Android - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Android Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ May 21, 2016
Klaus Kinski plays an oddball doctor (imagine that?) conducting experiments in outer space involving androids. His assistant is Max 404 who unknowingly lets a group of criminals onboard and he begins getting a crush on the one female member of the space outlaws. Chases thought lots of space station corridors ensures. Nothing much to see here except for another unhinged performance by Kinski, but it's not too bad as low budget Roger Corman production go.
March 4, 2016
Entertaining grade B space sci fi...
April 25, 2015
how can this be rated fresh when only 38% of people liked it?
½ February 16, 2015
To be, or not to be.
April 3, 2013
Ett kammardrama i yttre rymden, med en touch av Blade Runner och Alien. Inte helt fel. Klaus Kinski, som blev något av en rymdskräckspecialist under åttiotalet, och Don Opper i rollen som androiden ger faktiskt filmen en viss klass, även om den låga budgeten förstås lyser igenom. Det här bör förresten ha varit den sista av alla de Alien-ripoff-filmer från åttiotalet jag har tuggat mig igenom under de senaste åren, men så här i efterhand kan jag konstatera att Android nog ligger längst ifrån att vara en ren kopia. Lifeforce, Forbidden World, Galaxy of Terror, Inseminoid, Star Crystal, Alien 2: On Earth, Contamination, Creature, Terror from Within, Saturn 3, Moontrap, Deepstar Six, Leviathan och Xtro har alla legat närmre "originalet", om någon undrar.
½ December 22, 2012
Roger Corman funded bit of weirdness with Klaus doing his usual Kinski.
October 27, 2012
No one plays creepy quite like Claus Kinski. An android doctor on a remote space station deals with a trio of fugitives as he tries to develop the perfect female android to replace his existing male android assistant. Plotl twists abound.
June 26, 2012
1982 Roger Corman production that tells the story of an Android, Max 404 (Don Opper, who co-wrote) whose advanced programing causes him to form human emotions but, not the capability to completely control them. His creator, Dr. Daniels (Klaus Kinski) becomes wary of this and plans to destroy Max once his more advanced replacement, Cassandra (Kendra Kirchner) is activated. When three fugitives including a woman (Norbert Weisser, Crofton Hardester and Brie Howard) come aboard their isolated space station, it gives Dr, Daniels a female test subject to finish Cassandra and Max an infatuation that may send him and his newfound emotions over the edge. Android is an entertaining diversion from the typical Corman fair, there is violence and nudity but, it is with restraint and serves the story and not for the usual exploitation purposes. Director Aaron Lipstadt directs this sci-fi Frankenstein tale with a far more sensitive hand then most Corman flicks and gives us a character story driven more by emotion then action. We feel for Max as he tries to cope with his emotions and root for him even when they drive him to do morally questionable things. And since Max is surrounded by people of questionable morals, we don't totally blame him for his responses to the situations that Dr. Daniels and the fugitives provoke. Director Lipstadt gets good performances from his cast, especially Opper who portrays Max's naivety and confusion very well and Kinski who makes a perfectly slimy and obsessed scientist. Also, Norbert Weisser's Keller is a somewhat sympathetic bad guy while Hardester's Mendez is a cliche' bully/douchebag. And as for the ladies, Brie Howard is tough and yet sweet as Maggie and Kirchner does fine as the Bride Of Frankenstein-ish Cassandra, who turns out to be more then anyone bargined for. Android is an interesting attempt by Corman and Co. at a sci-fi flick with a bit more substance and succeeds far more then it fails. It may be a bit slow paced and somber but, at a tight 80 minutes it's never boring and does entertain us just fine as well as tell it's story. The film was released as a midnight show in art houses to emphasize that this was something a bit more unique then New World normally produced and I had the pleasure of seeing it at such a show at NYC's Waverly theater in Greenwich Village when it opened in 1982.
June 8, 2012
So bad, but so good.
½ May 23, 2012
Surprisingly good fun--One Of The Better Cheesy 80's Sci Fi Flicks!!
January 25, 2012
'Android' mostly takes place in a space station, and there are only a few scenes featuring the blackness of empty space. There's not much action except for a very few scenes. In short, I don't find anything special about this obscure sci-fi film.
½ December 5, 2011
The android has more life than this snore of a film.
August 23, 2011
An early trip into the unsettling territory that had not as yet been called the Uncanny Valley. Aaron Lipstadt understands Philip.K. Dick. Plus, the film has great set work and special effects! A gem!
Super Reviewer
½ April 24, 2011
Dated a lot more than the more classic early 80s sci fi, and a lot of cheese the first half, but once it gets going, it has a lot to offer. and certainly gets a lot darker and all elements of this nature come into play.
April 22, 2011
It's no Space Odyssey, but it was alright.
½ February 14, 2011
Low key Low budget drone-clone-android-drama out in space in the future as it looked in 1982.

Klaus Kinski doesn't burst out in his awardwinning outbursts, men he's always fun to watch. Max 404 is played by the shy cousin from the country, Jerry Seinfelds cousin that is, sort of

Not spectacular, but a fun little movie
Super Reviewer
January 11, 2011
I saw this on TV recently, it's okay, it's a sci-fi thriller about androids. I liked the ending most of all.
½ January 9, 2011
Wow, I really enjoyed this one! A sci-fi robot movie with basically no visual fx. Klaus Kinski is an excellent mad scientist. Features one of the most interesting and unique androids I've ever seen in a movie.
½ October 18, 2010
Great concept, very inventive and executed well. Fantastic performances, especially from Don Opper and Klaus Kinski. Has that old sci-film film charm and atmosphere. Would defiantly recommend.
September 23, 2010
113th Movie of 2010

Oddly sweet, and Christopher Walken wishses he had half the weirdo intensity of Klaus Kinski.
Page 1 of 3