Babies - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Babies Reviews

Page 1 of 6
June 29, 2017
See if you can stop smiling as you exit the theater. There is so much more to Babies than cuteness, but that charm goes a long way.
October 1, 2012
Hopefully next time Balmes makes a documentary, he'll have more of a purpose in mind, because without it, he's simply not giving his audience any reason to care.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 8, 2012
If not falling head over heels for a film that is literally just 80 minutes of cute babies makes me a grump, so be it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 2, 2011
On a scale of one to a hundred (one featuring no babies at all, and a hundred featuring all the babies in all of existence) this film could still only be classified as 'babies'.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 30, 2011
We realise this is humanity at its most homogenous; we begin to go separate ways only when our surrounding culture shoves us into its own strictures
April 30, 2011
With deft editing, we journey back and forth sharing the first 12 months with each child. What impact does the environment have on each baby? That is the intriguing question and as we observe and decide for ourselves
April 17, 2011
Inaugura um novo gênero: o do "filme-awwwwww".
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 7, 2011
It won't make a dent in the box office and it can hardly be considered essential viewing, but it's serene, unpretentious, and boasts more than enough cute moments to justify its existence. Parents, I imagine, will love it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 3, 2011
A simple idea, but very nicely done by French documentarian Thomas Balmès.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 3, 2011
The intimate footage draws attention to the obvious contrasts between plenty and poverty.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 2, 2011
Director Thomas Balmès has a hands-off and words-off style of direction. It's to be welcomed. We all know the sort of thing mums and dads say to babies, so subtitles would be extraneous.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 3, 2011
The baby stars were given the go ahead to improvise every scene. The magic came in the editing suite (Raymond Bertrand, Craig McKay).
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 6, 2010
...an absolutely interminable piece of work that seems destined to send most viewers into protracted fits of daydreaming.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
December 1, 2010
It has cute kids and cute animals, mothers and fathers interacting in interesting ways, and a demonstration of some cultural differences, too.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 1, 2010
Because of the inherent adorability of the four stars of this French documentary, it's easy to forgive it for not delivering as much as it should.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5
October 1, 2010
Because of the inherent adorability of the four stars of this French documentary, it's easy to forgive it for not delivering as much as it should.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5
June 28, 2010
Precious as all get out...but it cries out for more insight and inspiration.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 2, 2010
This isn't a movie. It's a screensaver.
May 29, 2010
More like a home movie than a feature length film.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 22, 2010
When forced to watch home movies %u2014 and this is simply a glorified home movie %u2014 most of us nod and smile and start checking our watches.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 6