Appaloosa - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Appaloosa Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
October 3, 2008
Harris directs with a steady hand and sharp eye for the best in his fellow actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
October 3, 2008
Mortensen should certainly do another western, soon. Preferably he should do one with a real sense of danger to go along with all the neat, tidy, highfalutin' honor and decency.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
September 19, 2008
Mannered, episodic and slow.
Fernando F. Croce
Slant Magazine
September 16, 2008
While he thankfully avoids the actor-filmmaker avenger fantasies of The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada, Harris doesn't have the genre chops to fill Appaloosa's empty spaces.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
November 7, 2008
It was at times incredibly slow and even poorly edited, and I've never understood the appeal of Renee Zelwegger.
Sarah Boslaugh
Playback:stl
October 10, 2008
Sometimes Appaloosa seems bent on exploiting the standard cliches of the western genre ...while at others it seems striving to be a modernist update full of ambiguity ...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Victoria Alexander
FilmsInReview.com
September 25, 2008
Squinting Zellweger ruins it. I liked the hats.
Full Review
Robert Davis
Paste Magazine
September 19, 2008
Appaloosa has a solid enough opening, and it should be fun just to watch things play out, what with the shootouts, the trains, the swagger at gunpoint. But the script (co-written by Harris) is alternately dumb and lifeless.
Full Review | Original Score: 40/100
Rob Vaux
Flipside Movie Emporium
September 20, 2008
The parts of it that work, work very well... so much so in fact that the parts which don't simply can't keep up.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Kevin McCarthy
WJFK-FM (CBS Radio)
October 3, 2008
With a cast and director like this, you would expect greatness. What you really should expect is a cup of coffee so you can stay awake.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Christopher Null
Filmcritic.com
September 18, 2008
too authentic to be populist, yet too familiar to transcend the genre and hang with the bona fide classics.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Willie Waffle
WaffleMovies.com
October 3, 2008
I love a good western, so I am not very enamored with Appaloosa. I guess you can say I just want to be friends with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
December 5, 2008
Uma produção correta e que prende a atenção especialmente graças à dinâmica entre Harris e Mortensen, mas que, no fim das contas, não exibe nada que a torne diferente do convencional.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
October 3, 2008
After Appaloosa establishes its slightly modern characters in a traditional setting, it has nowhere to go but toward the completely expected.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Alex Markerson
E! Online
October 3, 2008
Emotionally Appaloosa shoots blanks.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 22, 2008
The various symbols never coalesce into metaphor so much as they stand stagnant and hollow at the edges of the frame.
Ron Wilkinson
Monsters and Critics
September 19, 2008
Luscious enough photography and fun to watch, "Appaloosa" brings nothing new to the table. As a collection of things that have been done before who will watch it over the originals?
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Jeanne Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
October 8, 2008
Very disappointing ---- I was so in the mood for a great western!
Full Review
David Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
October 8, 2008
We just want the movie to ride off in the sunset to rest among all the other disappointing westerns in Boot Hill.
Full Review
Tony Medley
tonymedley.com
September 21, 2008
Harris and Mortensen are out to get Irons, and their plan appears to be to talk him to death. It took a lot of stretching to get this to last for two hours.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Tom Meek
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009

Irish Times
October 18, 2008
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
October 18, 2008
Page 1 of 8