Mirage - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mirage Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 21, 2015
"If you're not committed to anything, you're just taking up space!"
½ April 20, 2015
Fun Hitchcockian thriller with a Hitchcockian lead by Peck. Great supporting cast helps propel the story along, Weston is fantastic as a hitman and Matthau is his usual sterling self as a repairman turned PI.
April 19, 2015
B-level Hitchcockian thriller that is fine, but not essential viewing.
April 19, 2015
Good but not Hitchcock.
April 17, 2015
dark n dazzling thriller plus ive seen all Peck pixxxxx
April 8, 2013
This is really an underappreciated Hitchcock-like thriller. The cast is AMAZING: get this for a lineup...Gregory Peck, Walter Matthau, Diane Baker, Leif Ericksson, Kevin McCarthy, Jack Weston. George Kennedy. Really well-done, and shot entirely in New York.
Super Reviewer
½ April 5, 2013
A solid B-list thriller, with a great score by Quincy Jones, a typically wooden but effective performance from Gregory Peck, and a wonderful turn by Walter Matthau as a low rent private dick.
½ July 26, 2012
an underrated classic
½ June 22, 2012
A very Hitchcockian thriller--Marvellous Mirage!!
May 19, 2012
A fantastic thriller with great acting and well paced. This kind of thriller was no stranger to Gregory Peck who played an amnesiac in Alfred Hitchcock's "Spellbound" in 1945. But he still did great in this movie. He received excellent support from Diane Baker as well as Walter Matthau. Cinematographer Joesph MacDonald did an outstanding job photographing the movie in Black and White making the images razor sharp. I can't forget Quincy Jones who provided a terrific and thrilling score for the film which I believe without it, the film wouldn't have been what it was. Check it out sometime.
½ December 14, 2011
The ending kept it a half a star from a full four stars. Oh well, still a good story.
November 23, 2011
Gregory Peck and Walther Matthau in this mystery of an accountant not remembering who he is -- definitely a classic
November 18, 2011
A fine mystery follow-up in the vein of Charade, with many amnesia driven twists and turns. TCM has packaged a nice DVD reproduction of this forgotten Gregory Peck psychological thriller.
November 10, 2011
A clever film, reminiscent of Spellbound and North By Northwest, told rather in a back-to-front way akin to Memento, and about as good as any of them. Some snappy lines and decent cinematography go to make this an enjoyable mystery thriller.
½ November 9, 2011
Medically Iffy but Intriguing

The movie very helpfully provides us with an actual medical professional, or at least an in-universe professional, to tell us what is and isn't medically possible as far as amnesia. Amnesia is a popular plot device in fiction, because it explains a lot. If you need to have a reason for a character not to know anything about something they should know everything about, well, amnesia's your answer. It's a fun dramatic tool. And so forth. And amnesia is actually a real thing, too. However, amnesia as it appears in the movies and on TV, not so much. I won't say that amnesia as it appears in this movie is necessarily one hundred percent accurate, though Gods know I'm not an expert on the subject, but it's a lot closer. There's also a lot more about how amnesia doesn't work, which is pretty rare. Though I suppose Hitchcock gave us an unnecessary little psychological spiel six years earlier (or five, if you believe IMDB) in [i]Psycho[/i].

Charles Calvin (Walter Abel), famous humanitarian, has thrown himself out of a very high window. The power to the building has been cut at the same time. David Stillwell (Gregory Peck) finds himself on that same floor, waiting to go down to the street. He decides to take the stairs, where he meets Shela (Diane Baker). They have a pleasant chat until they reach street level, light, and Shela's recognition of David. Only he doesn't recognize her. Slowly, he realizes that there are great big holes in his memory, holes that go back two years. An esteemed psychologist, Dr. Broden (Robert H. Harris), tells him that what he's describing is impossible. It turns out that Shela knows something she isn't telling him, and to find out what's going on, David hires Ted Caselle (Walter Matthau), a detective who, it turns out, has never worked a case before. Used to be a refrigerator repairman. And, of course, he doesn't believe what David is telling him. And then, people start dying.

For some reason, I can't believe that this movie was made in the '60s. Peter Stone, the screenwriter, wrote it as his follow-up to [i]Charade[/i], yet this feels like the kind of movie Gregory Peck would have been doing in the '40s, when he was first breaking into the business. B&W was still a going concern in '66, but just barely. It was, in fact, the last year that separate Oscars were given for B&W and colour cinematography, art design and costume design; it was getting too hard to find five nominees in the B&W category. ([i]Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?[/i] won all three.) At this point, B&W became a thing of nostalgia instead of active use. Just over a decade earlier, Gregory Peck was in my all-time favourite movie, which to this day comes across as vibrant and up-to-date. However, this movie feels dated and older than [i]Roman Holiday[/i]. It's weird, and I feel there has to be more to it than the filming, but there we are.

It's also true that the plot kind of doesn't make any sense. At any rate, it seems to be another one of those movies where no one knew quite how to end it. It is about the last ten or fifteen minutes which make the least sense. It's all about the inherent decency of humanity and how some people are able to ignore that for great heaps of cash or some such, and it's where David figures out who he is and why things are the way they are. And that's great, and I guess the theory makes some vague kind of sense. But only vaguely, and there's a lot which doesn't really connect. It feels like it's another one of those movies where they're trying to make a Serious Point, and it got shoehorned in any way they could manage. And of course the Big Secret doesn't work with known physics--and you certainly wouldn't be able to fit it all on a single sheet of paper. So, you know, whatever. It's not exactly an intricate plot even leading up to that, I'll admit, and it doesn't entirely fall apart. But close enough.

Gregory Peck made better movies, Gods know, but I'm not sure anyone could have made this movie better than he did. We the audience have to believe David Stillwell. We can never be convinced that he truly did wrong--and of course, the kicker is that even after [i]he[/i] believes he did, we are still destined to learn that he didn't. There is no one in Hollywood history quite like Gregory Peck; perhaps Jimmy Stewart, but I'm not sure we could believe Jimmy Stewart in certain other aspects of the character. These days, I think we're supposed to be believing Tom Hanks as similar roles in a Dan Brown kind of way, though I haven't watched those movies. Because Dan Brown. But the fact is, I will watch a whole lot of garbage in the hopes of finding a forgotten Gregory Peck gem. I think he was one of the greatest actors in Hollywood history. I also have a minor fondness for Diane Baker, who was also, the year before, pining after Sean Connery for Hitchcock in [i]Marnie[/i].
August 18, 2010
A Hitchcockian thriller that doesn't quite work.
July 13, 2010
I had vague memories of having seen this as a child. The only thing I remembered was the ending -- and it will stay with you. The underlying conspiracy is only mildly convincing, and rather dates the film. It feels a bit like a cross between "Charade" and "Spellbound," with a bit of "Dr. Strangelove" thrown in for good measure, but the performances, direction, and dialogue are all above average. The predominance of television actors (Diane Baker, Kevin McCarthy, Leif Erickson) does make it feel a bit like a made-for-t.v. movie, but only initially.
½ March 9, 2010
Excellent mind bender from the 60's. It feels very contemporary, like a Nolan or Shymalan film or the recent film Shutter Island. If you enjoy their films check this early classic out.
December 11, 2009
Even the bit parts are uniformly well-acted here, and of all things the editing really stood out - the flashbacks were really put to good use. The premise here is great, but the big reveal is definitely a bit of a let down. This is one of those mysteries where you're likely not going to be able to guess the ending by looking for clues, so when everything is finally explained too much of what led up to the finale seems extraneous.
½ September 20, 2009
**1/2 (out of four)

Gregory Peck and Diane Baker star in this thriller about a businessman who has amnesia and can't figure out why there are men following him, wanting to kill him.

Okay, but mostly an underwhelming attempt to copy Hitchcock.
Page 1 of 2