Cloak and Dagger Reviews

Page 2 of 2
September 28, 2014
This movie is interesting historically, but I liked it because it provided an unusual role for Gary Cooper, showing some range, and because the supporting cast was very good. I especially liked Lilli Palmer as an Italian teacher fighting Mussolini. It is also interesting that the story could be as contemporary as it is (which is not perfect) in 1946. That suggests some vision. I would recommend this to anyone who likes good old action movies.
½ October 16, 2013
"And I thought I was being smart": classic Gary Cooper line (who, here, repeatedly screws up, with deadly consequences)! But this IS a smart movie, if somewhat too procedural (and notwithstanding the annoying domestic interlude/relationship, and being "inspired by the amazing achievements of the OSS").
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
January 30, 2012
Good not great film with Coop's character annoyingly dense and obtuse at times which puts others in grave danger. Lilli is strong suffering none of Gary's indecision. Not top flight Lang but all his films are worth seeing and this one has many quality moments.
Super Reviewer
September 5, 2010
A confusing, at times very boring, but at other times pretty good spy movie from the forties.
November 5, 2006
wow umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch......its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie....i think that marc lawrence i, ludwig stossel, lilli palmer, helen thimig, j edward bromberg, james flavin, gary cooper, dan seymour, charles marsh play good roles/parts thorughout this movie...i think that the director of thisclassics/drama/romance movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie...i think that this is a great drama movie 2 watch its got a great cast thorughout this movie....i think that gary cooper was brilliant thorughout this movie
½ December 3, 2008
6.5/10. You can't go wrong with a combination of Fritz Lang and Gary Cooper. It is not among the best for either, but it's still a good adventure thriller. Good cinematography, interesting story.
garyX
Super Reviewer
½ November 30, 2007
Alfred Hitchcock was not the only great director to make anti-Nazi porpaganda films. Fritz Lang, himself an escapee from Nazi Germany, made this film to warn of the dangers of atomic power in the hands of fascists. It's essentially a spy film as it follows scientist Gary Cooper as he infiltrates an enemy project to produce an atomic bomb. Fritz Lang's keen eye for black and white photography and gritty drama works really well in the early scenes as he cranks up the suspense as Cooper evades the Gestapo to help rescue an eminent scientist from their clutches. Unfortunately things nose dive at the appearance of Lilli Palmer, although her character is initially intriguing. Casablanca proved that used subtly, a doomed romance between star crossed lovers can compliment political intrigue brilliantly. The ham-fisted approach in evidence here couldn't be further away though, as Palmer's fiery and proud partisan soon has her heart melted and she becomes an insipid doe-eyed lump who is just waiting for a strong American to take her away from all this. The fact that this corny Mills & Boonery makes the tough guy heroics and gritty realism take a back seat for a solid twenty minutes nearly kills the film stone dead. It gets much better for the finale when it returns to the point but it just serves to highlight what a missed opportunity this film really was.
½ April 25, 2008
Would be better if the original ending hadn't been edited out and then lost by the studio.
February 29, 2008
Cooper is the true legend that makes this movie amazing
October 1, 2006
Classified as a classic = Interested.
½ August 22, 2007
GREAT...Movie, I even love the ending
January 21, 2007
wanna see it i cant wAIT LOL !!!
September 8, 2006
looks boring and old
Page 2 of 2