Life as We Know It - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Life as We Know It Reviews

Page 1 of 8
August 30, 2011
while there is some chemistry between [the leads], it's wasted as the shambolic plot gives them nowhere to go.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 7, 2010
In case you haven't seen Katherine Heigl play uptight, quirky and terminally single often enough, another chance awaits in Greg Berlanti's awkward slapstick/melodrama mash-up.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 24, 2010
In lieu of any real humour, we are subjected to a parade of tired spew-and-poo baby jokes and the age-old odd couple scenario, which Heigl and Duhamel admittedly handle nicely despite a flat script.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 8, 2010
The movie?s efforts to add gravity to its lightweight genre via depictions of grief and parenting doubts come off as glib and disingenuous.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 6, 2010
It's a sorry state of affairs when Katherine Heigl is the closest approximation of a screwball-ready actor that contemporary mainstream movies can offer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 7, 2010
So anyway, what happens in Life As We Know It? You'll never guess in a million years. Never.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 8, 2010
Cloying and at times annoying, Life as We Know It is egregiously manipulative, whoring itself out for a few unearned tears.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 8, 2010
Yes, there are some twists, a nice comedic turn or two, but the inevitable hook-up of dueling opposites is never anything but inevitable.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 7, 2010
What are two particularly engaging performers doing in a dump of a comedy like this?
October 8, 2010
A potentially touching drama compromised by rom-com routine and defined by the type of sparks that rocks give off when clashed together often enough.
October 7, 2010
I nearly sobbed at the funeral scene, sullen in the knowledge that I?d spend the next 90-plus minutes watching a painfully forced romance emerge.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 11, 2010
It's not as bad as it sounds. It's much worse.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 7, 2010
The two leads have screen appeal, but the chemistry between them is thin, while the story wavers between hackneyed clichés and incredibility...
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
October 19, 2010
Never deviates from the romantic comedy guidebook. It delivers exactly what you would expect, and nothing further; tears, laughter, romance, and plenty of cute baby moments, awkwardly wrapped in a tragic situation.
October 7, 2010
Formulaic, shallow and sinfully tedious from start to finish.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
April 5, 2011
Life As We Know It is Studio Filmmaking As We Fear It.
October 8, 2010
While set-ups for rom-coms are usually all too predictable, this one's never been done before. Inventive? Sort of. Believable? Not on your life. A shame, since the delightful leads deserved better.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.5/10
October 8, 2010
Watching Duhamel and Heigl discover the joys and pains of parenthood is cute as far as it goes, but their story can't progress too far until the kid is out of diapers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 6, 2010
Cute boy and girl opposites meet and fall in love after their best friends die and leave them in charge of raising their orphaned daughter. Adorable.
October 4, 2010
Despite the stars' warm chemistry, Life As We Know It is an involving but ultimately mediocre mixture of domestic melodrama and opposites-attract romantic comedy.
Page 1 of 8