Winter's Bone - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Winter's Bone Reviews

Page 2 of 230
½ June 19, 2016
hmm... i don't know that i'd say it was a thriller. or one of the year's best films. but it wasn't bad. nothing really happens besides her gallivanting about while people refuse to help her, so that's kind of aggravating. seems as though everyone would rather keep a meth head hidden than help a family of 4 (who's being taken care of by a 17 year old, mind you) from losing all they have (due to said meth head). other thoughts i couldn't help but think is that probably the majority of our generation's 17 year olds would never be able to handle the responsibilities this one had. and the fact that she had to have the 6 year old watch her cook and learn how to shoot guns just in case something happened. i feel like maybe that happened more often in our grandparent's generation, but not anymore. i can't tell you how many times i run in to people who don't know how to cook. like, how do people not know how to cook? you literally need to eat to survive. anyways. it's a slow moving movie, but if you're in to dramas and unhelpful people, then you'll like it.
May 30, 2016
Wow, that was an intense film. Lawrence did a great job of acting in this one. It's definitely a very good film for it's type but some may think it's too bleak and depressing. They do a good job of making you feel the setting. 8/10
May 23, 2016
It became repetitive
May 22, 2016
Almost a 9/10 in my book
April 26, 2016
I'd argue that this is Jennifer Lawrence's best work to date, even though she was still in her teens when they filmed it. It's a relentlessly sad film, but well written and well shot.
Super Reviewer
April 6, 2016
A good-yet-unremarkable film with a simple yet somewhat perplexing, often slow plot. It's almost as if, not just the cast but the entire film, was built as a supporting cast to give Jennifer Lawrence a shot at the Oscars. And it's a good performance, probably a decent projection of what we can expect from her in the future.
March 28, 2016
not a feel good film
March 19, 2016
"Winter's Bone" emits a stark, grim tone throughout, and is bolstered by impressively understated performances from Jennifer Lawrence and John Hawkes.
February 7, 2016
I had to watch this movie twice in 2 days.... Well written and well acted.....very real and to the heart!
February 2, 2016
Jennifer Lawrence is great in this movie, but the plot totally confused me!
½ January 30, 2016
Bleak, depressing, shocking, but excellent. Superb performance by J.Lawrence and cast, brilliant fieldwork. Must see.
January 29, 2016
It keeps coming back, sequence, believable emotions, horror..
January 20, 2016
On second viewing I consider this a full-fledged masterpiece. Gonna watch it again and take down notes for a full review. Such a rich, humane film.
½ January 19, 2016
Pretty good, I wasn't floored by it or anything though. Felt like it was missing something, maybe a small joke or two, I don't know. I usually like darker movies, but this one may have been too dark without any excitement to make up for it.
½ January 1, 2016
Lawrence is great but way too dark for me
December 13, 2015
While Jennifer Lawrence had a great performance and there are some moments of visceral brutality and insight into the primitive backwoods life many families live, this movie lost focus in the middle and got totally lost, never fully regaining the potential it had. The scene where Lawrence has to saw off her father's dead hands was especially haunting and powerful.
November 24, 2015
This drama set in the bleak American mid-West describes a girl's search for her father, whether dead or alive. Featuring solid performances all round, it is that from Lawrence which carries us along on this eerie journey. AAN
½ November 4, 2015
A slow realistic film with great acting from Jennifer Lawrence
½ October 24, 2015
2 Words: Poverty Porn. And that boat scene was RIDICULOUS. 1 star for Jennifer Lawrence and John Hawkes and 1/2 star for "gritty" cinematography, which must be sooo difficult to accomplish in the Ozarks in the winter.
Page 2 of 230