Appaloosa - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Appaloosa Reviews

Page 2 of 8
November 8, 2008
No ordinary oater.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 7, 2008
It was at times incredibly slow and even poorly edited, and I've never understood the appeal of Renee Zelwegger.
November 7, 2008
Ed Harris does it better than anybody.
November 3, 2008
A fine cast produces a surprisingly low-key outing. It sports a plot like a Western from 45 years ago, but pacing familiar from LONESOME DOVE.
Full Review| Original Score: 6/10
October 31, 2008
Viggo Mortensen's brilliantly cool performance engenders enough good will to see "Appaloosa" through its pokey meandering to an intriguingly philosophical conclusion: a look at modern outsourcing, capitalism and progress through a Western prism.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 18, 2008
A gentle, warmly human and quietly compelling western with a wry sense of humour and some engaging performances from a group of fine actors.
October 18, 2008
The first hour bored me nearly to tears, but I'm glad I stuck it out, since the last half hour is fresh, diverting and original in the context of a neo-Western. Or a neo anything.
Read More | Original Score: B
October 18, 2008
It isn't a bad film, but the pacing drags it down to the level of just another horse opera when it could have been so much more.
October 16, 2008
The film is more trenchant character study than thrilling showdown, and it confounds as many generic expectations as it fulfills.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 13, 2008
A welcome return to the roots of the western genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 10, 2008
Appaloosa takes the traditional notion of a lone lawman fighting injustice and turns it successfully on its head.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 10, 2008
Sometimes Appaloosa seems bent on exploiting the standard cliches of the western genre ...while at others it seems striving to be a modernist update full of ambiguity ...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
October 10, 2008
For those of you who yearn for Westerns like "3:10 to Yuma" and "Tombstone," here's another one you should reach for.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/4
October 9, 2008
The chemistry of Ed Harris and Viggo Mortensen makes 'Appaloosa' a huge film in the way it gets under your skin and into your heart.
October 8, 2008
Harris and Mortensen radiate a rugged integrity...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 8, 2008
Very disappointing ---- I was so in the mood for a great western!
Full Review
October 8, 2008
We just want the movie to ride off in the sunset to rest among all the other disappointing westerns in Boot Hill.
Full Review
October 7, 2008
If it feels a bit like an old Howard Hawks western (no slacker with the subtext himself) -- that's not a bad thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 7, 2008
Plays on conventions so smoothly that we're never distracted from the ride.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
October 7, 2008
...so old-fashioned it even carries a troubling dose of old-fashioned sexism.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 2 of 8