Season of the Witch Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
May 3, 2015
Cage merely stands around looking glum, letting his hair extensions do the acting for him.
Jeff Beck
September 21, 2012
The filmmakers try to use special effects to cover up the weaknesses of the story, but even on that point they fail pretty badly.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
May 4, 2012
Not the stinker that everyone says it is, but you do have to ignore its flaws in order to be entertained.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
November 24, 2011
After a while, the movie tires of the witch business and trots out a plot twist that permits the effects department to spend money.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Leah Rozen
October 7, 2011
Another forgettable trifle from Cage.
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
August 25, 2011
It's an Uwe Boll kind of film that's been directed with a certain degree of competency by previous Cage collaborator Dominic Sena.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ben Rawson-Jones
Digital Spy
July 14, 2011
Have low expectations for this movie and you might just be surprised.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matt Neal
The Standard
July 12, 2011
I may be in the minority of critics to think so, but Season Of The Witch is an enjoyable medieval thriller that's well-made in spite of some moments of silliness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Brandon Fibbs
July 6, 2011
Although I will likely be disemboweled from my toes to my nose (metaphorically speaking only, I hope) for this proclamation, I didn't think Season of the Witch was all that bad!*
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
July 1, 2011
Cage's disappointingly subdued performance stands as the proverbial straw that broke the camel's back...
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Ed Whitfield
The Ooh Tray
June 29, 2011
God's teeth!
Burl Burlingame
Honolulu Star-Advertiser
June 22, 2011
Guns are fun in movies, but bashing about with broadswords speaks to the 12-year-old in all of us.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Rafer Guzman
April 4, 2011
Director Dominic Sena sets a quick pace; the dull moments are brightened by the unexpectedly likable team of Cage and Perlman.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Bob Westal
April 4, 2011
For long, long stretches, [it's] too leaden and dour to be any fun at all.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Norman Wilner
NOW Toronto
April 4, 2011
It's amazing how little entertainment value there is in watching Nicolas Cage and Ron Perlman play world-weary Crusaders in a movie called Season Of The Witch. Come on! It's Ghost Rider and Hellboy!
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Dave White
April 4, 2011
Anti-Oscar-movie people, this one is for you.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Pete Vonder Haar
Houston Press
March 6, 2011
Just how big was that IRS bill, anyway?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
February 26, 2011
It's a bit cheesy but there is action and tension and strong graphic effects - and even a deadpan moment
Shaun Munro
What Culture
February 10, 2011
Avoid it -- wait for it -- like the Black Plague.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Gareth Simms
January 26, 2011
A Nicolas Cage movie where Nicolas Cage doesn't lose his shit. Avoid.
Page 1 of 6