The Midnight Meat Train - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Midnight Meat Train Reviews

Page 1 of 160
November 13, 2017
What started as a pretty cool premise eventually turned into a ridiculous, B-grade mess.

Struggling photographer Leon Kauffman's obsessive pursuit of dark subject matter leads him into the path of a serial killer, Mahogany, the subway murderer who stalks late-night commuters -- ultimately butchering them in the most gruesome ways imaginable.

So, continuing my streak (and poorly kept one) of watching all the films on my Netflix queue, the next one up was "Midnight Meat Train". Honestly, the tile alone sounded like a porno so that was already pretty skeptical. But it's Bradley Cooper's first film and he did great! But in the end, this film was definitely a B-Grade horror film with some cheesy effects, a ridiculous premise, and just kinda wasteful.

One thing that was a mix for me was the premise of this film. I thought this film had a ton of potential to be something cool. In fact, the first third of the film was really neat. It was interesting, mysterious, and creepy. There was a sense of realism and disturbing vibes that got me interested in the film. However, the last two acts or so came and the movie became ridiculous. The characters were rash, the plot became too big for its own good, it became sadly predictable, and it tried to become something that it was not. It was a story with a lot of potential but I think it went too far and tried to be too much.

In terms of acting, this film was decent. Bradley Cooper is obviously a plus, as I think this guy really does have a lot of talent and skill. I think the surrounding cast was forgettable at best. I don't think anyone else here really put on a memorable performance, at least none that stand out. I don't think anyone was particularly bad, but it just wasn't special. It's the kind of thing you'd see in most cheesy horrors, which in the end just allows these performances to get lost in the sea of cinema.

The special effects were more than questionable. I can understand that this film was working on a low budget, but filmmakers need to be aware of what they can and cannot do. Just because you can make it in effects doesn't mean you should add it in. Sometimes regardless of budget, bad effects can completely take you out of the film. There were some cartoon moments in this film that made me chuckle. It wasn't supposed to funny because the ideas were quite disturbing, but it just felt so cheesy. Filmmakers nowadays need to know how to utilize their budgets. I get if they were trying to go for cheesy, but it really didn't seem like they were.

In the end, this film is definitely forgettable. I guess it's fine, simple content that has some enjoyable ideas, but it's mostly an over exaggerated mess.
½ November 11, 2017
While the plot started promising, the twist at the end of the movie introduced an over the top, unrelated conclusion demonstrating a lack of imagination and an understanding of potential audiences. Do not waste your time with this film, the characters are undeveloped and the plot line was weak. The best thing about this movie are all of the innuendo related puns you can make while watching this movie. Do yourself a favor and pick another.
½ September 19, 2017
It was ok, the movie itself isn't specially good until the end is revealed.
August 13, 2017
The cast is good and the story is intriguing and peculiar.
August 4, 2017
Starts out pretty good, then gets dumb, then gets better, then becomes really stupid. I dug the style of the movie, but man, in some parts it was just way too dark and i couldn't see what was going on, and the sound mixing was pretty terrible. Regardless, pretty entertaining movie.
July 27, 2017
The clustered ending and scenes dedicated to turning our stomach can sometimes be distracting, but The Midnight Meat Train makes up for its flaws through tension, unpredictability, and style and fans of the slasher genre should drool over this one.
½ June 17, 2017
This movie was horrible. Too much to pick apart and I don't have time, but the whole thing was disjointed and made no sense. The writing was horrible. I can't believe I wasted time watching the whole thing.
½ June 10, 2017
The abundance of gore paired with solid performances from the cast, which includes Vinnie Jones and Bradley Cooper, make the film one of the better Barker adaptations. But some questionable CG choices, an uneven level of tension, and some pacing issues hold it back from being great. 3 1/2 stars
May 21, 2017
Bradley Cooper and Vinnie Jones give performances on a higher tier than the rest of the film. It seems like the movie wanted to be an intentionally silly B movie, but could have been better if it went with a darker tone and less over the top CGI. Still a fun watch if you can look past its obvious flaws.
½ May 21, 2017
An overly dumb movie with some just really terrible CGI, Midnight Meat Train never manages to leave the station.
April 30, 2017
Seen it 50% 79% what
April 25, 2017
Slightly confusing yet entertaining
April 24, 2017
A real surprise of a gem. For horror fans, this one is a must - it does a brilliant job with a Cliive Barker story.
April 23, 2017
I've seen quite a fair few movies like this, and it was fairly disappointing. The plot was written poorly and I hate when they pull twists at the end that make it seem like the ending was pulled out of their butt. It gets two stars because at the beginning it had a lot of promise and I like Bradley Cooper. This was overall one of the worst movies I've ever seen
April 21, 2017
What started off as an intriguing thriller with over the top, but tolerable, gore, quickly transformed into an irrelevant and garage film. Although I was surprised by its interesting ending, it was purely awful. As soon as the conductor says "please step away from the meat," you are taken into a vaguely explained, cannibalistic, demon infested mess that loses sight of what made this movie good. Beautifully dark cinematography and of course great acting from Bradley Cooper, but an ending that removes all substance that this film carried.
½ April 21, 2017
Impressive gorey action sequences and stylish auteurs direction can't compensate for a crappy ending and multitudes of oddities.
April 17, 2017
The last 30 minutes that had the reveal the whole film was building up to was pure garbage. The sheer gore will make you flinch but the plot is such a disaster that it doesn't even make a difference. I wanted to be scared but am just grossed out. I love a good gory horror movie if it's done well but this was a definite miss. Characters that were hardly believable and a story not worth being invested in. Too bad, with a title like this I really wanted it to be good but it amounted to mindless gore porn at best.
April 16, 2017
This was an awesome Movie 10+
April 15, 2017
Clive Barker makes my skin crawl and ties up a good story to ancient sentient things well enough to not want to watch this late, watch it early in the day.... ewwww!
Super Reviewer
April 15, 2017
Interesting and sometimes clever film that takes a slasher film concept and turns it into something else entirely. This is much better than expected but the ending doesn't add up, I've tried working it out but the motivations aren't clear. The film is not for the faint of heart and it's really in your face from the beginning. As horror films go, this has atmosphere and an engaging cast of characters but I'm not completely sold on the final third but maybe it might change with another viewing.
Page 1 of 160