My Sister's Keeper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Sister's Keeper Reviews

July 3, 2009
Diaz is a whiny irrelevance, but sharp supporting work from Alec Baldwin and Joan Cusack makes the proceedings tolerable for boyfriends.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 1, 2009
Where restraint might have raised up My Sister's Keeper, a heavy hand has brought it down.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 29, 2009
I found the movie to be really tough and challenging and enjoyable.
June 29, 2009
I have a heart. I just don't want schlock.
June 26, 2009
My Sister's Keeper targets tear ducts so ruthlessly, it might as well be sponsored by Kleenex.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 26, 2009
Uneven but deeply moving.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 26, 2009
A surprisingly lovely movie about an absolutely awful subject, My Sister's Keeper features what also may be the year's first performance worthy of Oscar mention.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 26, 2009
My Sister's Keeper takes on a very tough subject, but ultimately it is too soft, too easy, and it dissolves like a tear-soaked tissue.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
June 26, 2009
My Sister's Keeper humanizes vexing questions about medical ethics without sacrificing rattling family drama.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 26, 2009
Although the compelling courtroom drama gets forgotten for much of the movie, My Sister's Keeper also is relatively realistic about the physical and emotional toll of disease.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 26, 2009
With solid performances and an intelligent script, My Sister's Keeper offers a moving and powerfully realistic portrait of a family stalked by tragedy that somehow manages to emerge from crisis battered but intact.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 26, 2009
For all its awkward structure, the film is heartfelt and deeply affecting.
June 26, 2009
My Sister's Keeper takes a compelling ethical dilemma and turns it into formulaic pap by trying relentlessly to ensure an emotional reaction with sentimental exploitation and plot contrivances.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 26, 2009
An adaptation that, although departing dramatically from such key elements as the book's ending, will please fans.
June 26, 2009
My Sister's Keeper offers a couple of twists, one of them crucial and the other cruelly unnecessary and melodramatic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 26, 2009
My Sister's Keeper has a gutsy premise, but no guts.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
June 26, 2009
Their message in My Sister's Keeper? Cancer sucks, but there's always the balm of beach scenes and an emo soundtrack.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 26, 2009
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 25, 2009
A moving story, but the film's overly romantic tone rings hollow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 25, 2009
Don't avoid My Sister's Keeper because it's a film about a serious issue. Avoid it because it approaches that issue like a very special episode of Grey's Anatomy -- complete with whining pop songs and all the comforts of cliche.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 25, 2009
A shameless attempt at manipulation that wants but doesn't earn audience tears.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 25, 2009
You may cry at the film's designated crying times, approximately every 10 minutes, like the traffic and weather. Or you may not, and wonder instead why some high-gloss weepies treat their source material quite so shamelessly.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 25, 2009
Less an exercise in catharsis than an obstacle course of premise-heavy, flashback-drenched plot points, it's an emotional flat-liner, even though virtually every character (including Alec Baldwin as the lawyer) carries some hurt or grief.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 25, 2009
This book hasn't been adapted, it's been taken outside and shot.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 25, 2009
It would take a heart of stone not to be affected by My Sister's Keeper, but the film's unceasing manipulation has a Medusa effect on the organ.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
June 25, 2009
It's a family melodrama that never misses the opportunity for a heartbreaking, acoustic musical montage that brims with portent, as if we could forget that losing a child is hard and terrible.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 25, 2009
Surrounding and ultimately subsuming this ethical struggle is a fair amount of pediatric-cancer horror and mush, though Cassavetes is frequently bailed out by his cast.
June 25, 2009
My Sister's Keeper is an immediate audience-grabber.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 25, 2009
The infuriating cop-out ending reduces the premise to mush.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 24, 2009
A lot of things don't work that well in My Sister's Keeper, a tearjerker adapted from Jodi Picoult's best-seller. But one thing is guaranteed: The movie practically forces you to shed a tear or two.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 24, 2009
Films that present a moral dilemma and make us consider the unthinkable are as rare as bargain popcorn in the summer. Cassavetes manages that feat and turns this weeper into a keeper.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 24, 2009
The writing team of Jeremy Leven and director Cassavetes have joined forces with a great cast to bring the best-selling book by Jodi Picoult to life with a purity that can only be called inspirational.
June 24, 2009
Makeup department realism alone can't redeem the dramatic fallacies surrounding it.
June 23, 2009
My Sister's Keeper is a shameless weepy, one of the most manipulative and fundamental of genres, but it also raises some surprisingly difficult and thought-provoking ethical questions.
June 22, 2009
If you're going to make a weepy, there's no reason you can't make it with intelligence and insight as the makers of My Sister's Keeper have done.
June 22, 2009
Unsubtle, uneven and undeniably effective.