Film Noir - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Film Noir Reviews

Page 1 of 4
October 19, 2013
Something about the music, narration and mood that sets a Noir apart from all the rest. Although animated the story is compelling and draws you into its web of mystery. The specs of color add to the ambience as the story progresses. Animation has a style of its own so do not expect a realistic standard it is more artsy-fartsy. Nibbles: Coffee and Cream Cheese Bagel.
½ February 10, 2013
A good tribute to the film noir, a little farfetched but nothing you can't handle. the style, the music, the ambience, impeccable, however the script becomes a little loose at some times.
Super Reviewer
½ January 14, 2012
Interesting animation, but bored me to death. It's an easily forgettable film.
½ August 8, 2011
This movie was terrible. Figured it out before the halfway point and there was nothing film noir about this movie.
Super Reviewer
May 8, 2011
Being an avid fan of the film noir genre, I couldn't resist one that used the genre's description as it's title and also carried an 18 certificate, making this an enticing prospect for any hardboiled fan, not to mention that it's an animated take on it.
Waking up in the Hollywood hills without a clue as to his identity, our protaganist finds himself with a dead police officer lying next to him and the murder weapon fitting his holster perfectly. He determines that it must be himself that's the murderer. But he has no idea of who he is or why he's killed. He sets out to unravel the mystery of his identity while crooks and dames try to thwart his investigation at every turn.
For me, one of the major attractions to this film was the animation but unfortunately that was also the biggest disappointment. It's nothing special by today's standards, and bordered on amature at times. The splashes of colour throughout were a nice touch though, in a mainly monochromatic style. What really raises this above the standard is it's perfect attention to the atmosphere of a noir, with excellent use of downbeat voiceover and sleazy saxaphone and trumpet jazz soundtrack. It doesn't quite manage to hold your attention throughout though, partly down to the substandard artwork and the fact that it goes way over a reasonable running time, meandering towards it's conclusion. Comparisons with Frank Miller and Robert Rodriguez's "Sin City" will no doubt be made, as this is the best example of what to expect from this unexpected genre addition.
The opening is so strong that the rest of the film suffers because of it. However, if you're a fan of the film noir genre you'll find plenty to enjoy, but it somehow left me feeling that this was a missed opportunity for something really special.
January 28, 2011
klimatyczny, z kat. Å,adne
November 18, 2010
Haven't seen too many film noires, so I wanted to check out this film, being as it named itself after the genre. That being said, a pretty enjoyable movie. At times the faces were unable to show enough emotion, other than a change in eye direction. Also objects in the film didn't have a real sense of weight or gravity. Bad CGI aside though, I think this would make a pretty good live action flick.
½ April 5, 2010
THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A WHOLE LOT BETTER. THE ANIMATION DROVE ME NUTS. THIS DID TO THE NOIR GENRE WHAT MEYER DID TO THE VAMPIRE MYSTIQUE. TORE IT APART.
½ February 2, 2010
wow , dieser zeichentrick krimi hat ne geile story , ist super gemacht und wirklich spannend. macht viel spaÃ? , auch nicht zeichtrickfilmer sollten dieem werk eine chance geben ...sehr gut.
November 26, 2009
Interesante film con un toque artístico de animación
ElCochran90
Super Reviewer
½ November 7, 2009
Hahaha! OK, let's begin.

This garbage is a rare mix of the elements of a classic film noir with the badass attitude of Sin City (2005). The premise and even the trailer may look fabulous, but this Serbian coproduction disguises a huge amount of lack of talent with forced excuses for showing sexual content and mindless action and violence. The plot is lame and pretty close to the most basic and retarded you could ever find. It even stops caring before you do. The animation brought mixed feelings. It felt cool, but all of the characters have videogame faces and the film itself looks like a cheap videogame adaptation, even adding real-life backgrounds instead of animated. Good fun, but completely disappointing mainly because it provides more hype and expectations than the ones it really deserves.

51/100
½ November 4, 2009
Una buena película animada que cuenta con una envolvente historia y un interesante desenlace.
October 26, 2009
se siente muy friaa , pues aunque sean CGI cuidados los personajes se sienten sin alma, com angeles caidos de alguna novela del genero hehe!

encuentras todo lo que esperas, con todo y el final y sus torzones de la tramaa! solo cuidado que es graficaa y contiene escenas de sexo digital
½ August 10, 2009
Da hat man einfach vergessen, nach Fertigstellung des animierten Storyboards den Film zu drehen. Das Storyboard sieht allerdings an einigen Stellen ziemlich gut aus, auch Story und Atmosphäre gefielen mir grö�tenteils. Ging in Richtung SIN CITY.
½ July 31, 2009
Animated neo-noir sprinkled with soft core sex scenes.
½ June 18, 2009
good idea. bad script. bad performance.
this movie got the classic ingredients for a classic film noir or more the all known cliches.
the villian is known the first time he enters the scene and the so called hero has enough time to fuck every woman he met and except the last one every one gets killed.

a enjoyable movie for every twelve year old boy.
June 2, 2009
Interesting style and good story, at least at the beginning.
Towards the end the plot rather gets flat and sucks and also the 3D characters are copied into real video recordings too obviously.
Through the visual style, the music and parts of the story it seems to be quite similar to XIII - with more sex...
½ May 28, 2009
liked it, and i'd definitely watch a version with real actors, all the action & porn & etc in bw :)
½ April 18, 2009
Slow dan boleh buat mengantuk. Tapi kalo di live action-kan mungkin menarik!
March 25, 2009
As the title suggests Film Noir is exactly that....reminiscent of the detective stories of Hollywood old. This animated feature is presented with an aesthetic reminiscent of classic black and white, but adds colour to certain elements (think Sin City) in order to keep things fresh. The score is an appropriate saxophone based jazz and in true noir fashion the film is narrated by our "hero" whom has just awoken to find he is lying under the Hollywood sign next to a dead cop and unfortunately suffering from a bout of Amnesia. Things get a lot worse from there as we follow him on his journey of self discovery full of sex, greed, murder, betrayal and a few twists and turns.

I must admit I found the film quite fascinating, both in visual style (There are numerous photo realistic L.A backdrops with animation placed over the top) and in storytelling. The ending was a little, but not entirely predictable, however this didn't affect how much fun it was to follow the characters in their pursuits.

Film Noir is an excellent example of global movie-making craftsmanship, with its American writing, French distribution and Serbian animation crew. I am not sure when or if the film will be released on DVD, but I would certainly recommend seeking it out if you find it.
Page 1 of 4