Surrogates - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Surrogates Reviews

Page 1 of 6
July 21, 2012
Ultimately, Surrogates isn't going to break any records, but it's the kind of movie I'd stop at while channel surfing and watch the whole thing on a Saturday afternoon.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 30, 2011
Underneath its typical Hollywood exterior there is a decent movie waiting to shine through. But so much else is just typical of the genre, it's hard to summon any more enjoyment from it.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
June 2, 2010
Fails to land a killing blow that pays off the simplified mystery with any distinct urgency. It's a flawed film, but far from unbearable. Nothing a DVD director's cut couldn't fix.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 27, 2010
A film that raises many interesting ideas but follows through on few of them.
February 15, 2010
I wish I had a surrogate to watch it for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 4, 2010
A smart little genre outing, an endangered species in modern Hollywood. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 31, 2010
Surrogates establishes an intriguing premise for exploring a world in which virtual life trumps physical reality, but the thematic potential is squandered in favor of a by-the-numbers police procedural.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 22, 2010
Yetta nudder cautionary tale issuing dire warnings about the pitfalls of technology run amuck.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 19, 2010
Sure, it's made capably, in a technical sense. But it's banal, utterly predictable and often quite stupid.
Read More | Original Score: 63/100
December 15, 2009
I would have liked to explore this world more and not keep slamming into some convoluted scheme that defeats its own purpose. I had fun watching it, but I actually thought the movie was smarter than its plot.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 10, 2009
full review at Movies for the Masses
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 24, 2009
Seems less like a 21st Century would-be blockbuster than a lost 80's relic only just rediscovered. Either way, we're lucky to have it.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
November 17, 2009
The end result is somewhat underwhelming. It's more of a novella than a novel, and hardly the science fiction action blockbuster audiences were expecting.
November 2, 2009
...viewers with even a passing interest in science fiction will find something worth embracing here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 31, 2009
Good ideas rub up against bad ideas, and the result is a movie that is worth a look but could have been much more.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 20, 2009
This predictable flick executed in a numbingly pedestrian fashion, has slapped a nifty conceit onto its threadbare mystery-thriller plot, but has somehow managed to miss every opportunity to take advantage of it
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 14, 2009
Has all the get-up-and-go of a dead battery.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 11, 2009
Its humanity, some cool technology and Bruce Willis save this film from simply being a compilation of a zillion similarly themed "too much technology" lessons.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 6, 2009
SF chillers of the past that warned about dehumanization -- 'Invaders from Mars,' for example -- posited an outside threat; now, in a 21st-century world of plastic surgery and online avatars, the danger comes from within: the dehumanization is voluntary.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 4, 2009
Semi-plausible and semi-watchable futuristic (but still looking like today's world) dystopian 'save the world' sci-fi thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Page 1 of 6