My Sister's Keeper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Sister's Keeper Reviews

Page 1 of 7
October 27, 2010
My Sister's Keeper is a committee-approved nerve-snapper that, much like its main character, has been genetically engineered to MAKE! YOU! CRY!
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
June 25, 2009
You may cry at the film's designated crying times, approximately every 10 minutes, like the traffic and weather. Or you may not, and wonder instead why some high-gloss weepies treat their source material quite so shamelessly.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 26, 2009
Two hours later I felt as if I was heartless, as all this film did was make me wish I had the last two hours back even after all the melodramatic pain and suffering.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 30, 2009
What starts as an exploration of the ethics of organ-donation and genetic selection, rapidly disintegrates into a sloppy, unstructured, tear-jerking mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 25, 2009
Like an amalgam of every "ABC After-School Special" ever made ... makes most Lifetime Channel movies seem competent by comparison.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
June 26, 2009
A mostly contrived and uneven drama that lacks nuances and fails to pack an emotional punch, but at least it's mildly engaging thanks to warm, heartfelt performances and exquisite cinematography.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.85/10
July 3, 2009
This movie cheapens the experience of a family struggling to come to terms with the impending loss of a loved one. Cry? I very nearly did. Just not in the way Cameron probably hoped.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 1, 2009
Where restraint might have raised up My Sister's Keeper, a heavy hand has brought it down.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 31, 2009
[Cassavetes] refuses to let the material speak for itself, putting a famous-for-making-women-cry song behind almost every scene, and lingering on every sentimental moment.
June 29, 2009
I have a heart. I just don't want schlock.
November 28, 2009
My Sister's Keeper demands nothing less than a tidal wave of tears.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 25, 2009
Wailing and screaming and fighting with everyone else onscreen, Cameron Diaz is giving a powerhouse performance her character doesn't warrant.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 25, 2009
Once the bizarre premise is established, all the movie can do is wait for the story to play out -- it has a beginning and end, but no middle.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 29, 2009
Though the motives of My Sister's Keeper will seem dubious to some, there is no denying the performances on display keep everything in the realm of the watchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 25, 2009
A shamelessly manipulative film that proves insulting rather than moving.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 1.5/4.0
June 25, 2009
A shameless attempt at manipulation that wants but doesn't earn audience tears.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 25, 2009
For every instant of genuine tragic ache within this dubious feature, there are two served up right behind it that drip with obnoxious manipulation and creaky execution.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 27, 2009
The obnoxious calculation smothers what should've been a pure articulation of melancholy and a potent debate of morality.
July 3, 2009
My Sister's Keeper ducks some of the bigger moral dilemmas, which may have added more grit. There again this is not a film with grit on its mind, just how quickly it can have you reaching for a handkerchief.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 26, 2009
My Sister's Keeper takes a compelling ethical dilemma and turns it into formulaic pap by trying relentlessly to ensure an emotional reaction with sentimental exploitation and plot contrivances.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 7