Night of the Living Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Night of the Living Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 6, 2007
Seldom have so many pundit parses and public praises owed so much to so little as in the case of the career-launching 'Night of the Living Dead.'
May 20, 2003
The dialogue and background music sound hollow, as if they had been recorded in an empty swimming pool, and the wobbly camera seems to have a fetishist's interest in hands.
February 7, 2011
"Night of the Living Dead" became a seminal film without being a particularly good one. It nudged horror movies away from creepy-but-family-friendly into adult films featuring gruesome violence and nihilistic overtones.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 19, 2007
I felt real terror in that neighborhood theater last Saturday afternoon. I saw kids who had no resources they could draw upon to protect themselves from the dread and fear they felt.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 7, 2013
Director George A Romero redefined the meaning of horror for fear-sated audiences in the 1960s with this seminal classic.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 12, 2004
The grandaddy of them all. Created a whole new genre'
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
August 7, 2002
| Original Score: 5/5
August 2, 2007
This is horror at its most probing, subversive and socially aware, with a truly harrowing ending that reveals the dangers of misdirected fear and prejudice.
October 7, 2013
If [Romero's] original vision of the undead looks dulled by today's standards, his embedded political commentary on racism feels just as sharp.
July 4, 2015
Carve[s] open the guts of American culture, using violence and even the horror genre itself as a tool rather than an end.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
February 5, 2010
Romero saw the enemy, and they are the zombie masses among us. There is nowhere safe to hide.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
December 15, 2010
Oft-copied zombie classic is still intense and gory.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 25, 2004
Night of the Living Dead happens to rank squarely with the greatest films ever made, period.
October 14, 2012
It's pitch perfect in writing, mood, and scares, and still holds up to scrutiny, no matter how harsh.
January 23, 2013
Subjects us to the kind of unrelenting nightmare we only wish we could wake up from.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
October 3, 2008
Although pic's basic premise is repellent -- recently dead bodies are resurrected and begin killing human beings in order to eat their flesh -- it is in execution that the film distastefully excels.
March 12, 2002
This disc is done right!
| Original Score: 4/5
January 26, 2006
Chuckle, if you can, during the first few minutes; because after that laughter catches in the throat as the clammy hand of terror tightens its grip.
August 16, 2002
| Original Score: 5/5
August 7, 2002
I can't underrate its intangible ability to bypass my rationale and lunge straight at my subconscious. When it's really cooking, it's the scariest film I've ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 3