Black Rain - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Black Rain Reviews

Page 1 of 37
½ March 23, 2018
Michael Douglas stars as a NY cop who makes up his own rules ... he's a fish out of water ... in a world he didn't create. Okay ... okay ... Douglas is a cop with suspect ethics who arrests a yakuza in New York ("A Yakuza in New York" sounds like a great film) after he commits two bloody murders in public. Implausibly, he is extradited to Japan and escorted by Douglas and his partner Andy Garcia. They are tricked by more yakuza dressed up as cops and they hand their prisoner over to the gangsters. They stay is Japan to work with the Japanese police and try to retrieve their prisoner. This film looks amazing. The dazzling production design and Jan De Bont's cinematography create a glittering, nightmare out of Osaka. Typical for a Ridley Scott film, it's also a gloriously empty film built out of cliches and ridiculous plot holes. Not only does the US agree to extradite a double homicide suspect to a foreign country, they send a cop under investigation by Internal Affairs to escort him? An American woman (Kate Capshaw) running a bar in Osaka knows yakuza secrets?
February 4, 2018
is this rating 52% & 55% an epic joke here ?
½ December 27, 2017
A brilliant and dark cop movie. Well acted from all involved.

The beautiful Kate(Temple of Doom)Capshaw shows up for a brief appearance
½ August 21, 2017
A fantastic crime drama/thriller from the superb director Ridley Scott, starring Michael Douglas & Andy Garcia.
July 11, 2017
Personally I love this movie. Great cast, great action. Douglas is excellent in this and plays the character spot on. For some reason I always remember the karaoke scene in this movie
½ April 29, 2017
Though nothing really special this is a darkly entertaining movie with some decent action and the odd disturbing moment that makes it a movie worth revisiting from time to time.
February 19, 2017
Decent cop thriller, but considering the cast and crew, this should be a classic. Either way, it's still entertaining enough. The culture clash plays well.
½ January 8, 2017
1/8/2017: A good cast with Douglas and Garcia, but just an ok 80's cop drama.
½ October 2, 2016
Like many actionmovies, the start is the best, rough action, hard faces, adrenaline. Yet when the biceps starts to relax, loosen up on the flex, the platform story comes up there trying to carry this, nonesense and for every scene the movie falls apart.
½ September 10, 2016
A good, mostly predictable, cop action/thriller from Ridley Scott. Douglas is good as the semi-lone wolf cop, Garcia is fun as his younger off-sider and Takakura is very straight-faced as their Japanese handler. Some good shots and a decent score, but plenty of shootouts and motorbike chases too.
½ April 27, 2016
A cop must escort a Japanese criminal back to his homeland. Director Ridley Scott has fun with the scenery but it's not enough to distract the audience from its thin plot and choppy action sequences.
April 20, 2016
I think Black Rain could have been a sharper modern (at the time) crime noir where Western and Eastern sense of justice clash if Michael Douglas' Nick Conklin was written less of an insufferable and rather xenophobic prick throughout most of the film. Doesn't help that the film is clearly on the side of the maverick, "off the cuff" and "screw protocol" New York cops, that it looks upon Japanese law enforcement (and by broad association, Japanese culture) through egregiously cynical lens. The endearing Masamoto, the Japanese officer that tags along both Douglas and Garcia's New York "off the cuff" cops (and his lukewarm respect for Garcia's character being one of the few "human" elements of the story), doesn't nearly get the time to shine.

Still, Ridley Scott's direction and Jan de Bont's serviceable cinematography of Osaka Japan really fit the noir tone like a glove.
½ February 5, 2016
I gave this another look on DVD recently and I have to say that I was very curious how it would hold up, as it's a film I recall seeing only once before, theatrically during my teens. It was one of the first more 'adult' films I saw with a friend, and I remembered liking it but had never revisited until recently. It's a decent enough cop drama, with Michael Douglas and Andy Garcia having fun chewing scenery and being mildly racist while in Japan.

Worth a look, give it a rental.
½ December 15, 2015
An entertaining action thriller about crime and vengeance.
½ December 5, 2015
Did remember this as a good older movie seen maybe 4 times in the 80's and 90's ...26 years later still enjoyed it . Bad Japanese guys are there enough i guese , don't like them....SOMDVD
November 9, 2015
Looks great for the most part, but the script is so stupid, with Douglas's character such an absurd walking cliché of a renegade "badass" cop that the whole thing regularly resembles more of a parody than a straight thriller. My favourite part was probably Matsuda's deranged, bug-eyed performance, but even that was under-utilised.
October 30, 2015
An Ok cop film with its own charm and style to it, but the film seems empty and very dull in its own way of telling its story by putting to much action and not enough convincing for the viewer to understand the film for the action and cop method of catching a come lord in Japan/China and the next wave of the cop genera it will bring to the screen and for the most part the acting wasn't really that great. Scenery wise the film might be worth the look but otherwise its terrible and I just found that this is the kind of film after being watched you wished had been better and there are many better and more unique stylish films that can beat this right out of the park. "Thumbs Down",
October 14, 2015
A fantastic crime flick! Michael Douglas has never been better. Story is great...not a flaw in this movie.
September 13, 2015
A pretty decent action/drama with a good
performance from Michael Douglas. Underrated to a degree!
September 3, 2015
Your usual 80s gritty cop action flick made a bit more watchable by good performances, unusual setting and great cinematography. Not one of Ridley Scott's best though.
Page 1 of 37