April Fool's Day - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

April Fool's Day Reviews

Page 2 of 27
½ May 26, 2014
Very good and suspenseful movie. That certainly has a very unexpected ending that makes it all even better. I would've probably give it a higher rating, but I kind of knew before I saw the movie, the twist at the end.
May 2, 2014
Better than your average "slasher film". The guy who wrote "Beverly Hills Cop" also wrote this BTW.
April 28, 2014
Said to be a generic slasher film that featured a memorable twist ending, April Fool's Day sounded like a film that wasn't too bad.

Facing the same basic and generic roots of essentially all other slasher films, the appeal in April Fool's Day is very limited. While fans of the series may rejoice at it for not being as pathetically crafted as many others, overall it still isn't great entertainment.
The repetitive nature of April Fool's Day as a slasher film is the breaking point for it. It follows a basic and routine slasher film plot which has been told many times before while it plays around with the audiences as they attempt to dictate who the killer is. The realistaion at the end damages the entire experience, and up until then it is a fairly routine effort. I will admit though that April Fool's Day did have some decent elements to it.
For one thing the scenery in the film was appealing because it is shot on some fairly nice locations which capture a sense of isolation, although the film never uses excessively dark lighting in a desperate attempt to enhance its atmosphere and instead allows it to unfold naturally. The viewer may or may not feel it depending on their stance on the genre, but I guess it was ok, and the cinematography captured everything fairly nicely without getting shaky or rough. And April Fool's Day does manage to rack up a lot of killing with sufficient blood and gore for most of the time over the course of its 89 minute running time. So from a visual perspective, April Fool's Day isn't too bad. Its superior qualities are definitely in its visual style, so it seems to be the one thing that director Fred Walton got right in making April Fool's Day.
Although, the pace of everything is fairly slow and there isn't really enough deaths or clever plot dynamics to justify that. There is really nothing that April Fool's Day can do to transcend being a generic slasher film except give itself a ridiculous twist ending, and so that is exactly what happens with it. But unlike the twist endings in slasher films such as A Nightmare on Elm Street, Friday the 13th or even Sleepaway Camp, April Fool's Day has an ending which is too ridiculous for its own good.
The thing that needs to be mentioned in April Fool's Day is its twist ending. So spoiler alert, this is where I'm going to discuss it. As a means of separating itself from all other basic slasher films, April Fool's Day implements in a twist ending where the story reveals everything to have been a lie. All the murders have actually been acted out as an April fool's day joke in preparation for turning the location of the story into a resort which offers a weekend of stage horror. The lack of sensibility in that is what makes it a standout film and reveals the endeavour of all the stupidity in the plot. Up until then, April Fool's Day was a basic slasher film. After that, it is nothing more than a joke. Usually in a slasher film, audiences expect to get some kind of gruesome ending or clever discovery of who the killer is. In April Fool's Day, the story just ends very abruptly midway through what could have been a decent slasher movie climax and instead resulted in being just a stupid black comedy. And the ending is just so stupid and so unbelievable that it gives a bad name to the entire movie. Danilo Bach thought what he was doing was clever when he wrote the story, but it is audiences who have to suffer because of it. Everything collapses in the end due to the ridiculousness of the ending, the fact that it is completely illogical and finally the fact that it does not fit into the slasher film context and therefore attempts to reinvent the film as a black comedy. If you wanted to make a slasher film that was a black comedy, you play on the humourous elements of the characters and their deaths in an original way. You don't write in some crappy M. Night Shyamalan ending and expect everyone to have a laugh and consider it original. That isn't something that Danilo Bach could realise, but it isn't difficult for audiences to do it and it wont be difficult for them to find April Fool's Day to be a severe disappointment because of that. That man was actually nominated for an Academy Award two years prior for penning the screenplay to Beverly Hills cop alongside Daniel Petrie Jr., but it can only be presumed that most of the work was done by him instead of Danilo Bach because anyone who thinks that April Fool's Day has a plot that is clever and funny cannot be trusted to write comedy, especially comedy that is as critically acclaimed as Beverly Hills Cop.
The only other slight redeeming feature that April Fool's Day boasts is its cast. While it certainly doesn't have any of them projected sufficient nudity for a film which is of the slasher genre, by the standards of the genre the acting isn't too bad. While the cast themselves aren't fully memorable, they give decent efforts led by the effective performance of Deborah Foreman. Managing to succeed in playing two characters who have different natures to them, Deborah Foreman successfully tricks audiences into believing that both Muffy and Buffy are two different characters. And while the realisation that this was all a lie is likely to frustrate audiences, Deborah Foreman successful manages to trick viewers into believing the lie in the story so she deserves praise for her efforts in the role.

So despite having some visual appeal and being fairly well acted, April Fool's Day collapses under its routine story and the fact that the twist ending is one of the dumbest I have ever seen, falling into an M. Night Shyamalan style of story writing.
½ April 1, 2014
"CHILDISH PRANKS TURN DEADLY"

- Every special calendar day has its own horror film, just think of 'Halloween', 'Friday the 13th', 'My Bloody Valentine' and 'Black Christmas. 'April Fool's Day' from 1986 is an addition to the list. In this horror mystery directed by Fred Walton (When a Stanger Calls), a group of young adults are invited on a island mansion of their friend Muffy to spend the weekend of April Fool's Day. One by one they are taken out by a mysterious killer. All of the necessary ingredients for a slasher film, including the pranks and interesting plot twist, made this 'April Fool's Day' a enjoyable movie. It also had a 2008 remake, which was not so successful. Don't let the joke be on you...

A group of college friends (cameraman Chaz, sexy Nikki, lovers Kit and Rob, jock Archie, jokester Skip, bookish Nan and pompous Harvey) gather on a pier, where a ferry will take them to an island where they have been invited to spend the weekend in the house of their wealthy friend, Muffy St. John. On route, Archie and Skip are playing with a knife. When Skip gets stabbed and falls in the water, Rob and ferry-help Buck jump after him. Then Archie and Skip reveal that it was all a prank. Buck stays in the water to help dock the ferry, but get squashed between the vessel and a wooden pole. The man comes out with his eye out of his socked and blames the guys. A nearby policeman, who saw the accident happen takes the wounded Buck away.

Arriving at the mansion, their host shows them around. She loves pranks and has prepared a little extra in each bedroom. While the group settles in and joins Muffy at the dinner table, Skip feels guilty and starts drinking. During the night he goes missing. When the guests are searching for him, another one disappears. Someone on the island doesn't like the pranks and kills them of one by one. Who is responsible? And who will survive April Fool's Day?
½ March 26, 2014
it had kind of a bizarre twist and I didn't enjoy the movie much because I thought the storyline was kinda dumb. not the worst movie I've seen though.
½ February 17, 2014
I think the end made this worthwhile. This was funny and had some moments of scares. Not terrifying though
February 16, 2014
One line summary: Young adult elimination derby film with a comedic ending.

--------------------------

Eight college-age young adults travel to a friend's mansion on a remote island.

The place is loaded with practical jokes: dirty water from the kitchen tap, turning off one light turns on another, a tap in a room sprays the user, S&M gear in the chest of drawers, newspaper clippings left where they are meant to be found; that sort of thing.

Of course, the ferry does not come everyday, and the cops are not easily available. It seems like three of them get killed early on, but then other evidence denies that. For example, Rob talks to the cops by phone, indicating Buck is dead. Cop replies, I'm looking at Buck, alive, right now, in the hospital. Inspires confidence, eh? Something is clearly wrong with the narrative, but the pacing gets rushed, and nobody seems to notice.

The elimination derby continues, or is it just trickery?

-----Scores------

Cinematography: 6/10 As viewed on Netflix streaming, the visual quality was better than VHS quality, but not by much.

Sound: 6/10 The dynamic range was way too large.

Acting: 6/10 Mediocre. Some actors were fairly skilled, but others were downright poor.

Screenplay: 5/10 Has a beginning, middle, and a sharp turn at the end. Those who enjoy practical jokes will probably like this one more than I did.
January 3, 2014
i really enjoyed this, ill admit this type of B horror film is my guilty pleasure but i had a damn good time with it, it knows what it is and doesnt try to be anything more, it's fun horror, with some pretty funny moments, and a few jumps too, if you like 80s horror, you should def check this out
November 26, 2013
As corny as April Fool's Day is, it's also an early influencer to Scream, I Know What You Did Last Summer, and a whole host of imitators.
October 5, 2013
April Fools Day is the best Fear Street Super Chiller ever put on screen
½ August 28, 2013
Teen-slasher that is part-parody of the genre. The murders are not that inventive and the twist too obvious.
July 31, 2013
One of my fav 80s slashers. Good cast, fun all the way.
July 16, 2013
Honestly, you can't look at movies like this objectively. It's like critiquing the artwork of a three year old. April Fools Day is a B-level horror movie you watch with the preconceptions of it being so aggressively bad, it's laughable. And it will neither surprise or disappoint. The end
June 17, 2013
fun little movie with an interesting twist.
½ June 14, 2013
Not bad slasher film (with a surprising lack of onscreen carnage) is fairly standard, though with a bit of a twist. It's competently made and features a few familiar actors, which is enough to make it worth watching and better than most of it's ilk.
May 6, 2013
Asinine but this obviously have led to so much of puerile sequels.
April 17, 2013
April Fools Day has all the elements of a typical 80's slasher film, but without actually having the elements of a typical 80's slasher film. Also included is an ending that will either make you glad you watched the whole movie or scream profanities with total disappointment. The film is filled with pranks both for the characters and the viewer alike, along with twists that make you unsure of what is real and what isn't. The acting is decent and the dialogue isn't horrible. There is enough going on to keep the interest of the viewer for the entire 90 minutes. Not the best in the genre, but definitely a "should watch."
½ March 28, 2013
A lot better than I expected. A good mixture of horror, mystery, and comedy. The ending, however, was predictable (probably because of all the similar movies that have come out since).
½ February 26, 2013
Classic 80's slasheroo. Not the greatest or very original but had I know the genre was going to get way worse, I would have appreciated this more back in the day. Looking back it works still. The twists and turns are genre standards now but I was really into it once upon a time. I like the hair made into a noose on the cover.
February 24, 2013
I remember seeing this!! It was at a slumber party! I cannot tell you anything about it, but the fact that I recalled this movie gives it an automatic star.
Page 2 of 27