Tron Legacy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tron Legacy Reviews

Page 1 of 12
November 11, 2013
If you choose to see TRON: Legacy, leave your brain at home, and be ready to watch what boils down to a great dramatic Daft Punk music video.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
June 29, 2011
The sequel's filmmakers haven't managed to solve the problem that blighted the original - namely once we get our characters on the grid, then what?
February 1, 2011
I'm not saying don't bother seeing it, because there's still some fun to be had from the swaggering, fragmented plot, I'm just saying that we deserved much better.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 20, 2010
Legacy's upgrade only amplifies the lameness of the original minus its time-capsule likeability.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 17, 2010
There are two great potholes all sequels face and must avoid if they have any hope of succeeding. TRON: Legacy doesn't stumble into them so much as jump head first without a parachute.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
January 10, 2011
Disney may be looking for a merchandising bonanza with this long-gestating sequel to the groundbreaking 1982 film, but someone in the corporate offices forgot to add any human interest to its action-heavy script.
December 15, 2010
To say that belated sequel Tron: Legacy looks amazing is both to praise and to condemn it; 30 years from now, it will probably seem just as dated as its predecessor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 15, 2010
TRON: Legacy does not deserve to be written off as empty spectacle but it really does miss the magic of the original film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 6, 2010
There's nothing to like.
December 17, 2010
...the story's filled with cardboard outlines of characters plodding their way through a series of chase and action scenes that don't add up to anything resembling an original idea
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 13, 2010
Tron: Legacy could get away with a script as stupid as the one it has if the movie crackled, if any of the actors popped or if any of the action scenes felt truly next level or groundbreaking.
December 16, 2010
A wash of light, colour and sound that forgoes the most basic elements of cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 21, 2010
Legacy is sort of a one-trick pony. After you get past the neon-glow costumes, whizzing Frisbee weapons and cyberspace backdrop, there really isn't much to get excited about.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 16, 2010
They had 28 years, and this is the best they could come up with?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 17, 2010
TRON: Legacy proves once again that movies can be incubators for exciting technological and F/X advances... while leaving our need for narrative unsatisfied.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 16, 2010
It's a sullen affair, dominated by a grim visual palette that intrigues for about 30 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 16, 2010
It's dispiriting to see how little attention the filmmakers have paid to the dramatic -- read human -- possibilities of the original, or how much they've been overwhelmed by technology's demands.
December 17, 2010
Kosinski was probably so excited about getting the opportunity to attach his name to something he enjoyed as a kid, he forgot that the original film is infantile, a show-off for early CGI, and that trying to take infantilism seriously is a major mistake.
December 15, 2010
There have been a number of technical developments in the intervening years, but none of them does the new film any good.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 21, 2010
As hard as I tried to enjoy Tron: Legacy I kept wondering how much longer I would be trapped in the computer world on screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 12