The Women - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Women Reviews

Page 1 of 8
October 19, 2012
The 1930s original feels more cutting-edge than this re-do.
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 26, 2009
The cinematic equivalent of yoga-class muzak
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
February 7, 2009
This is the movie Diane English fought to get made the last 15 years?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
January 20, 2009
an se pio sygkratimeno (pros harin prosomoiosis realismoy) aytoteles spin-off toy Sex and the City
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
December 26, 2008
The Women is not perfect, and the best way to enjoy it is as a showcase for some of the top female acting talent of the day.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
December 16, 2008
...a spectacularly dull film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
November 26, 2008
Everything has been smoothed out to the point of tepidity.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
November 5, 2008
The classic 1939 film adaptation... worth seeing again and again. This is not.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
November 5, 2008
I love women in real life but at the movies I hated The Women.
David Stratton
The Australian
October 31, 2008
A lazy film that makes the most obvious points about the war between the sexes and, as a result, makes the characters much less interesting than they might have been.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Julie Rigg
MovieTime, ABC Radio National
October 24, 2008
I'm afraid I could neither laugh at, nor take seriously, most of this movie.

FILMINK (Australia)
October 24, 2008
Containing as much wisdom as it does wit, English's sparkling screenplay takes what was a fairly shallow story and creates a snapshot of modern (albeit wealthy) women's lives.
Vicky Roach
Daily Telegraph (Australia)
October 24, 2008
Even a dream cast has to have the right material to work with. As well as a filmmaker who can bring out the best in them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)
October 24, 2008
Actually quite an acceptable, enjoyable midrange chick flick that hasn't quite deserved the critical drubbing it has received in the States.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
October 24, 2008
If you don't take it seriously -- and I don't think it's meant to be taken seriously -- there is enjoyment to be had from these contemporary women.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
October 20, 2008
Any film about a group of women -- friends or not -- gets my attention. Fireworks are guaranteed. Sure enough, Diane English makes her feature debut with a classic, filling it with a ripper cast, each of whom adds their weight in TNT to the detonations.
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
October 20, 2008
A juicy exploration of women's roles in the 21st century -- at work, at home and in the bedroom and although men figure in the storyline (natch), it is women-only who grace the screen. Three generations of them.
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
October 8, 2008
Meg Ryan is really good in this, but besides that THE WOMEN is a chick flick that's the very reason why guys hate them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Bob Bloom
Journal and Courier (Lafayette, IN)
October 8, 2008
"The Women" is a grand old dame that shrugs off time as easily as signing a credit card receipt.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
Alissa Wilkinson
Christianity Today
September 29, 2008
While The Women provides an evening of laughter and some points to ponder, relationships work only when all involved are willing to sacrifice for one another.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 8