The Big Sleep - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Big Sleep Reviews

Page 3 of 84
February 24, 2015
Yes, it's confusing, but Bogart and Bacall plus a sleazy post-war Los Angeles atmosphere make this a classic.
February 8, 2015
It's your typical detective story but Humphrey Bogart makes the movie. The film noir vibe of it is the best thing about it and has influenced many film noirs after it. A classic I keep coming back to.
January 29, 2015
The noir setting and the brilliant screenplay aid Bogart and Baccall with their brilliant performances is in this under appreciated classic. Full review later.
½ January 21, 2015
Me gustó más To Have and have not y El Halcón Maltés.
½ December 29, 2014
Brilliant film-making and great performances. Not a second is wasted. Classic.
November 20, 2014
This continues the incredible run of films Bogie made with now-wife Lauren Bacall. Crackling script ran to perfection by Howard Hawks. Essential, especially for fans of detective thrillers or simply well-made movies.
October 11, 2014
This film threw me round a couple of times but considering I was only half watching it I'm not sure 'indecipherable' is the right term to describe it.

Having now seen it, however, I can understand why it's considered such a success.
½ October 4, 2014
My only complain: very intricate plot. Sometimes hard, but not less enjoyable, to follow. Note: second movie in a week with some reference to Mr. Proust. Perhaps it's a signal!
½ September 10, 2014
Me gustó más To Have and have not y El Halcón Maltés.
½ September 4, 2014
Hard to believe I haven't got round to watching this any sooner. It is indeed a great pic, but I was definitely uncomfortable with the moral ambiguity of covering up all Carmen's criminal behavior. Apparently Marlowe is fine with the idea of framing someone else for a murder she committed as well as covering up her involvement in opium and pornography, lamely concluding that they can send her somewhere to get help. Because, of course, she has a rich and indulgent dad. Today, we'd be reading about her on the covers of the tabloids while standing in line at the grocery store.
½ August 15, 2014
I watched this movie after I heard the news of Lauren Bacall's death. The dialogues are really well written. I like how the main characters tease each other each time they meet. You can sense the chemistry between those two, but I guess it's normal since they were married. It's a great movie.
August 13, 2014
When Raymond Chandler, William Faulkner and Howard Hawks come together, you can raise your prospect to the maximum, and The Big Sleep delivers.
½ August 13, 2014
If To Have and Have Not was Howard Hawks attempting to emulate Casablanca, The Big Sleep is his take on the Maltese Falcon. And, like his previous effort with Bogart and Bacall, it doesn't quite reach the heights of its inspiration, it's still an enthralling picture in its own right, due largely to the intense chemistry between its two leads. The plot, if scrutinized, is hard to follow and terribly complex - many of the murders in the film remain unsolved (or at least unexplained to the audience) by the time it's over. But Hawks paces the movie so quickly, with new twists, red herrings, and murder at every turn, that it hardly matters; the movie is pure pulpy fun.
August 12, 2014
Classic detective thriller thanks to Howard Hawks expert direction of the superb casting of Humphrey Bogart & Lauren Bacall in the lead roles. While the byzantine plot is a bit confusing (reportedly, even Raymond Chandler didn't know how one of the characters died), but Hawks direction keeps things interesting on every frame, especially when Boggy & Bacall heat up the screen, making for not only one of the best detective films ever made but the best of the Boggy/Bacall pictures. A true classic.
August 3, 2014
A complicated plot shredded into tens of pieces in which you have to bring up together to reform the original puzzle, The Big Sleep features a magnificent cast with powerful performances and a solid script and a long memorable atmosphere.
July 24, 2014
Bogart and Bacall in a Chandler classic! What more needs to be said?
½ July 12, 2014
Marlowe is certainly the original and the best. The movie is no less a complex tale than the book, but Bogart gives our protagonist grit and undeniable charm.
July 10, 2014
Overlong and complicated, The Big Sleep's status as a noir classic can be attributed largely to Bogart's lead performance.
½ July 4, 2014
The Big Sleep is an entertaining film. It is about private detective Philip Marlowe who is hired by a rich family. Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall give amazing performances. The screenplay is well written. Howard Hawks did a great job directing this movie. I enjoyed watching this movie because of the drama and mystery. The Big Sleep is a must see.
Page 3 of 84