Ben X - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ben X Reviews

Page 1 of 2
August 29, 2009
From the opening moments, as the graphics of the Archlord online game intercut with the world of Dutch teenager Ben (Greg Timmermans), we know we're in for something special
March 26, 2009
There is a lot to like about this daring drama but the final act pushes the suspension of disbelief to the extreme.
March 12, 2009
Greg Timmermans gives an exemplary performance as the title character, making his withdrawn loneliness a palpable thing.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 2, 2009
Writer/director Nic Balthazar, adapting his own novel, would fool most as a first time filmmaker, as "Ben X" compellingly pulls one into Ben's world...
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 26, 2009
There are lessons to be learned, but rarely have such lessons been transformed into such vivid and emotionally affecting drama.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
February 26, 2009
In adapting his novel and subsequent stage play, first-time writer-director Nic Balthazar seems more intent on impressing World of Warcraft gamers than honestly exploring the inner life of the mildly autistic boy at the center of his story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 24, 2009
This is a movie specially made for viewers who like a surprise ending.
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 29, 2008
The film is harrowing, if maybe a bit melodramatic, until it crashes and burns in a feel-good ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 5, 2008
A provocative, exultant stunner.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 26, 2008
The best movie I've seen about teen angst since Donnie Darko comes from Belgium?
November 21, 2008
The Flemish dialogue is not the only distinction of Belgian Nic Balthazar's confident, fearless directorial debut.
October 24, 2008
Undeniably a high-level achievement.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 24, 2008
There's not a moment of warmth or ease in Ben X, Nic Balthazar's punishingly cacophonous debut.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 22, 2008
The best movie I've seen about teen angst since Donnie Darko comes from Belgium?
October 19, 2008
Balthazar's aesthetic is ugly, aloof, maddeningly literal and unimaginative.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 18, 2008
Ben X boldly melds virtual reality with live-action vérité style and docudrama to create what may be a new film grammar.
August 29, 2008
There's an especially important central theme to this striking teen drama that gives the film a potent urgency.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 29, 2008
In short, Ben X is a well made, superbly acted drama with an emotionally engaging script and an important message. Recommended.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 29, 2008
It is based on a successful play and has won festival awards. But its convoluted plot and an ending which we are not sure is real or fantasy prevent it striking home as well as it might.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
August 29, 2008
This "issue" movie from Belgian director Nic Balthazar throws a dramatic feint so improbable one can almost see a cartoon question mark floating above the audience's heads.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 2