The Lone Ranger - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Lone Ranger Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ January 19, 2014
A rewarding western--....and a Hearty Hi-Ho Silver!!
December 20, 2013
At 35, without having seen a Lone Ranger tv show or movie, I was highly entertainined.
December 14, 2013
This is with the original TV cast, Clayton Moore as the Ranger and Jay Silverheels as Tonto. Well done, dramatic, action packed, and compelling, it includes villains Lyle Bettger and Robert Wilke. The opening narration leading to the William Tell Overture theme is one of the great movie openings.
½ May 19, 2013
Was on Sat morning pics when I was a child as half hr serials,has a place in my heart
November 9, 2012
Compared with the television series, THE LONE RANGER looked like an epic production with Technicolor to ramp everything up. The budget exceeded the television series, and the villains are a slimy lot of dastards. The Lone Ranger behaves in his usual virtuous manner, but the villains put him to the test. He battles a muscle-bound brute of an Indian, has his head creased by a bullet, and saves Tonto from a necktie party. In other words, THE LONE RANGER comes packed with action along with the usual cowboy racism. The white settlers hate the red native Americans. Cattle baron Reece Kilgore (Lyle Bettger of GUNFIGHT AT THE O.K. CORRAL) frames the Native Americans with several crimes because he wants an Indian uprising. Kilgore regards the land on which the Indian Reservation lies as ripe for the taking. What most people don't know is that the land is rich with mineral wealth. The action is fast, and THE LONE RANGER never wears out its welcome at 80 minutes.
½ June 12, 2012
The movie could have used a little more background on Tonto and The Lone Ranger, even though there was already the TV show in production. It feels like an expanded episode, but the story of corrupt cowboys is just what The Lone Ranger fights against and it is a fun 90 minutes.

Grade: B+
½ June 4, 2012
When people accuse old Hollywood westerns as being racist in their depiction of Native Americans, this is the type of film they were talking about. This film version of "The Lone Ranger" TV show expands the scope of the series, but besides it's offensive depiction of native people, it's also an awfully cornball and silly story. However, The Lone Ranger is a character intended for children, so I suppose the cartoony story can be excused (even if the racism cannot) and the action is exciting in a Saturday Matinee sort of way, with Clayton Moore doing many of his own stunt work. Probably only worth watching for die hard fans of the TV show.
½ May 13, 2012
Clayton Moore lived this role
July 3, 2011
The Lone Ranger at his best.
July 3, 2011
The Lone Ranger at his best.
Super Reviewer
March 27, 2009
The Lone Ranger has to be one of western's classic characters. This may have been filmed back in the 50's but is still enjoyable to watch today. The Lone Ranger, Tonto, Hi Ho Silver away are stuck in pop culture. Plus the Lone Ranger theme music is a classic tune. The Lone Ranger is a classic western super hero.
½ March 3, 2009
Clayton Moore lived this role
Super Reviewer
August 11, 2008
Yet, another action packed chapter in the life of The Lone Ranger and his faithful companion Tonto.
½ May 17, 2008
Was on Sat morning pics when I was a child as half hr serials,has a place in my heart
May 16, 2008
This is a good movie
½ April 11, 2008
Great, goofy fun! Hi-Yo Silver, Away!
½ March 25, 2008
This movie could have been better... but then again, I do not really care for westerns...
Page 1 of 1