Laura - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Laura Reviews

Page 2 of 38
½ December 13, 2015
Laura is a handsome movie, bathed in a classy, smoky atmosphere, but more important than its aesthetic prowess is its complexity. The plot is very creative and unpredictable, the characters are unusual and intriguing and I'll have to watch the film again to catch all the nuances of this film. It's narrative structure and character development are fantastic, but it's dialogue also had an acidic wit, many of the characters were charming and Gene Tierney is incredibly beautiful in this movie, even though I didn't connect with her character emotionally to a great degree.
Super Reviewer
½ December 13, 2015
A good whodunit noir that, despite a plot weakened by contrivances (the worst being the detective falling in love with a dead woman's portrait), is memorable mostly because of David Raksin's score and the film's great dialogue (with Clifton Webb, fantastic, getting the most cynical, priceless lines).
November 28, 2015
never in a million years, would i have expected to find Vincent Price so dashing. as he creeped me out all throughout my childhood.
½ November 27, 2015
Laura is a brilliant work that truly stands the test of time due to its engrossing plot, terrific acting, great direction, great cinematography, and brilliant look at the pitfalls of obsession. A classic noir in every right, Laura grabs you from the very beginning and leaves you guessing as to who really pulled the trigger. Laura is timeless.
½ November 12, 2015
Otto Preminger's breezy noir is a chilling suspense piece powered by good ol' fashioned character depth and brittle vocal exchanges. Laura is a film of fabulous form and function. But its leading lady is film noir's first anti-femme fatale - and in this setup, she simply doesn't work.
Before we meet her, Laura is painted as an enchantress: the living embodiment of fascination and desire. When we meet her, in the form of Gene Tierney's doe-eyed teeny bopper, she doesn't quite deliver the goods. Preminger sees her as a quietly pretty Dorian Gray but, in this genre, with all the men running rings around her, she needs to be more of a sly Lauren Bacall.
Laura is the central subject of the plot, but Tierney becomes faceless and forgotten in view of Clifton Webb's stiff, manipulative Waldo; the movie's real narrative agent. Even an un-moustachioed Vincent Price suppressing his signature drawl has more stage presence than poor little Laura.
The film's melodramatic plot is characterised by a peculiar air of carelessness, which only adds to the intrigue, and Preminger's picture is, in every which way, a smouldering slow-burner with bags of character. It's just a shame that the same can't be said for its miscast and mis-written leading lady.
November 3, 2015
Easily one of the top five film noirs of all time.
½ October 22, 2015
Such a good noir romance!!
October 16, 2015
To know Laura is to love Laura, even to the detective investigating her murder.
½ October 8, 2015
Very clever potboiler with some very unforgetful performances.
½ October 5, 2015
Laura is such a great noir film with a well crafted plot, sophisticated dialogue, superb acting across the board and well depicted relationships and motifs of the characters. It may be predictable at times, but it is still an incredibly well directed and shot movie with a lot to offer and it is one of the finest noirs out there.
September 17, 2015
"Laura" gives nothing away, and makes for a good watch.
½ September 7, 2015
I was actually surprised by the revelation of the killer, which is rare for me. I loved the final scene and the mystery throughout the entire film. It has been a very long time since I have seen such a greatly thought out mystery.
August 18, 2015
Concise, gorgeously filmed, classic noir.
June 6, 2015
87%
Watched this on 06/06/15
Laura is a cat and mouse game at it's finest, utilizing a technique of making everyone the suspect. It has brisk pace and is extremely effective in making the audience question each and every single second. But however, it's small running time derives it of much of the necessary character development or emotional attachment. The biggest duds here are Laura and especially Det. McPherson who are extremely underutilized. The characters of Shelby and Ms Ann are well drawn and actor Vincent Price gives a convincing performance as Shelby. Clifton Webb also provides a nuanced performance.
½ June 6, 2015
Less a crime film than a study in levels of obsession, Laura is one of those classic works that leave their subject matter behind and live on the strength of their seductive style. With Dana Andrews as the detective, Gene Tierney as the lady in the portrait, and Clifton Webb as the epicene litterateur.
May 18, 2015
Laura is the film that has everything that you can look for in a film noir, intrigue, a tortuous plot, a bad mannered cop but clever at the same time, a precious lady called "dame" by the cop, and some exquisite dialogues especially when Mr. Waldo Lydecker is involved.
May 6, 2015
An absolute must see for all mystery and or film noir fans. An engrossing story and unforgettable score sets this film apart. Great acting by Clifton Webb...Gene Tierney....Vincent Price...and many others. An all time great!
Page 2 of 38