Babies - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Babies Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
October 1, 2012
Hopefully next time Balmes makes a documentary, he'll have more of a purpose in mind, because without it, he's simply not giving his audience any reason to care.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
April 8, 2012
If not falling head over heels for a film that is literally just 80 minutes of cute babies makes me a grump, so be it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
May 2, 2011
On a scale of one to a hundred (one featuring no babies at all, and a hundred featuring all the babies in all of existence) this film could still only be classified as 'babies'.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
April 30, 2011
We realise this is humanity at its most homogenous; we begin to go separate ways only when our surrounding culture shoves us into its own strictures
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
April 30, 2011
With deft editing, we journey back and forth sharing the first 12 months with each child. What impact does the environment have on each baby? That is the intriguing question and as we observe and decide for ourselves
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
April 17, 2011
Inaugura um novo gênero: o do "filme-awwwwww".
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Shaun Munro
What Culture
March 7, 2011
It won't make a dent in the box office and it can hardly be considered essential viewing, but it's serene, unpretentious, and boasts more than enough cute moments to justify its existence. Parents, I imagine, will love it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Andrew Pulver
Guardian
March 3, 2011
A simple idea, but very nicely done by French documentarian Thomas Balmès.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Parkinson
Radio Times
March 3, 2011
The intimate footage draws attention to the obvious contrasts between plenty and poverty.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Amber Wilkinson
Eye for Film
March 2, 2011
Director Thomas Balmès has a hands-off and words-off style of direction. It's to be welcomed. We all know the sort of thing mums and dads say to babies, so subtitles would be extraneous.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 3, 2011
The baby stars were given the go ahead to improvise every scene. The magic came in the editing suite (Raymond Bertrand, Craig McKay).
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
December 6, 2010
...an absolutely interminable piece of work that seems destined to send most viewers into protracted fits of daydreaming.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
December 1, 2010
It has cute kids and cute animals, mothers and fathers interacting in interesting ways, and a demonstration of some cultural differences, too.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Dan Lybarger
eFilmCritic.com
October 1, 2010
Because of the inherent adorability of the four stars of this French documentary, it's easy to forgive it for not delivering as much as it should.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5
Dan Lybarger
MovieMaker Magazine
October 1, 2010
Because of the inherent adorability of the four stars of this French documentary, it's easy to forgive it for not delivering as much as it should.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
June 28, 2010
Precious as all get out...but it cries out for more insight and inspiration.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
June 2, 2010
This isn't a movie. It's a screensaver.
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
May 29, 2010
More like a home movie than a feature length film.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Gary Wolcott
Tri-City Herald
May 22, 2010
When forced to watch home movies %u2014 and this is simply a glorified home movie %u2014 most of us nod and smile and start checking our watches.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mike Scott
Times-Picayune
May 11, 2010
A beautiful and entirely embraceable bit of cinema, and a welcome break from the pablum normally served up at theaters this time of year.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 6