Moon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Moon Reviews

Page 2 of 514
½ November 22, 2016
Just could not get on with this. Felt like it was lacking that something. A promising story that fell flat.
November 21, 2016
I mean it's a good movie but I'm not going to talk about it everyday.
½ October 15, 2016
Intelligent, moon shows us that you sometimes we can not tolerate us ourselves
October 15, 2016
Promettente debutto alla regia per Duncan Jones, che riesce a creare un film ricco di tensione e di un ottima interpretazione del protagonista. Purtroppo la storia mi ha lasciato un po' confuso, ma in generale sono rimasto soddisfatto.
October 11, 2016
I absolutely loved this movie
October 6, 2016
Brilliant and original with no aliens...and a science fiction movie which will leave audiences pondering the central theme or message; long after the final credits have finished rolling !
October 5, 2016
Sam Rockwell has to be one of the most underrated actors out there.
½ September 12, 2016
This movie is awesome and fantastics?love it?
September 6, 2016
An unexpected sci-fi drama gem! Great concept that makes you think. Sam Rockwell has got serious game!
September 4, 2016
Brilliant performance by Sam Rockwell.
August 28, 2016
Netflix es, entre muchas otras cosas, una especie de basurero de películas. Me explico: El día de hoy hay demasiadas películas, pq hacer películas se ha convertido en una inversión monetaria más. Debido a ello es que existe mucha película para gente poco exigente (miren esa Suicide Squad, mucho trailer, poca sustancia, harta ganancia). No me gusta perder mi tpo, por eso me guío por crítica especializada, comentarios de amigos/conocidos que se han ganado mi respeto, y por eso es que en Nfx encuentro solo 10~15% de lo que ando buscando. He leído artículos sobre esto, de que varias películas de mala crítica tienen una 2da chance en Nfx. Por eso fui feliz al ver que tienen (lamentablemente solo hasta el 01/09/2016) "Moon" (2009), la opera prima de Duncan Jones.

"Moon" es una película de ciencia ficción que ocurre en la luna y tiene a un único protagonista, un compadre encargado de mantener andando máquinas que generan energía para el planeta Tierra. De ahí ya comenzó con un gran concepto. Como es una película pequeña tiene una buena visión de autor, y leí en ella crítica al capitalismo extremo y planteamiento de grandes dilemas éticos. Tb ahonda en el instinto de sobrevivencia, y la relación del ser humano con la inteligencia artificial, lo cual es muy "2001 Odisea del espacio". La influencia de "2001" tb se nota en los hermosos efectos especiales de "Moon", los cuales no parecen ser esa ordinariez de CGI bajo la cual tantos han sucumbido.

Si quieren ver una versión gringa-Disney-familiar-feliz vean "The martian" (2015), la cual es entretenida pero... eso no más po, jaja. Típico blockbuster gringo, un blanqueo familiar de películas con ideas más transgresoras. Material de Oscar po. Para mi "Moon" es la mano, no "The martian". Si a las películas rupturistas e influyentes (aunque sean pequeñas), no al blanqueo de Hollywood. Hay una sensibilidad artística en la peli de presupuesto acotado que muere/disminuye en manos de Hollywood, quien se preocupa más de generar un producto estandarizado altamente rentable.

Como pildorita, la 2da película que Jones dirigió fue "Source code" ("8 minutos antes de morir", con Jake Gyllenhaal). En ella tb se dio maña de plantear dilemas éticos, manteniendo mirada de autor aun contando ya con un presupuesto de Hollywood

"Moon" ganó un Bafta a mejor opera prima de un director británico. Me parece muy merecido. No lo olviden, disponible en Nfx solo hoy Lunes y mañana Martes. 4 de 5.
August 22, 2016
Easily the greatest science fiction film in the last 20 years. Sam Rockwell (and Duncan Jones) cement themselves as true artists with this emotionally gripping indictment of corporate dehumanization.
½ August 16, 2016
Wholly original and exceptionally clever, Moon is both a sci-fi thriller, a horror film, and a look into the degradation of psyche. Quite, quite good.
½ August 12, 2016
Didn't like it as much as I expected to. Rockwell is brilliant in a really tough role and carries the film in a Tom Hanks in Cast Away- type fashion. Some of the bits don't feel necessary which is surprising since it's only a 97 minute film but it's generally solid visually with a lot of narrative heft. Ending wasn't very satisfying though.
½ August 11, 2016
Didn't like it as much as I expected to. Rockwell is brilliant in a really tough role and carries the film in a Tom Hanks in Cast Away- type fashion. Some of the bits don't feel necessary which is surprising since it's only a 97 minute film but it's generally solid visually with a lot of narrative heft. Ending wasn't very satisfying though.
August 8, 2016
"Sam, get some sleep. You're very tired."

I have to say, from all the critical praise this movie gets, I'm a little underwhelmed/disappointed I'm afraid. But that doesn't mean this film is by any means a disaster, it's quite the opposite actually.

Let's start with the positives. Firstly, Sam Rockwell can act, he plays Sam Bell (TOO MANY SAMS) , an astronaut who maintains harvesters on the moon that gives energy back to the earth. His performance, especially as the deteriorating version of himself, plays out like an absolute fever dream. It's pretty damn excellent. The soundtrack to this film is wonderful. Combining a somber piano tune with the mysteries scattered in the movie. The atmosphere is cold, simplistic, but cold. Which I guess capitalises on the colour scheme of the movie itself, black and white. GERTY, played by Kevin Spacey, is a big help (maybe top much of a help as I'll explain later). The cinematography and stage design are all on par. But Moon has plenty of wafer-thin plot devices that unfortunately drag it down.

The emotional connection between Sam and his daughter, through his perspective is absolutely harrowing, but through the audiences eyes I feel as if Duncan Jones could've done more visually to interpret his mental breakdown as a clone. The dramatic elements of this movie, whilst mysterious, are unfortunately uneventful for the most part. Yes, there is somewhat of a 'big reveal', but it's bought down by how explained it is. A robotic giveaway by GERTY. Sam's illness could've been highlighted a bit more, there is some gross signs of his body whittling away at itself, but mentally I feel like instead of maybe using a metaphor which is also grounded in reality, Duncan Jones could've utilised the 'perception vs reality' concept hinted at around the time Sam pours boiling water on himself.

In what could've been a fever dream of ambiguity, Moon is sadly not the cold chilling film it could've been. There are some great moments of brokenness, but the character's motivation and reaction to the essential thinly advertised twist of the whole movie is done exceedingly poorly. Still, Moon isn't a disaster and it's very well made in terms of atmosphere. It's just everything else is a bit meh, in an attempt to compensate for lack of ideas to do with the harshness of isolation, especially in a cruel environment like space.

B-

62/100
August 5, 2016
Interesting, but not something monumental or especially memorable.
½ July 31, 2016
Moon est un film avec une idée particulièrement intéressante et originale, un film de science-fiction sans extraterrestre, juste une question existentielle qui tient presque tout le métrage. Presque, car Moon est aussi furieusement répétitif et parfois totalement ennuyeux. 15 minutes de moins n'auraient pas été de trop, même si Sam Rockwell est excellent dans un rôle aux confins de la folie. Kevin Spacey apporte un très bon boulot au niveau vocal et Duncan Jones a quelques idées de cinéma plutôt bonnes. Moon est un petit film habile qui parvient à ce qu'il veut, sans pour autant être un immanquable. Dommage.
July 25, 2016
I'd just like to make it short and quote QERTY: ":)"...
Page 2 of 514