Life as We Know It - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Life as We Know It Reviews

October 12, 2010
We keep seeing Heigl's potential as a fine comic actress and, the curse of optimism, continue to be disappointed when she betrays her best instincts.
October 8, 2010
The title becomes a depressingly self-fulfilling prophecy: This is movie life as we have all come to know it.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 8, 2010
Watching Duhamel and Heigl discover the joys and pains of parenthood is cute as far as it goes, but their story can't progress too far until the kid is out of diapers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 8, 2010
It aims for comfort food, but ends up with leftovers.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 8, 2010
Yes, there are some twists, a nice comedic turn or two, but the inevitable hook-up of dueling opposites is never anything but inevitable.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 8, 2010
As disposable as one of those diapers.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 8, 2010
There is not a single deviation from formula.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
October 8, 2010
If innocuous entertainment, amiable enough while it lasts but forgettable beyond, has a place in life as you know it, then Life As We Know It will have a place in your heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 8, 2010
Cloying and at times annoying, Life as We Know It is egregiously manipulative, whoring itself out for a few unearned tears.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 8, 2010
Just like the clunker you end up buying and liking in spite of everything, Life As We Know It gets you there. Exactly where is hard to say, but chances are you won't regret making the journey.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 8, 2010
Basically, this is The Taming of the Shrew with an adorable-baby twist that never occurred to William Shakespeare.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 8, 2010
Whose life are we talking about, exactly?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 7, 2010
This is crap as we know it, a 113 minute package of romcom suck.
Read More | Original Score: .5/4
October 7, 2010
Katherine Heigl and Josh Duhamel have an appealing chemistry, but Life as We Know It is tripped up by awkwardly fusing a familiar sitcom scenario with a tragic premise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 7, 2010
What are two particularly engaging performers doing in a dump of a comedy like this?
October 7, 2010
Every moment, however seemingly haphazard and casually presented, is keyed to the progress of a young man from lost to not so lost.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 7, 2010
I didn't laugh once at any of this trite, sentimental gunk...
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
October 7, 2010
With pratfalls and teardrops, the film swings from sitcom to sit-dram.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 7, 2010
What you may not expect is quite how satisfying much of the film is, with Duhamel turning out to be a very good sparring partner for Heigl, whose lush, soft exterior conceals a very spiky interior that tends to wilt her co-stars.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 7, 2010
It's brisk, pleasantly acted, painless. These days, that's high praise.
October 7, 2010
Veers not an inch off Hollywood's well-worn rom-com path.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 7, 2010
The supporting cast serves up enough small moments of surprise to keep this formula flick from falling flat.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 7, 2010
Pity any poor kid stuck in a house like that. Pity, too, anyone who has to stop by for a visit.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
October 7, 2010
Life as We Know It turns into a reasonably honest consideration of what it might mean to have to honor the dead by raising their living, breathing, pooping, screaming progeny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 7, 2010
Credulity is stretched throughout.
October 7, 2010
This is a change from what audiences have come to expect from the usual Heigl vehicle. She's quicker-witted and warmer than usual here, and she keeps Duhamel on his toes, even when the storyline drags its feet.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 7, 2010
Sometimes I suspect there is secret high-stakes contest in Hollywood among filmmakers to try and come up with a movie without a single original idea. If so, Life As We Know It is a contender...
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 7, 2010
So anyway, what happens in Life As We Know It? You'll never guess in a million years. Never.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 6, 2010
You could write this one in your sleep.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 6, 2010
Its familiar story passes with nothing to distinguish itself from the many other similarly plotted movies and sitcoms.
October 6, 2010
A comedy as disposable -- and stinky -- as loaded Pampers.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
October 6, 2010
It's a sorry state of affairs when Katherine Heigl is the closest approximation of a screwball-ready actor that contemporary mainstream movies can offer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 5, 2010
The feminine fantasies Berlanti seemingly seeks to stoke are undercut by a vibe thats weirdly misogynistic.
October 4, 2010
Katherine Heigl and Josh Duhamel do make for very attractive leads while bringing plenty of vitality to thinly written roles.
October 4, 2010
Life demonstrates quite a lot about the state of this genre as we know it -- and by that unexacting measure, anyway, it's better than most.