Babies - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Babies Reviews

Page 1 of 6
June 29, 2017
See if you can stop smiling as you exit the theater. There is so much more to Babies than cuteness, but that charm goes a long way.
April 30, 2011
We realise this is humanity at its most homogenous; we begin to go separate ways only when our surrounding culture shoves us into its own strictures
April 30, 2011
With deft editing, we journey back and forth sharing the first 12 months with each child. What impact does the environment have on each baby? That is the intriguing question and as we observe and decide for ourselves
April 17, 2011
Inaugura um novo gênero: o do "filme-awwwwww".
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 7, 2011
It won't make a dent in the box office and it can hardly be considered essential viewing, but it's serene, unpretentious, and boasts more than enough cute moments to justify its existence. Parents, I imagine, will love it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 3, 2011
A simple idea, but very nicely done by French documentarian Thomas Balmès.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 3, 2011
The intimate footage draws attention to the obvious contrasts between plenty and poverty.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 2, 2011
Director Thomas Balmès has a hands-off and words-off style of direction. It's to be welcomed. We all know the sort of thing mums and dads say to babies, so subtitles would be extraneous.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 3, 2011
The baby stars were given the go ahead to improvise every scene. The magic came in the editing suite (Raymond Bertrand, Craig McKay).
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 1, 2010
It has cute kids and cute animals, mothers and fathers interacting in interesting ways, and a demonstration of some cultural differences, too.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 1, 2010
Because of the inherent adorability of the four stars of this French documentary, it's easy to forgive it for not delivering as much as it should.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5
October 1, 2010
Because of the inherent adorability of the four stars of this French documentary, it's easy to forgive it for not delivering as much as it should.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5
May 11, 2010
A beautiful and entirely embraceable bit of cinema, and a welcome break from the pablum normally served up at theaters this time of year.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 11, 2010
Babies is one of the most human fly-on-the-wall docs I've ever come across.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
May 11, 2010
For the first part of the movie the cuteness of the babies is enough but after that the sameness of the film starts to sink in and the need for something else arises.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 10, 2010
The movie is pleasing -- who doesn't love gurgling babies? -- but as anodyne as a series of episodes from America's Funniest Home Videos.
May 10, 2010
Presents itself as an ethnographic meditation on the first year of life but is better approached as an "oooooh" and "awww" fest...
May 9, 2010
It's a movie without a plot; a documentary without narration. It's a wonder about small wonders. 'Babies' is about four cultures of the world and how they raise their babies %u2013 the differences, the similarities, and, ultimately, the happiness involved
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
May 8, 2010
...a kind of narrative tone poem that ultimately works as a mildly chiding critique of helicopter mothers and parents who worship at the cult of the sacred baby.
Full Review | Original Score: 86/100
May 8, 2010
Infants on the big screen are usually exploited as blasts of cuteness, comic relief, or wisecracking, diaper-clad versions of grownups. Thus, Babies is a welcome relief.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Page 1 of 6