The King and I - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The King and I Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 10, 2012
Starring Yul Brynner in the part he seemed born to play, this is a fine if slightly stage-bound example of the 1950s Hollywood musical spectacular.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 9, 2011
A beautiful film with a score I didn't much care for.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 18, 2010
A boisterous, big-costumed classic musical.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 26, 2009
All the ingredients that made Rodgers & Hammerstein's The King and I a memorable stage experience have been faithfully transferred to the screen.
January 29, 2009
Walter Lang's screen version is too theatrical but the score by Rodgers and Hammerstein is glorious and the acting by Yul Brynner in his most iconic role and Deborah Kerr is superb, overcoming Marnie Nixon's colorless voice.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 7, 2008
| Original Score: 4/5
February 27, 2007
A chronicle of colonialism that poses itself as an easy-to-dismiss artifact, yet reveals itself to be an enduring statement about why people can't get along.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
December 30, 2006
The popular pick for the best Rodgers and Hammerstein musical is probably The Sound of Music, but I'm throwing in for The King and I.
| Original Score: 5/5
August 26, 2006
The King and I (1956) is the popular and elaborate musical and story of the tutoring of the stubborn, King of Siam's wives and children by widowed English school teacher Anna Leonowens in 1862.
February 9, 2006
Over-long but visually spectacular.
February 25, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
December 21, 2004
| Original Score: 4/5
October 23, 2004
Tuneful, mesmerizing (Brynner) R&H musical
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
September 17, 2004
Classic performances, classic score, the best Rodgers & Hammerstein screen adaptation.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
September 3, 2004
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
July 18, 2004
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
July 14, 2004
Lovely filming of a classic Rodgers and Hammerstein show
| Original Score: 4/5
April 20, 2004
Sumptuously outfitted and well acted, if a little silly and a tad impolitic.
| Original Score: 3/5
August 17, 2003
This isn't Thailand, it's Hollywood's version of it on a sound stage, so the sets are at the same time more extravagant and more fake than they should be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 20, 2003
If you don't...see [The King and I], believe us, you'll be missing a grand and moving thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 2