House - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

House Reviews

Page 1 of 32
½ July 30, 2017
Disappointing remake. Also proof that Micheal Madsen will do ANYTHING. Seriously. Skip this and go find the original.
June 16, 2017
Not worthy of the book. Poor screen play and very bad directing
January 22, 2017
meh; it wasn't bad -- i liked the way it ended. but seriously, if i was that chick i would've just started driving & gave him no choice. he was a maniac driver.
October 16, 2016
In the top 5 for worst acting I've ever seen. Couldn't even finish this garbage.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
The movie begun quite good and it looked promise at first but changed to strange things in the story. I had wanted another style of the flick. But it was a decent movie despite that and some good horror moments or shall say thriller/mystery perhaps. Anyway take a closer look , u might like it more.
December 17, 2014
House is a noble attempt to bring Horror to a wider audience. It is xtian based with no sex or cursing. The dialogue could have been smarter, but it was produced well enough to almost put chills in your bones. I hope they keep moving this direction. Thanks to ralph winters (xmen) it's not a complete loss.
December 13, 2014
weird movie, kind of creepy
October 14, 2014
House is trash! Those are the only words this movie deserves.
July 12, 2014
Run of the mill, lost in the woods so called horror film, that doesn't work.
July 6, 2014
Outro bom livro de Ted Dekker arruinado pelo trabalho medíocre do diretor Robby Henson.
May 3, 2014
One line summary: Extended guilt trips for two couples with ugly secrets.

------------------

Jack and Stephanie (a writer and a singer) drive in Alabama. Jack is driving too fast, and a cop passes him. The cop had gone ahead to block off part of the road next to an accident. Jack runs over some of the cop's cones, so they have a conversation. Jack asks for the quickest way back to the Interstate, and the cop gives them a shortcut. This turns out very badly: there is a car partially blocking the dirt road, and a do-it-yourself spike strip over the rest of the path. So, they are in the middle of nowhere with two flat tires and one spare.

Jack and Stephanie find a house with lights on inside, which looks promising. There is a guest register. Randy and Leslie (grad student in psychology, and a real estate developer) are the other involuntary 'guests,' who also ran over the same sharp iron and got flats on their BMW. Shortly after the two couples start exploring, the electricity goes out, and the men go looking for the generator.

The owners, Stewart and Betty, plus son Pete, greet them and give them some so-so news, like indifferent telephone service, no likelihood of tow trucks coming in the night, and 20 USD/person to stay the night. Pete does fix the electricity, and Betty sets a nice table.

At the dinner, the weirdness starts. The ice is impossibly cold, visions start showing up, the owners are rather menacing. When Leslie tries to leave, a menacing figure shows up at the front lawn. Betty is rather discouraged, and asks them what they did in order to bring forth the Tin Man. Leslie starts reading newspaper clippings glued to a wall, recounting an accident some years past.

Betty identifies the figure as the Tin Man. She says that he comes only for the guilty. The Tin Man drops in a tin can with rules on it. They need to deliver a body to the Tin Man by morning, or else he will kill all of them. Stewart and Betty attempt to lock the quartet in the meat locker, but they fight back.

So, do any of the protagonists survive? Just who are Stewart, Betty, Pete, and Tin Man, anyway? Do the guilty secrets of the young quartet surface? What secrets are contained in the house?

-----Scores-----

Cinematography: 7/10 Too dark, with focus a bit too soft.

Sound: 5/10 A bit hollow at times. Also, the synchronisation between actors' lips and spoken words is off, giving the impression that the whole thing is dubbed without sub-titles.

Acting: 6/10 Not great, but better than in many similar films. Lew Temple, Leslie Easterbrook, Bill Moseley, and Michael Madsen were fine, though Madsen's role was rather short.

Screenplay: 5/10 Familiar themes with not much original, though the ending did seem to be borrowed from another genre. The story does move right along.
April 24, 2014
A putrid film with way to many sub-plots and a stupid twist ending.
The worst part about the movie, is if it had been done right, it could've been similar to The Shining.
½ April 13, 2014
I'm a big fan of Ted Dekker books and this movie lives up to the intensity of his books. It's a scary movie without a bunch of gore. The story has a Christian point of view without being obvious. You're not sure what you're watching if it is a slasher/crazy people story, a ghost story, a demonic possession story, or a haunted house story. Either way it is a good scary/thriller movie that has a moral and point.
½ April 11, 2014
Creepy, but not hugely frightening and very cliche as well. I'm puzzled about the R. rating - there's no swearing, sex or huge amounts of gore befitting that kind of censorship. It was entertaining though, so if you're not expecting much, you may be surprised!
February 25, 2014
When i read the book at school i was like oh my godess i need more and then in the back it said now a motion picture i screamed in joy and i watched it on netflix it was so good and i watched it literally 4 times before i calmed down...
½ February 15, 2014
While it's not awful and it was able to keep my interest for the most part, it doesn't have much to offer that we haven't already seen elsewhere (and better).
December 18, 2013
I shouldn't overthink this since I read the book, cuz that was actually good.
½ July 2, 2013
Pronounced christian themes throughout this slightly confused Gothic horror tale. It's not a bad story, good themes of redemption and forgiveness and how we hold ourselves and others accountable for sins or perceived sins, it's just told in a muddled way. A couple of interesting twists and turns, although you really see them coming, and no real scares, but still a decent watch.
July 1, 2013
Very strange horror film.
June 13, 2013
The book was way better
Page 1 of 32