Leaves of Grass - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Leaves of Grass Reviews

October 31, 2012
I could only bear 35 minutes, and I haven't walked out of anything since 'You, Me and Dupree.'
September 28, 2010
An offbeat thriller that is deepened -- rather than derailed -- by its tricky shift from darkly funny to just plain dark.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 17, 2010
The mirror image gag is one of the oldest in the book, and yet, if done well, it never really gets old.
September 17, 2010
As a writer-director, Nelson keeps the laughs coming at a steady pace, and never condescends to his articulate redneck characters.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 17, 2010
Mr. Norton is a pleasure to watch, and so is everyone else.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 5, 2010
It's not the violence itself that bothers me, it's just that it completely destroys the tone of the movie.
April 5, 2010
You could get whiplash from his movie's mood swings.
March 31, 2010
The movie bubbles with intellectual curiosity and narrative ambition. And for that I dig it, even if Leaves of Grass has the habit of swerving and sometimes lurching from tone to tone.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 31, 2010
It's just another oblique backfire from Tim Blake Nelson, whose work as a writer-director in general wallows in a bog of mediocrity.
March 31, 2010
It would be overly polite to call this a pale shadow of the tone-shifting Coen brothers farces from which Nelson -- who costarred in O Brother, Where Art Thou? -- is taking his cues.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 29, 2010
Tim Blake Nelson's Leaves of Grass is some kind of sweet, wacky masterpiece. It takes all sorts of risks, including a dual role with Edward Norton playing twin brothers, and it pulls them off.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 29, 2010
The movie is a showcase for digital technology and for Norton's virtuosity, but I wish it weren't such a weightless shambles.
March 29, 2010
Leaves of Grass is part goofy drug comedy, part shocking bloodbath. It's a riot of tones and genres, but unlike that other recent hybrid, Pineapple Express, the parts add up to something larger.
September 18, 2009
One Edward Norton performance is often enough reason to see a movie, so it comes as no surprise that the prospect of two -- he plays twins -- is very much the main attraction, and reward, of Leaves of Grass.
September 18, 2009
An identical twins comic crime drama goes seriously wrong.