The Postman Always Rings Twice - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Postman Always Rings Twice Reviews

Page 2 of 14
February 2, 2013
Todo el mundo la conoce menos yo, me gustaria verla
December 7, 2012
Jack is always GOOD...
November 30, 2012
A twisted romance set in the 20's showing an aspect of highway life I did not expect. It was driven by Model T's, passion and tragic justice. It made me look forward to seeing the original. It says rated PG, but it was most likely a type o. Huston's cameo was interesting.
½ November 21, 2012
great it was actually better than what I expected, I actually want this movie on DVD, It starred Jack Nicholson, Jessica Lange and Christopher Lloyd, good movie, it was great
September 29, 2012
Extremely boring version of the acclaimed novel by James Cain. I was expecting much more from this film but after it finished I was totally underwhelmed. Interesting to watch only to compare it with the much better 1946 version!
September 28, 2012
Not nearly as good as I thought it was going to be. But fine performances from a fine actor and a fine actress.
September 18, 2012
Unlikeable characters in a miserable world with a nasty story and few redeeming features :(
September 10, 2012
Now i know y i hate Jack Nicholson..For being yet annoying again in another movie..VEry long detials in this movie with no use..and the relationship of the two can i say lovers?!..is just tooo weird and complicated...The movie goes from subject to another different subject making you sooo confused..and the end was just toooo annoying and stupid..maybe the moral is u kill, u steal at za end u get nothing!..
Three stars for the amazing Jessica Lang and her good performance..
June 17, 2012
A sexed-up but unnecessary remake that's more wrong-footed in the casting of the character, Frank Chambers, and too speedy in it's plot developments to actually evoke an emotional involvement that the original did so well at. Though, it's attention to detail is ace in terms of the period.
Nicholson's Frank Chambers is too mean, perverse and calculated, while John Garfield's character was more of a lumbering, loving opportunist. Whereas, the casting of Jessica Lange is spot on, with her delivering a excellent performance.
June 17, 2012
A sexed-up but unnecessary remake that's more wrong-footed in the casting of the character, Frank Chambers, and too speedy in it's plot developments to actually evoke an emotional involvement that the original did so well at. Though, it's attention to detail is ace in terms of the period.
Nicholson's Frank Chambers is too mean, perverse and calculated, while John Garfield's character was more of a lumbering, loving opportunist. Whereas, the casting of Jessica Lange is spot on, with her delivering a excellent performance.
½ May 13, 2012
While ok, could have been a better film with a sexier Frank, maybe William Hunt? but seriously, was this remake even necessary with the original being such a classic.
April 30, 2012
Unfortunately boring.
April 24, 2012
Adapted from James M. Cain's 1934 novel, this version of the book was directed by Bob Rafelson and adapted by David Mamet. Unlike the 1946 film version, which was restricted by the Hays Production Code, Rafelson was able to go to places neither the original film nor the book ever did, the result shocked audiences at the time, and it's still powerful now. Set in 1934, this has drifter Frank Chambers (Jack Nicholson), getting a job at a roadside diner in rural California ran by Greek immigrant Nick Papadakis (John Colicos) and his young American wife Cora (Jessica Lange). It's not long before Frank and Cora begin a torrid but very passionate love affair, and Cora wants out of her marriage to Nick, who she does not love. So Frank and Cora think of a way to kill Nick, which is unsuccessful at first but they kill him and stage it to look like a car accident. While there is a bit of tension in court, which is all a rouse by Cora's attorney Katz (Michael Lerner) to get the prosecution off their tail, who think it was a planned murderer, Frank and Cora do get away with it. It's a provocative and dark film noir done for an 80's audience, Rafelson, in his 4th collaboration with Nicholson, weaves a wicked tale of murder and deceit that's well made with good cinematography by Sven Nykvist. It might lack the ending of the book, but it's still worth watching.
April 22, 2012
oh so steamy!! watch it with the one you love
April 22, 2012
oh so steamy!! watch it with the one you love
April 13, 2012
They don't make them like this anymore...
February 15, 2012
Fair remake, and certainly decent enough actors to take on the parts, although in terms of atmosphere it would have been better if it had remained a noir.
January 21, 2012
a remake worthy of the origianal-which like it is fueled by the 2 lead actors
January 9, 2012
I could see Sam Mendes doing a great remake of this that would earn a bet pic award for sure.. this needs some polishing, but overal, very sexy and solid acting here.This also must have been just missing the NC-17 mark here as well..
January 3, 2012
Atmospheric, brooding, superbly shot and acted. Lange is excellent and gorgeous.
Page 2 of 14