Hero Wanted - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hero Wanted Reviews

Page 1 of 21
½ March 28, 2015
Life - its up its down you're happy you're sad you do well you make really stupid mistakes. These are a bit bigger than most, but hey, its a movie :D I liked it, and I like Gooding.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
Pretty decent drama / crime movie with Cuba Gooding and Ray Liotta. 2 good actors that deliver nice performances for the most time. Story was nice aswell with scenes jumping back and forth but easy to follow through the whole movie. Enjoy
August 10, 2014
What a crappy movie, haha. Man decides to rob bank to meet teller girl... I'm supposed to believe this guy is somehow a bright guy ? If you bought the basic premise of this movie without rolling your eyes, you deserve to watch it endlessly for eternity.
½ January 27, 2014
Cuba Gooding Jr gives a strong performance in a story of a man's journey through tragedy and redemption. Slightly convoluted, but emotionally powerful.
September 9, 2013
This film was ok but not great. Least it is worth a look.
June 13, 2013
????? ? ?????? ? ????????
½ March 1, 2013
lots of action. pretty sad at the end.
January 20, 2013
[01/13] Der Film hat leider zu viele Plotholes um wirklich gut zu sein. Außerdem wirkt er an vielen Stellen gehetzt, während andere gähnend langweilig sind. Rückblicke sind schwer zu erkennen, wodurch die Story verwirrend wird. Allerdings ist die Besetzung top.
November 5, 2012
The script is clunky and the dialogue weak. It also has the most absurd plot twist and tagged-on third scene action fest. How this ever got made is beyond me.
½ October 12, 2012
boring..it is ratimg R but the story plot is loong..
Super Reviewer
½ July 13, 2012
Being that they do so much direct-to-video stuff, it's hard to remember that both Cuba Gooding Jr., and Ray Liotta are award winning actors! Hero Wanted is one of those direct-to-video films. It follows the story of a man who tries to live the righteous life, but even the best of people have their breaking point. This was a really interesting story, with some unexpected twists and turns. It was a pretty good film that really fell under the radar. The story was great and the acting was top notch, but the way it was filmed really left a lot to be desired. The film is frequently jumping months ahead or to a flashback, without any notice or footnotes, it made parts of the film very confusing. There were also a couple of pretty big plot holes, that added to the confusion. This is by no means a classic, but the acting was terrific, the action was pretty cool, and I enjoyed it quite a bit.
½ April 24, 2012
it wasnt terrible. it wasnt awesome either.
½ April 8, 2012
i hadnt heard of this film but usually like some of the cast. i was suprised as the plot was very good with a few twists, shows that not all is what it seems.
½ March 29, 2012
A heist film with plenty of flash-backs a-la reservoir dogs anyone? Been there done that howeva most of these films are interesting and funny like "The hard easy". This one is heavy and plodding. over-written and over-acted it takes the long way to get to a simple point. A heist film revenge film should boring you in and have you sitting at the edge of your seat. This one was like c'mon already kill somebody. Yes it had a great cast, yes it was well written, yes it had good productions but it was still a bad film. A boring film.
January 13, 2012
Pretty good movie i thought. Good story lines and i thought enough action.
December 31, 2011
This movie was WAY under rated. This has more plot twists in it than Medusa's hairdo. The viewer doesn't get what is going on fully until well after the midway point in this picture and that keeps it intriguing. Ray Liotta, Cuba Gooding Jr. and Ben Cross were spot on in their roles. Kim Coates, Tommy Flanagan and Gary Cairns II also rocked in their roles as well--even though Cairns role is a bit smaller...The role is significant. Watch the scenes between Cairns and Sami Hanratti...THOSE ARE CONVINCING! That guy is going places. Coates and Flanagan already moved on to Sons of Anarchy fame! Ben Cross is excellent in ANY film he is in also...This movie is far better than it was given credit for.
December 10, 2011
Recommended by Lisa W.
July 30, 2011
Forgettable revenge thriller where events unfold in non-linear fashion. Ultimately short-handed, there is little appeal to this disjointed film beyond its graphic violence.
June 16, 2011
Great movie. Excellent story and very gripping.
Super Reviewer
½ May 28, 2011
An explosive, adrenaline-fueled and hard-boiled action-packed thriller. A dazzlingly original movie packed with style, suspense and emotionally engaging characters and story. It's intense, gripping, thrilling and deeply moving. A awesome action movie that's one hell of a cool ride. One of the strongest, smartest, most compelling and original action films i have seen in a while. Cuba Gooding Jr. gives a riveting and strong performance, he tears up the screen with great movie star charisma. Ray Liotta gives a great and gritty performance, he shines in this compelling role. An action movie with great dramatic quality that just makes it more interesting. A wickedly entertaining movie from start to finish.
Page 1 of 21