Greetings - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Greetings Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ August 14, 2016
Unfunny and boring. Has aged about as well as left-out milk.
½ August 7, 2016
Took a lot of patience to sit through this. Watching all the movies in Danny Peary's book, 100 Cult Movies, in case Suspect Video closes shop when the Honest Ed's neighbourhood changes.

Weird bleeps, inter titles -between vignettes, no plot -, breaking the 4th wall, cuts to LBJ speech footage. Peary: A) This was made super cheaply and De Palma's always sloppy. Likewise, he says with De Palma, the guys are obnoxious jerks and the women are dumb, and really just there to have sex with. B) They're Godardian/Brechtian "alienation" devices to remind you it's a film I'll buy that, especially in combo with his idea that the 3 characters end up on the wrong end of aggressive 'cinematic' tools (in porn, on news from Viet Nam, and -metaphorically- by being assassinated by a lone gunman).

Peary really goes to town on the references in this to other filmmakers. He figures it's made for filmmakers and students, and also for disenfranchised, alienated young folks of the time, and it's amazing that it got distributed at all.
½ January 6, 2016
It's hard to know what to make of this early film from Brian De Palma - it's sort of a cross between those Godard films where everyone just delivers monologues to the camera and those Warhol films where non-actors sit around and talk about or engage in trashy behaviour. And it's a comedy or filmed in a comic vein that is pretty easy-going and never really boring. Three guys try to get out of going to Vietnam by flunking their draft physical, debate the Warren Commission results, engage in computer dates, and create films that peeping toms might love. But mostly they just talk. Some of their monologues are dirty and some are funny. You feel like you are with a bunch of goof-offs who are pretty good at enjoying themselves. One of the guys happens to be Robert De Niro (in his first film). Allen Garfield has a good bit as a smut peddler. But, yeah, De Palma seems to have been a pervert from the start. Godard and Warhol may have had more to say.
Super Reviewer
½ May 18, 2014
Sometimes clever and funny, but DePalma's Greetings presents a lot of unfunny, unecessary and boring scenes; very dumb and no prespective to make somebody laugh with the poor screenplay. De Niro, however, show a nice acting. Greetings it's in my list of the most disappoint films that I ever saw. Rotten.
June 15, 2013
Brian DePalma's comedy starts off with the hillarious draft dodging sequence of scams but it is all down hill from there. The only other highlights are a decent performance from a young De niro and the JFK conspiracy stuff, which was quiet brave considering that he was assassinated just five years previously.
½ January 13, 2013
I didnt know what to think of this but I'm glad I got to see de niro's first
½ January 18, 2012
Again watching this after Redacted it has no real structure but the sum of all parts here make a sense and a coherent film. Interesting at times and just absurd at others, is it an anti-war film? who knows. just a mad cavalcade of episodes. more like a sketch show with the same characters
October 10, 2011
2nd feature length movie of De Palma !!! okay
October 10, 2011
Kinda have mixed feelings, but I guess I'll check it out.
½ September 20, 2011
You've heard of 'Pop Art' right? Well this is Peep Art.
October 21, 2010
In which De Palma continues to learn his trade, hone his themes and chronicle the late 60s disaffection of America's youth.
July 30, 2010
Has no real plot, just a series of episodes with 3 main characters, and their thoughts on teh JFK assasination, the Vietnam war, and computer dating. Each one feels like they were made up on the spot, very impromptu. The best is De Niro as a peepig Tom with a camera.

Robert De Niro's 1st motion picture, ad the 1st film released with an X rating. The De Niro character appears in a sequel called Hi, Mom.

Jon Rubin: You've heard of 'Pop Art' right? Well this is 'Peep Art'.

Jon Rubin: Like the fisherman who keeps a list of areas where fishing is especially good, the peeper has in mind a number of particularly livley places to which he returns....hmmm
½ April 16, 2010
2 words. Robert Deniro. He has such grasp of whatever role he plays. this movie. is one of the 100 greatest films of all time
Super Reviewer
March 30, 2010
Almost too relevant for its own good, this is a hauntingly realistic interpretation of life in the 60s. It consists of draft dodging techniques, clues to the Kennedy assassination and making low budget porn. Following three friends, you really get a sense of what it was like to be a guy in his 20s at the brink of the Vietnam War. Itâ??s a subject that you donâ??t often see that much in film, but this does it so well that I donâ??t see the need to do it anywhere else. Brian De Palma presents a very experimental looking film that takes the camera places it doesnâ??t usually go. With a series of jump cuts, odd focus changes and panning, youâ??re being given a lens that wasnâ??t typical of the time period. It also happens to be Robert De Niroâ??s first starring role and an amazing one at that. Jon Rubin is an intellectual peeping tom that uses his manipulation skills to lure girls and film them stripping nude.
December 16, 2009
a awkward character-driven story of three young new yorkers that try to avoid the draft on the other level experiments with propaganda and conspiracy theories, together with sex and drugs and rock n roll. one of the finest leftist indie films.
December 10, 2009
A bumpy, amateurish production only of interest to fans of De Palma and De Niro. Neither leaves much of an impression with "Greetings," but fans might enjoy seeing the early stages of development for these two major artists. The film's other two leads, Gerrit Graham and Jonathan Warden, get the best jokes, involving JFK conspiracy and a dating saga, respectively.
½ October 29, 2009
This may be a masterpiece, but i don't get this kind of progressive experimental new age.. art?
October 25, 2009
This movie is in the top-ten of the worst movies I've never ever seen. Tacky. Old-fashioned. Macho. Dumb. The story line is disjointed. There is no plot. It's only a repetition of poor sketches with De Niro who happens to act once a time in a turkey. A big turkey.
September 19, 2009
This suceeds more as pop art than as a comedy. I was completely spellbound by this film. Everything about it is so off-beat and really strange that you can't look away. Everything is shot in really long takes, there are jump cuts, people look at the camera, and there's an assassination. Seriously, you will not expect what this film shows you, and I could see why someone could hate it, but I really dug it.
September 16, 2009
not a very subtle ending
Page 1 of 3