The Fly Reviews

February 27, 2009
Todd Gilchrist
IGN Movies
December 23, 2008
I'm happy to report that the sci-fi tome still holds as much power and resonance (to me as much as general audiences) as it did 20 years ago when first released.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
R. L. Shaffer
DVDFuture.com
November 7, 2007
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
November 5, 2007
Purists may still prefer the original for the sheer strength of its monumental build-up, but I think there's a lot to be said for this version and its conflation of romantic comedy and horror conventions.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
September 19, 2007

Exclaim!
August 3, 2007
Oliver Korioth
Dvd-Dweeb.com
January 27, 2007

iofilm.co.uk
June 7, 2006
Liam Cullin
Empire Movies
December 21, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Michael Sheridan
Tail Slate
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Brent Simon
Now Playing Magazine
November 8, 2005
Acting, psychological perspicacity and general creepiness all merge to wonderful effect in this deftly 'hijacked' studio movie.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 30, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Mike Pinsky
DVD Verdict
October 24, 2005
The Fly is scary, emotional, and intellectually rigorous.
Full Review | Original Score: 99
Eric Henderson
Slant Magazine
October 20, 2005
I say The Fly is maybe Cronenberg's most accomplished straight horror film, but, then again, a dentist just knocked out three of my teeth.
Top Critic

AV Club
October 20, 2005
Cronenberg's masterful remake of The Fly ranks among the most disgusting films ever made by a major studio.
Rusty White
Entertainment Insiders
October 15, 2005
Carl Lyon
Monsters At Play
October 15, 2005

DVD Beaver
October 13, 2005
Matthew Joseph
DVDActive.com
October 12, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Emanuel Levy
EmanuelLevy.Com
October 8, 2005
Cronenberg's first masterpiece transcends the original 58 film as a horror gore-fest, achieving poignancy as a metaphor for any modern disease, from cancer to AIDS to old age.
Full Review | Original Score: A