Night of the Living Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Night of the Living Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Donald J. Levit
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
November 6, 2007
Seldom have so many pundit parses and public praises owed so much to so little as in the case of the career-launching 'Night of the Living Dead.'
Top Critic
Vincent Canby
New York Times
May 20, 2003
The dialogue and background music sound hollow, as if they had been recorded in an empty swimming pool, and the wobbly camera seems to have a fetishist's interest in hands.
Christopher Lloyd
Sarasota Herald-Tribune
February 7, 2011
"Night of the Living Dead" became a seminal film without being a particularly good one. It nudged horror movies away from creepy-but-family-friendly into adult films featuring gruesome violence and nihilistic overtones.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
September 19, 2007
I felt real terror in that neighborhood theater last Saturday afternoon. I saw kids who had no resources they could draw upon to protect themselves from the dread and fear they felt.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Alan Jones
Radio Times
October 7, 2013
Director George A Romero redefined the meaning of horror for fear-sated audiences in the 1960s with this seminal classic.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review
December 12, 2004
The grandaddy of them all. Created a whole new genre'
| Original Score: 4/5
Scott Weinberg
eFilmCritic.com
August 7, 2002
| Original Score: 5/5
Anton Bitel
Eye for Film
August 2, 2007
This is horror at its most probing, subversive and socially aware, with a truly harrowing ending that reveals the dangers of misdirected fear and prejudice.
Top Critic
Amos Barshad
New York Magazine/Vulture
October 7, 2013
If [Romero's] original vision of the undead looks dulled by today's standards, his embedded political commentary on racism feels just as sharp.
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
July 4, 2015
Carve[s] open the guts of American culture, using violence and even the horror genre itself as a tool rather than an end.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
February 5, 2010
Romero saw the enemy, and they are the zombie masses among us. There is nowhere safe to hide.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
Charles Cassady
Common Sense Media
December 15, 2010
Oft-copied zombie classic is still intense and gory.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
May 25, 2004
Night of the Living Dead happens to rank squarely with the greatest films ever made, period.
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
October 14, 2012
It's pitch perfect in writing, mood, and scares, and still holds up to scrutiny, no matter how harsh.
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
January 23, 2013
Subjects us to the kind of unrelenting nightmare we only wish we could wake up from.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
Top Critic
Variety Staff
Variety
October 3, 2008
Although pic's basic premise is repellent -- recently dead bodies are resurrected and begin killing human beings in order to eat their flesh -- it is in execution that the film distastefully excels.
Christopher Null
Filmcritic.com
March 12, 2002
This disc is done right!
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Nigel Floyd
Time Out
January 26, 2006
Chuckle, if you can, during the first few minutes; because after that laughter catches in the throat as the clammy hand of terror tightens its grip.
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
August 16, 2002
| Original Score: 5/5
Jeremy Heilman
MovieMartyr.com
August 7, 2002
I can't underrate its intangible ability to bypass my rationale and lunge straight at my subconscious. When it's really cooking, it's the scariest film I've ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 3