It's a Wonderful Life - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

It's a Wonderful Life Reviews

Page 1 of 4
August 31, 2012
Capra is an old-time movie craftsman, the master of every trick in the bag, and in many ways he is more at home with the medium than any other Hollywood director. But all of his details give the impression of contrived effect.
January 1, 2000
It isn't a terrible film by any means, and it's easy to see why people revere it.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
December 26, 2004
| Original Score: 2/5
May 12, 2003
It suits a lot of people, but I find it hypocritical and false.
| Original Score: 2/5
December 19, 2016
While it isn't the best picture to come out of Hollywood this year, nor is it Capra's masterpiece, it tells a good story and its conclusion has a heart-warming effect on the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 7, 2014
It's a Wonderful Life is a wonderful title for a motion picture about which practically everyone who sees it will agree that it's wonderful entertainment.
December 4, 2012
It's a Wonderful Life is about hunger. It's about greed. It's about the many ways a good man is stymied. Finally, it's about George Bailey, whose decency prevents him even from killing himself.
August 31, 2012
I wasn't able to get reasonably straight about it for quite a while. I still think it has a good deal of charm and quality, enough natural talent involved in it to make ten pictures ten times as good, and terrific vitality or, rather, vigor.
January 2, 2011
This classic delivers warmth all year long.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 24, 2013
The inspirational, thoroughly festive ending is guaranteed to bring tears to the eyes.
November 17, 2007
It ain't just hype; it really is a true holiday classic.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
December 12, 2008
If you can separate - or rescue - It's a Wonderful Life from its niche as a Christmas classic, you might discover a film that swings wildly from noirlike starkness to saccharine bathos.
Read More | Original Score: 87/100
January 1, 2000
What is remarkable about It's a Wonderful Life is how well it holds up over the years; it's one of those ageless movies, like Casablanca or The Third Man, that improves with age.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
Combine the characters, the story, the message, and the acting, and it's easy to see why It's a Wonderful Life isn't just a holiday favorite, but a great movie by almost any standards.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 20, 2003
Resistance is futile.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
September 30, 2005
As God as my witness, I get teary eyed every time Harry Bailey offers that toast to his "big brother, George. The richest man in town."
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
December 23, 2005
Not only as one of the best Christmas movies, but THE Christmas movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
November 16, 2007
Without overlooking its lapses into populist bathos, it's necessary to rescue It's a Wonderful Life from its spot at the centerpiece of untouchable American "classics."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 3, 2013
I love it, corny as it may be, because it reminds every one of us that we all make contributions to the people around us, contributions we ourselves don't even realise.
December 17, 2005
By now everyone knows Frank Capra's holiday classic and the tears it so effortlessly conjures up year after year -- but it's easy to forget how truly vicious the film is, and how brilliantly James Stewart rises to the challenge.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 4