The Fly - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Fly Reviews

December 23, 2008
I'm happy to report that the sci-fi tome still holds as much power and resonance (to me as much as general audiences) as it did 20 years ago when first released.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
November 5, 2007
Purists may still prefer the original for the sheer strength of its monumental build-up, but I think there's a lot to be said for this version and its conflation of romantic comedy and horror conventions.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
December 21, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 8, 2005
Acting, psychological perspicacity and general creepiness all merge to wonderful effect in this deftly 'hijacked' studio movie.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 30, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 24, 2005
The Fly is scary, emotional, and intellectually rigorous.
Full Review | Original Score: 99
October 20, 2005
I say The Fly is maybe Cronenberg's most accomplished straight horror film, but, then again, a dentist just knocked out three of my teeth.
Top Critic
October 20, 2005
Cronenberg's masterful remake of The Fly ranks among the most disgusting films ever made by a major studio.
October 12, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
October 8, 2005
Cronenberg's first masterpiece transcends the original 58 film as a horror gore-fest, achieving poignancy as a metaphor for any modern disease, from cancer to AIDS to old age.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 5, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 5, 2005
David Cronenberg, that most iconoclastic of directors, achieved one of his greatest successes with The Fly.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
September 29, 2005
Cronenberg's new version triumphs on almost every level, providing that you like horror movies and can accept their often far-fetched premises. (Collector's Edition DVD)
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
September 20, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
September 19, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 22, 2004
A horror movie that has aged quite well...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 25, 2004
| Original Score: 4/7
January 21, 2004
Where other Cronenberg films have collapsed under the heavy weight of their own ideas... The Fly succeeds.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 5, 2003
The story moves like a well told tale should.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5