Joan of Arc - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Joan of Arc Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 17, 2014
Ingrid Bergman as Joan gives a strong performance in an otherwise, average film. A compelling story of Joan of Arc, made me understand Joan's motives more than I did before, but film is too long for what it had. Didn't hold my interest and could of done more justice to Joan than it did.
April 7, 2014
Joan of Arc is lead by a great performance by Ingrid Bergman but lacks any compelling action or drama.
½ February 13, 2014
Captivating movie filled with drama. Inspirational, religiously enriching, heart wrenching throughout for the viewer already knows, from history. the ultimate outcome.
Emotionally draining. Five Stars! Mofak
February 13, 2014
Interesting to see the story, but it is so one dimensional and tedious. Being stuck in set after set, plastic costumes, and the endless melodrama was just too much. Bergman had her moments, but ultimately could not carry the film that was poorly written and directed. It could have been edited to half the time and gotten the same points across.
Super Reviewer
½ November 15, 2013
Bergman's Joan is good but not great. I actually thought the earlier silent Passion of Joan of Arc was far more effective in helping us understand the range of emotions that Joan went through following her calling from God.
½ October 17, 2013
Far too short to do the story any justice but Bergman was magnificent and beautiful.
½ August 5, 2013
The story of Joan of Arc is never an easy story to tell as her fate is almost like common sense. What many people may be uncertain is the road to her tragedy. Unfortunately, Fleming didn't put much effort in that and would rather depict the trial in detail in an attempt to move viewers through the injustice she received. However, given her well-informed fate, the persecution doesn't make much sympathetic resonance but tiredness instead. The film would have been even more terrible without the gorgeous Ingrid Bergman.
October 16, 2011
Very theatrical film to be taken seriously and too disconnected to be kept in mind. Ingrid Bergman is pretty overacted as Joan of Arc and, unfortunately, the film hasn't aged well. I was waiting to watch something better and more inspiring, because the real Joan of Arc story is really inspiring.
½ March 17, 2011
Typical 1940s Hollywood quasi-historical spectacle. Overly dramatic and overly long (I watched the theatrical version - 145 minutes.)
½ March 14, 2011
Ingrid Bergman preformes wonderfully as French army commander, Saint, and the most inspirational female figure in history, Joan of Arc. But the writing and rest of the preformances is just too weird.

This 1948 classic epic spans Joan's life from her revelation to meet the Dauphin, Charles VII, to her death. The first time a motion picture told the entire story and battles of Joan's life, Joan of Arc stands as a classic piece of cinema, but very dated. Based on the play "Joan of Lorraine" you can tell that a lot of the dialogue is meant and preformed by theatre actors. First off, the entire history of the times is given to you in the beginning of the movie in a conversation in like, 2 minutes. Not very suttle. This movie feels more like, and Ingrid Bergman agrees, a cheesy Hollywood history drama. Co-staring along with Bergman is Jose Ferrer in his first movie role. He and Bergman really do the best job with their lines, but the rest of the dialogue seems very unnatural, dated, and the whole view of the movie focuses on how evil the English were to be against Joan, while melodramatically praising Joan throughout.

Being 1948, it's not going to be a spectacular looking movie by today's standards, but being a technicolor movie with lots of costumes and detailed sets, this movie impressed the pants off audiences. A spectacular invision of Joan's life on and off the battlefield looks quite impressive in it's time. Costumes are impressive, sets look quite well too. Maybe not as impressive as it could have been, but still well made. being a studio movie, most all the backgrounds are just backdrops. But the mix of lighting makes everything look very nice. The music sets a very appropriate mood, portraying the feeling of every situation. The music really does paint a picture of the scene.

Winning 2 Acadeny Awards and a nomination for Bergman's preformance, this movie isn't all that bad. It might be a very old Hollywood portrayal of Joan that tends to get annoying, but compared to the rest of the Joan of Arc movies out there, this stands as one of the best and most influencial in it's portrayal of Joan.
½ February 28, 2011
I love the trial part of the movie, it really shows the way they lied and treated her so poorly. Torture and then death to get what they wanted. She was a strong, smart girl and the movie is really well done!
January 23, 2011
Como en el Mago de Oz, Victor Fleming se muestra aquí demasiado teatral para mi gusto, aunque mucho más digerible que la versión Alemana no termina de convencerme, ni siquiera la actuación de la grandiosa Ingrid Bergman. Tanto colorido no representaba para mi el verdadero interior del personaje principal: Juana de Arco, aunque creo que resuelta de una forma muy inteligente y al final con su momento de desesperación bastante atractivo, de verdad parecía que estaba enloqueciendo por sus noches sin dormir. No me agradó ver tanto fundido a negro, pero supongo que es parte del estilo del director.
October 17, 2010
A masterful film chronicling the life of St. Joan...with Ingrid illuminating the woman who has captured the hearts and souls of the French for centuries, and Victor Fleming at his best as director. Finally restored after being drastically altered in length, this version is how it was originally intended. A truly inspirational tale of a young woman, a desperate nation, and a faith that defied even the spectre of death.....too bad I cannot give it six stars.
½ October 5, 2010
"To live without faith is more terrible than the fire, more terrible than dying young. I have nothing more to do here. Send me back to God from whom I came." A flashy, overlong production that achieves some stunning scenes between stretches of mixed-up accents or Joan punctuating every sentence with 'God!' When the cameras zoom in, though, there's acting magic to spare. Bonus points for costumes and set design, demerits for using theater combat in a movie melee.
September 22, 2010
Brilliant Film About A True Christian Saint.
August 24, 2010
Ingrid Bergman does a lovely job as Joan of Arc. She gets those moments of religious rapture on her face and you totally believe that she is Saint Joan. Not the most historically accurate movie, but Ingrid Bergman makes it so you don't really care.
½ November 19, 2009
**1/2 (out of four)

Disappointing and version of the story of Joan of Arc with Ingrid Bergman doing her best to own the role and only being somewaht successful.

The main problem may be that the film doesn't date very well. It doesn't seem like a timeless tale, but rather is caught up in 1940's over sentimentality.
½ June 20, 2009
it was OK, but it was a 40's movie
February 20, 2009
it has been years since i have seen this movie I'm going to have to see it again because i believe it was a great movie
January 27, 2009
Great movie! it is such an inspirational movie!!!!
Page 1 of 3