangerous game, where one member commits the "perfect murder", and the others have to determine how the victim died. Spiralling further into the "game", the intern finds himself in a dark world full of drugs and murder and jealousy.

The cast includes Milo Ventimiglia, Michael Weston, Alyssa Milano, Lauren Lee Smith, Johnny Whitworth and John De Lancie from Breaking Bad. They perform well enough, I guess, but none of the characters are written well enough to allow the performers any room for acting.

It just feels like this film too quickly goes for exploitation rather than any sort of clever storytelling that they originally aimed for. Sex (both straight and lesbian) features prominently, and nudity, drugs and shock value seems to be the order of the day.

This film probably only worked for a certain demographic of viewers.

2.5 stars.
½ October 15, 2014
sick to start with but crazy once you get the plot...a one watch movie for sure with enough drama till the last minutes or so
September 30, 2014
An average thriller made a bit better by the ladies - Alyssa Milano and Lauren Lee Smith. Interns who work in the morgue take turns killing residents who live on the fringes of Philadelphia to see who can create the most imaginative murder (without getting caught). Unbelievably (he says sarcastically), things get out of control. There is no twist. It ends as you might expect.
½ September 14, 2014
if you want violence , watch this ........
½ July 7, 2014
Young, annoying doctors...ugh. Watch Dexter instead.
½ June 8, 2014
Pathology (Marc Scholermann, 2008)

It is not entirely correct to say that Pathology is an uncredited remake of Stefan Ruzowitzky's much-superior 2000 film Anatomie. There are enough differences between the two to keep the copyright lawyers at bay. But I will say that there was a time when I was watching Pathology where the two movies are so similar that I paused the movie, pulled up my spreadsheet, and searched it to see if I'd seen the movie before and just forgotten about it. I hadn't, except for when it was called Anatomie. Now, I don't want you to take that to mean that Pathology is a bad movie; it's a capable little thriller, albeit one that goes for the cheap thrill too often. Just the kind of turn-your-brain-off-and-enjoy movie that hits the spot now and again.

Plot: Ted Grey (Stay Alive's Milo Ventimiglia) is a new med school student specializing in forensic pathology. While he may have gotten into his prestigious school thanks to his fiancee Gwen (Buying the Cow's Alyssa Milano)'s father being a higher-up muckety-muck there, he's no slouch when it comes to figuring out cause of death. He's good enough at it, in fact, that he catches the eye of Jake Gallo (State of Play's Michael Weston), a resident with a terrifying drug habit. But that's not Jake's only dark secret; he's also the unofficial head of a small cadre of fellow residents whose extracurricular activities include wild partying and murdering people in inventive ways to see if they can fool the other members of the group vis-a-vis cause of death. Despite his misgivings, the puzzles fascinate Ted, and soon he is drawn into the group.

There's nothing here you won't see coming a mile away. But then, when pretty much everyone in your movie is a killer, it's tough to get away with making your bad guys not seem bad. It's fun. I thought it would have been just as fun without the drug-fueled orgies; your mileage may vary. But if you're looking for a serviceable thriller and some amusing causes of death, this one will be right up your alley. ** 1/2
June 4, 2014
Although Pathology may not land the critical knockout punch, the brutal twists and turns which accompany the dark subject matter will keep you glued to all 94 minutes.
½ May 8, 2014
a lame-yet-must-see movie...
Page 1 of 120