My Sister's Keeper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Sister's Keeper Reviews

Page 1 of 7
August 15, 2011
Tearjerker that aims for rarefied feelings as well as knee-jerk, sentimental moments.
October 27, 2010
My Sister's Keeper is a committee-approved nerve-snapper that, much like its main character, has been genetically engineered to MAKE! YOU! CRY!
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
July 6, 2010
Yes, unabashed weeper My Sister's Keeper has that Hollywood sheen -- but it's the unexpectedly piercing realness of this family's anguish that's going to get you. Just try to hold back the waterworks.
December 11, 2009
Strong performances, and a subtle script make director Cassavetes film one of the better tearjerkers of the year...
December 6, 2009
The film has its flaws and swims in meticulously crafted schmaltz... yet also has well-conceived tender moments hiding in the fringes.
Full Review | Original Score: C
November 28, 2009
My Sister's Keeper demands nothing less than a tidal wave of tears.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 16, 2009
The film has a profound and compelling premise. Regrettably, it seems intent on being about everything but that premise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 14, 2009
I tried to keep an open mind, hoping something would win me over. It didn't happen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
August 11, 2009
[I]ntelligent, moving and even occasionally funny, although you might want to bring along a few tissues just in case.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 31, 2009
Cassavetes...shows great skill in weaving bright moments -- even an adolescent romance -- into the gloom. It's still bittersweet, but like mass-produced crème caramel, never too bitter.
July 31, 2009
[Cassavetes] refuses to let the material speak for itself, putting a famous-for-making-women-cry song behind almost every scene, and lingering on every sentimental moment.
July 31, 2009
Bring the tissues. This film works.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 30, 2009
What starts as an exploration of the ethics of organ-donation and genetic selection, rapidly disintegrates into a sloppy, unstructured, tear-jerking mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 29, 2009
There's no question that this is a really intriguing drama and a drama that I think deserved better treatment than it gets here because I think Nick Cassevetes -- I don't think he's a very good director, really.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 29, 2009
There is a touch of contrivance to the set-up that is not totally convincing and the film avoids much of the ethical arguments in favour of family drama. But I must admit to being affected.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 29, 2009
A morally ambiguous tearjerker with a twist.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 29, 2009
Though the motives of My Sister's Keeper will seem dubious to some, there is no denying the performances on display keep everything in the realm of the watchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 29, 2009
As manufactured Disease of the Week weepies go, Nick Cassavetes's drama based on a Jodi Picoult bestseller, is surprisingly moving.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 29, 2009
The decision to avoid unnecessary sentimentality defines this film, elevating it to a more thoughtful if a touch less engaging arena, sacrificing emotional escapism for conversation provoking tragedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 27, 2009
The obnoxious calculation smothers what should've been a pure articulation of melancholy and a potent debate of morality.
Page 1 of 7