My Man Godfrey - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Man Godfrey Reviews

Page 1 of 27
February 15, 2017
Definitely was a film you have to watch all the way through to completely appreciate (as you should with all films). Mid way through this one, I really didn't have much interest, that was until the mystery behind Godfrey started to take the center stage and became really interesting. Once i finished the film I was a pretty big fan of it. Great acting all around and a great story.
January 25, 2017
The best part of My Man Godfrey is the comedic timing of William Powell, and the wacky exploits of the Bullock family. It's such a silly premise, that a rich socialite would hire a vagrant as her butler. But when the vagrant is played by the charming Powell, and the family is as insane as this one, suddenly the movie starts to make sense. There's so much charm coming from this movie. Mostly because it comes from a time when great comedy was about quality writing, instead of the standard sloppy improvisation and/or crass "jokes" we get nowadays. I love how they just throw away funny one-liners as if they didn't even say anything special. My only struggle with this movie is a strange turn that they make about halfway through with Powell's character. It took away from the plot of the film for me somewhat. It wasn't a deal-breaker, but I think My Man Godfrey could have done without that heaping helping of coincidence. Still, it's a quality film that I would recommend to fans of classic comedies.
January 8, 2017
With such a stellar script, sophisticated and hilarious dialogue, phenomenal humor as the movie consistently made me laugh and such outstanding performances from Alice Brady, Carole Lombard and William Powell, My Man Godfrey is an undisputed classic and one of the finest screwball comedies that is always funny and charming, yet smart and so polished technically too. It features characters that are all memorable, likable and funny and the film is almost flawless in execution and just brilliant.
Super Reviewer
½ December 19, 2016
A witty political satire that will probably leave you smiling more than laughing out loud, especially when showing the hilarious eccentricities of its crazy family, and it boasts some wonderful, Oscar-nominated performances by Powell, Lombard and Brady.
November 4, 2016
A wonderful timeless classic comedy that everybody should see. William Powell is superb as Godfrey in this moving tale of redemption. An outstanding movie all around. (First and only viewing - 11/7/2012)
½ October 20, 2016
A Depression-era screwballer, "My Man Godfrey" filled the screen with joy and laughter during a period when people needed it the most.
October 15, 2016
A surprisingly funny, witty comedy that doesn't shy away from the dark times of the Great Depression and is very innovative in the gender roles of the time, which is also surprising.
September 13, 2016
Great movie. Excellent William Powell.
Screwball comedy.
½ September 6, 2016
Witty screwball comedy, with William Powell's down-and-out Godfrey coming to serve as butler for a family of high society eccentrics, as the young, socialite daughter (Carole Lombard) falls for him. The leads have nice chemistry together in this satirical, Depression-era romp, but you don't really pull for their romance since Lombard's character is essentially a good-natured flake, and Powell seems mostly exasperated by her. Still, 'Godfrey' is breezy and charming.
½ August 16, 2016
Why aren't William Powell and Carol Lombard remembered as fondly as other stars of their time? You can't take your eyes off them onscreen. The wit of this script is astounding!
July 21, 2016
This movie is so beautifully executed. Funny and smart. Keeps you with a smile on the face all the way through
July 1, 2016
My Man Godfrey is one of those screw all comedies that's almost not a screwball comedy. The reason I say this is because it takes all of the tropes and conventions in a screwball comedy and plays with them to point where they're almost worn out. But in a good way. Each and every character in the film has a purpose, and the actors who play those character play them well. By the end of the film, each character has transformed to someone the audience can love. Bitter and hateful Cornelia is sweet and lovable. While Irene is utterly annoying throughout the film, she grows on the audience. The film, while it seems a little trite at first, ends up being fresh and original.
May 9, 2016
A perfect film. The best of the screwball comedies.
March 14, 2016
Loved this 1930'a Screwball Comedy, wish I had seen it sooner. Great writing and fantastic performances. It's really funny, I will certainly be watching it again. Check it out!
January 19, 2016
There's something delightful about the dysfunctional Bullock family. This is a light, tightly contained screwball of a comedy full of wonderful repartee and memorable performances. Ever the professionals, there's no denying the chemistry between Lombard and Powell. Perhaps the little gem of an insert into this movie was Carlo (played by Mischa Auer). I love how his perceived uselessness adds an extra layer of funny to each already ridiculously funny scene he's in.
November 23, 2015
This screwball comedy certainly had me laughing on numerous occasions. Although the ending comes on rather quickly, this classic film features a clever screenplay (which is so fast paced it is easy to miss some one-liners) and excellent performances (Brady is hilarious). AAN 1001
½ October 17, 2015
At the time this movie was made,1936, a person in William Powell's character Godfrey's situation would usually be referred to as a hobo, I think. Godfrey lives with his fellow hobos in a dump blithely unaware that Roosevelt's social programs could help them all out of their predicament. Instead, Godfrey rescues Carole Lombard from a predicament whose reward normally would be a thank you and not being offered a job as head butler. So I guess unless Lombard is PWA representative he still isn't seeking help from the government, how very Hooverian of him! The thing about Lombard is that she dresses so er, beautifully. I probably shouldn't write that since her choice in attire seems to have been adopted by the porn industry mostly, just a fact I stumbled upon while shopping for clothes nothing about myself personally.
On the job, Godfrey succeeds in one upping his employer and her friends and gives hope to his old cronies at the garbage dump that maybe, just maybe, one of them, just one of them. might not need the New Deal, which according to Godfrey isn't a big deal.
Hollywood has done it again. Although people in Godfrey's situation wouldn't go to the movies, people on the brink of being in Godfrey's situation would, and since they then composed the majority of the US population, what marketing skills! And whose tuckus would it be better to kiss?
½ September 20, 2015
Provides just enough wit and laughter to make it a must see for cinephiles everywhere.
½ September 20, 2015
Considered the quintessential screwball comedy, it was the first one to be nominated for four categories at the Oscars. Featuring a droll and stern William Powell, he is a "forgotten man", down on his luck and living in a garbage dump when he is propositioned by a duo of rich heiresses. They want him for a scavenger hunt, and he offends the sassier older sister Cornelia. Instead he goes with the younger and loving Irene, who then hires him as a family butler. There's more to Godfrey than meets the eye, and he ends up changing this extremely dysfunctional family from within. They change him as well, and there's plenty of heartwarming moments as well as hilarious ones. Its the excellent characterization and dialogue that makes for a strong film.
½ July 14, 2015
Screwball comedy from the 1930s features a homeless man with a secret past becoming the butler to a crazy family. Movie is funny and hold up pretty well in spite of being very much of it's time....but a good cast and a swift comedic pace keep it working pretty well in this day and age. Maybe I'm just a sucker for the classics, particularly the 30s.
Page 1 of 27