The Importance of Being Earnest - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Importance of Being Earnest Reviews

Page 1 of 8
June 24, 2016
A good adaptation of the classic. Some great humor and perfect casting.
June 15, 2016
good film version of the oscar wilde play
½ May 22, 2016
Such a wonderful comedy. A great stage to screen transfer. I thought i would hate this movie, but i simply adore it.
February 18, 2016
I know the play well and have seen this film several times. A perfect rendering of a perfect text, with deeper meaning than some give credit. Some of the actors were old for their roles, but the acting is so strong this is irrelevant.
½ July 11, 2014
Uninteresting and uncreative.
½ May 10, 2014
Very dated film of a play that some consider a modern classic. Excellent cast makes it worth watching regardless.
January 5, 2014
Giving it 5 stars on the strength of Joan Greenwoods dark husky liquid chocolate voice
September 8, 2013
Oscar Wilde's smart, witty and sophisticated play is brought to life with eminently love-able performances from the two male leads.
August 23, 2013
Truly glorious adaptation of Oscar Wildes famed work. Two men pretending to be someone they are not in order to win their hands in marriage. The performances from a classy cast are a delight but Edith Evans delivery of the words "a handbag" tops the lot.
August 14, 2013
Witty farce based on the Oscar Wilde play with Michael Redgrave, Margaret Rutherford, Michael Denison and a Miles Malleson.
Super Reviewer
April 17, 2013
Old school drawing room wit and sensibilities like honey for your tea in this 1962 romcom about mistaken identities and amour, darling.
January 7, 2013
The wittiest dialogue ever written receives film enactment by an overaged cast. Honestly, I think Oscar Wilde just may be better READ than PLAYED. Zinger after zinger after zinger...with so little action.
September 1, 2012
More annoying than funny.
July 11, 2012
This is a Classic that everyone should watch. I think it holds up with time better than many newer movies.
½ June 13, 2012
This film, which faithfully adapts Oscar Wilde's droll comedy-of-errors, is a vividly rendered Technicolor delight. It's blessed to have capable and witty actors such as Michael Redgrave (Jack), Michael Denison (Algernon), Dorothy Tutin (Cecily), Joan Greenwood (Gwendolyn), and Edith Evans (Lady Bracknell). The main appeal of this story, naturally, is in its dialogue-driven narrative. The various actors are well up to the task of rendering Wilde's famous wit, so anyone fond of the writer will have a pleasant experience with this movie.
April 17, 2012
That awkward moment when you realize you've been having gay sex with your own brother.
March 27, 2012
The definitive version of Wilde's cerebral romp through Victorian -era England. It may be old, bit it's still excellent.
March 9, 2012
So witty and clever. Love it!
October 27, 2011
Despite the bad graphic design of the DVD cover, this film is quite good. Oscar Wilde's story is of course a great and unforgettable one, and the actors in this film made the humor truly come alive. I really enjoyed it and laughed out loud many times.
October 10, 2011
Wilde's exquisite dialogue is delivered to full effect in Anthony Asquith's fabulous 1952 adaptation.
Page 1 of 8