Mutiny on the Bounty - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mutiny on the Bounty Reviews

Page 3 of 10
March 17, 2011
"Do you really want to spend your life with a man who does not care for anything on this earth???"
March 6, 2011
A classic and three hours of movie history.
February 19, 2011
While the second half of the movie wasn't as strong as the first, it's still a great movie. Recommended.
February 15, 2011
1935 version much better than this bloated film
November 23, 2010
Really, the only reason to see this film would be to see where special effects were at during this time, as the script is very blunt, the characters are all stereotyped and the actual set design of the ship is bare bones.
November 8, 2010
Great movie starts Marlon Brando as Fletcher, on a mission from england to negotiate with the locals of Tahiti for some breadfruit plants and other. What turns to be a very simple yet pleasure mission ends up being a hardship against his commanding officer Blight due to the mutiny that his was dealing to his own crew just to accomplish the mission. Are the lives of his men worth more than his mission? What are the costs?
September 28, 2010
Historical inaccuracies aside, this is a good film. I'm a huge fan of getting it right, so I have a hard time giving it more than three stars. But it's a good family film. Great cinematography. Fine performances by Trevor Howard and Marlon Brando. Although Brando was burned at the stake for his "affluent and snobby attempt at a British accent" with the critics upon the movie's release. It is long though. Nearly 3 hours. Fix yourself a big bowl of popcorn and settle in for an entire afternoon of Hollywood adventure in the South Seas.
August 22, 2010
Epic movie. Marlon Brando is always amazing.
August 2, 2010
Gran producción, buena dirección de arte y bellos vestuarios, la fotografia es exquisita, la forma de fotografiar el barco tantas veces y que cada una paresca diferente es asombrosa, lamentablemente nadie se recuerda de esta produccion debido a que fue opacada por Lawrence of Arabia, pero eso no quiere decir que esta produccion no tenga merito.

Al principio no me convencia Brando en el papel de Mr. Christian, pero mientras va pasando la pelicula, cada vez convence mas, luce muy bien con el vestuario, la actitud que pone en el personaje es perfecta y no es como ninguno de los otros grandes personajes de Brando, se diferencia de los personajes que solia interpretar ya que este es educado, articulado y ademas pinta, pero de los anteriores adjetivos talvéz el mas notorio sea el que es articulado, Marlon Brando fue acusado de muchas cosas menos de eso, es famoso su tartamudeo y como trataba las palabras en los dientes, al principio su voz, parece ser el principal obstaculo, pero el lo maneja muy bien para que sea convincente, sin dejar de ser el, y asi ser natural.-
Super Reviewer
June 30, 2010
Booooring, I didn't even bother to watch disc two.
½ June 28, 2010
The attempt for realistic portrayal was tangible, and well achieved. The persuasion of Christian's movement towards higher virtues (the desire to sail the ship back to England, sacrificing a rather paradisiacal life on an unknown island with a beautiful, Tahitian bride), not as much. Overall, a thrill.
June 26, 2010
A miscast Marlon Brando and excessive length doesn't distract too much from epic cinematography, a magnificent score, and a stellar performance from Trevor Howard.
½ June 14, 2010
A pretty okay film although it did seem to drag on a bit. Brando of course does a real fine acting job, minus the bad British accent.
½ May 21, 2010
A movie that doesn't quite hold up to the Clark Cable film, but its still a very well done adaptation. I must admit that Brando's version was more entertaining in comparison.
May 2, 2010
Historically inaccurate retelling of the mutiny which is, nonetheless, extremely entertaining. The film is marvellously colourful, Marlon Brando's accent seemed fine to me, and he commanded every scene in which he appeared.
April 30, 2010
wow umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch......its got a good cast of actors/actressess thorughout this movie....i think that hugh griffith, marlon brando, richard harris, trevor howard, tarita, richard haydn play good roles/parts thorughout this movie....i think that marlon brando/trevor howard were brilliant throughout this movie....i think that the director of this adventure/thriller movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie....this is an enjoyable/entertaining movie 2 watch with a good cast throughout this movie n its a good sea adventure movie
Super Reviewer
March 10, 2010
I enjoyed this movie way more then I thought I would.Trevor Howard & Marlon Brando were great as Captain Bligh & Officer Fletcher
½ February 25, 2010
Not a bad movie by any measure, but I'm glad this type of film died out in the sixties.
½ February 24, 2010
Epic isn't the word for this 178 minute movie. Marlon Brando is brilliant as Fletcher Christian, as Trevor Howard is as Bligh. Colourful and ambitiously shot, this is a beautiful Roadshow epic, but it suffers from this in parts.

The music has a bombastic and yet low tone to it, leaving the audience with a sense of viewing a mature epic, and not just another MGM blockbuster.

Use of the wide angle 70mm lenses seem to prevent any real close ups and the film is almost epic for epic's sake. But it works well, and is entertaining. It is no Ben Hur and the 1984 version, "The Bounty" is still better in my view, but this is certainly the grandest voyage of the Bounty you're ever likely to see.
Page 3 of 10