Babies Reviews

Page 1 of 6
November 7, 2019
Absolutely charming, each baby is more of a scene stealer than the one before. The giggly, happy faces, feigned crying and tantrums, the resilience. . .you can't help but love each one of these little rugrats.
October 24, 2019
The fascinating parts of Babies are weighed down by too much of the same thing.
July 23, 2019
Some may find the sentiment contrived and the cuteness cloying. But this is something we've never seen before: a movie uniquely devoted to babies. There's a reason people are mesmerized by them...the film casts the same spell.
October 4, 2018
Words like "miracle" and "precious" are used so often in reference to infants, they've grown rather empty. With simplicity and grace, Babies fills them up again.
August 8, 2018
Unfortunately, Balmes never takes his pop anthropology project beyond the observational stage. Babies doesn't offer much in the way of insightful revelations, and the scenes become repetitive.
June 29, 2017
See if you can stop smiling as you exit the theater. There is so much more to Babies than cuteness, but that charm goes a long way.
October 1, 2012
Hopefully next time Balmes makes a documentary, he'll have more of a purpose in mind, because without it, he's simply not giving his audience any reason to care.
April 8, 2012
If not falling head over heels for a film that is literally just 80 minutes of cute babies makes me a grump, so be it.
May 2, 2011
On a scale of one to a hundred (one featuring no babies at all, and a hundred featuring all the babies in all of existence) this film could still only be classified as 'babies'.
April 30, 2011
We realise this is humanity at its most homogenous; we begin to go separate ways only when our surrounding culture shoves us into its own strictures
April 30, 2011
With deft editing, we journey back and forth sharing the first 12 months with each child. What impact does the environment have on each baby? That is the intriguing question and as we observe and decide for ourselves
April 17, 2011
Inaugura um novo gnero: o do "filme-awwwwww".
March 7, 2011
It won't make a dent in the box office and it can hardly be considered essential viewing, but it's serene, unpretentious, and boasts more than enough cute moments to justify its existence. Parents, I imagine, will love it.
March 3, 2011
A simple idea, but very nicely done by French documentarian Thomas Balms.
March 3, 2011
The intimate footage draws attention to the obvious contrasts between plenty and poverty.
March 2, 2011
Director Thomas Balms has a hands-off and words-off style of direction. It's to be welcomed. We all know the sort of thing mums and dads say to babies, so subtitles would be extraneous.
January 3, 2011
The baby stars were given the go ahead to improvise every scene. The magic came in the editing suite (Raymond Bertrand, Craig McKay).
December 6, 2010
...an absolutely interminable piece of work that seems destined to send most viewers into protracted fits of daydreaming.
December 1, 2010
It has cute kids and cute animals, mothers and fathers interacting in interesting ways, and a demonstration of some cultural differences, too.
October 1, 2010
Because of the inherent adorability of the four stars of this French documentary, it's easy to forgive it for not delivering as much as it should.
Page 1 of 6