The Promotion - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Promotion Reviews

November 24, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 18, 2008
The Promotion may not be much, and you get to know that supermarket uncomfortably well by the end of the 85 minutes. But as I say: He's an interesting writer.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 18, 2008
By taking the time to make that connection with the audience, The Promotion ensures we'll forgive these guys anything -- and laugh along with them -- in their quest to advance their lots.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 18, 2008
A nice little comedy about what it takes to climb the corporate ladder and the toll such actions take on the psyche of a decent individual.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 27, 2008
The Promotion works as a comedy because, in the depths of our dark hearts, we enjoy seeing the woes that beset our comic antagonists.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 16, 2008
This is one of the more original movies of the year, and it's the rare film that's primarily about the workplace.
June 13, 2008
The directorial debut of Pursuit of Happyness writer Steve Conrad, The Promotion carries a deadpan corporate-absurd whiff of Office Space but never quite scans.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 13, 2008
The strangely paced drama/comedy never finds much of a groove. Elements of conventional madcap comedy butt against more indie-ready scenes of relationship dysfunction, and the end result is more frustrating than interesting.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 13, 2008
The Promotion has more work-life truth in it than a month of The Office or Dilbert.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
June 13, 2008
As bad as a severe case of the Mondays.
Full Review | Original Score: D
June 12, 2008
The Promotion uses the structure of a workplace comedy to pose gentle moral and ethical questions about treating people right (or wrong), about honor and ambition, truth-telling and back-stabbing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 12, 2008
The portrayal of employment in America is too close for comfort. Or comedy...Not the stuff of lighthearted summer comedy.
June 12, 2008
As a subtle expression of masculine angst, it's the timid flipside of Fight Club. As a gentle critique of the American dream's descent into empty consumerism, it's a less cutesy, less feminist Little Miss Sunshine.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 6, 2008
The Promotion edges toward some pretty bleak stuff. Then it steps back and laughs, like an office slacker.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 6, 2008
Steve Conrad's wry debut takes place in an urban Chicago grocery store, in which an intimate epic of manhood unfolds.
Full Review | Original Score: A
June 6, 2008
There's something appealingly modest about The Promotion. It's a sweet, human movie.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 6, 2008
It's a little pat and shallow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 6, 2008
Easily the worst movie I've seen so far this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
June 6, 2008
There's still a lot to like here, but ultimately the movie reflects its hapless hero a little too well. While we're constantly rooting for it to succeed, the finish line seems forever out of reach.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 6, 2008
Isn't as broad as its premise might suggest.
June 6, 2008
It's one of those off-balance movies that seems searching for the right tone.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 6, 2008
Think of it as a polite, tightly muzzled Clerks.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
June 6, 2008
By going easy on everyone, [director Conrad] turns what could have been a searing satire into a lukewarm comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 5, 2008
Despite its gimmicky-sounding premise, The Promotion is, like most of Conrad's work, less concerned with matters of winning or losing than with man's sometimes noble, sometimes deplorable, often futile attempts to distinguish himself from the herd.
June 4, 2008
At last, we have a completely and profoundly American movie with all the classical skills of timing, editing and character development that we associate nostalgically with some Hollywood golden age.
March 10, 2008
the entire enterprise has fallen short of its muddled ambitions.
March 10, 2008
Add watching The Promotion to the Geneva Conventions' list of humanitarian abuses.