Renegades - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Renegades Reviews

Page 1 of 5
April 4, 2017
I thought I owed it to Doc Scurlock and Chavez E Chavez to watch this post Young Guns mess. I was wrong.
½ July 29, 2016
Late 80's buddy/cop movie that ticks all the boxes for cliched 80's villains.
Sharp suits- check
Briefcases -check
Slicked back ponytails - check
Armed with Mac 10s - check
Drives a BMW - check
This has them all! Renegades really pushes the boat out.
Throw in a car chase a Red Indian who gets called chief all film and a dreadful 'tache on Sutherland and you have Renegades.
Very much a film of its time.
½ July 2, 2015
This film sounds like one of those late-80's action films that could have been fun, but like many films that jumped on the Lethal Weapon bandwagon, this one just couldn't keep up the initial momentum, and the end result is a fairly inferior action film which, while it has its moments, fails to be really engaging. The story at least has an interesting story, concerning the theft of a sacred Native American lance. However, it's handled in a very formulaic manner, and whatever hint of an interesting direction is quickly buried six feet under. The acting isn't terrible, and I find the performances to be somewhat competent, but the characters themselves don't really do much for me. I feel like this is one of those films where they I thing that's actually likable is the music, and even that's clichéd. The action scenes also seem rather impotent, and that's generally a bad sign in what should be an action movie, which itself is ironic since there's more talking than fighting. This film could and should have been good, but it seems the producers were too willing to settle for a by-the-numbers action film that I don't think they knew too much on how to make.
January 31, 2015
(53%)
A decently sized step up from the more average buddy cop movies of the 80's and 90's, that has still managed to get itself largely forgotten about. The plot is simple as you like fluff surrounding undercover Kiefer Sutherland tracking down a typical, yet without doubt very dangerous bad guy criminal who just so happens to steal a native American spear and kill a family member of Lou Diamond Phillips (big mistake) which of course leads to an unlikely team-up. The action sequences are better than most with plenty of car chases, shoot-outs and it's all solidly entertaining. The script could have been improved by giving more depth to the characters as the cast are fed on scraps throughout resulting in no real lasting impression. Which probably explains why this has fallen through the cracks a little. For fans of police action movies this is well worth a look, as it does give most of what one could possibly want from a mid-budget 80's flick.
December 28, 2014
WOW......WOW.....WOW.....SO SO SO SO SO BAD......MAN THIS IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH.......WARNING THIS MOVIE CONTAINS STROBE LIGHTNING EFFECTS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE......MAN THIS IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH A BAD MOVIE 2 WATCH, JUST AVOID THIS MOVIE AT ALL IT IS SUCH A BAD MOVIE 2 WATCH, JUST AVOID THIS MOVIE AT ALL COSTS IT IS THAT BAD.....JUST DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE IT IS SO AWFUL.......ITS GOT A GOOD SOUNDTRACK THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE.....BUT MAN THIS MOVIE IS SO SO SO AWFUL 2 WATCH....
½ October 1, 2014
Every other movie was a buddy type action adventure movie in the mid to late 80's and most like this one were a waste of time and easily fogettable
September 14, 2014
By the numbers buddy cop film with brat packers Kiefer Sutherland and Lou Diamond Phillips now playing adults (you know they're adult because Kiefer has a mustache). Kiefer is an undercover cop and Phillips plays a Lakota indian who are both in search of the same bad guys in the big city, one of whom is played by the dad from "Life Goes On". Quite unoriginal, but still an enjoyable old school buddy cop film that loaded with shoot outs, car chases and one liners. It's even has an 80s style action score from Michael Kamen, who pretty much did all of the big 80s action flicks of the day. Jami Gertz also appears int the film, which was directed by Jack Sholder who made the underrated classic "The Hidden" and several other solid low budget flicks.
January 5, 2014
Suffers from terminal script syndrome.
November 26, 2013
Yet another mismatched cop adventure.
Super Reviewer
½ September 20, 2013
This movie has a good main cast, the story is good, and it has a lot of good action scenes. Why didn't I rate it higher? Mostly because it's a cheesy, forgettable buddy cop movie that jumped off of the Lethal Weapon wagon. It's just pretty good, it could have been better.
July 15, 2013
Decent Buddy Flick, This Thriller See's The Re-Teaming Of "Young Guns" Stars Kiefer Sutherland & Lou Diamond Phillips. Buster McHenry (Sutherland) Is Working Undercover As A Thief In The Gang Of The Wealthy & Sadistic Marino (Robert Knepper). When Their Heist Goes Wrong & An Aincent Indian Spear Is Stolen, Now Hank Storm (Phillips) Has Been Appointed By His Native Tribe To Track The Spear Down.
A Decently Made Thriller, With Some Good Action Scenes (Sadly They've Been Done A Bunch Of Times.) & A Good Plot & Script. Together With The Performances And Jack Sholder's Direction This Is Your Average 80's Action Flick & An Enjoyable One It Is
February 9, 2013
3 stars..ehh it was ok.
January 22, 2013
Culture clash action films don't always work. But with the powerhouse of Kiefer Sutherland, Lou Diamond Phillips, and Robert Knepper I was throughly entertained from start to finish. Very impressive action sequences with all physical effects. No room for wire removal here. And know what? While you can see Lou being pulled by a wire when he's hit off a horse, it's still a damn impressive stunt. I've said it before, I say it again: God bless the 80s.
½ November 20, 2012
Sometimes I missed the 80'/90'.
November 10, 2012
i like indian movies
½ August 13, 2012
Pretty terrible action flick that casts Phillips as a magical Indian and Sutherland as a rough and racist detective who plays by his own rules. Even if the material hasn't dated so badly the plot was tired when it was new.
½ May 9, 2012
Kiefer is so hot in this movie! It's got a lot of action too, it's fun.
February 18, 2012
Action thriller that reunites two of the Young Guns cast (Kiefer Sutherland and Lou Diamond Phillips) as an undercover cop and Lakota Indian who must buddy up to take down a crime lord and recover a stolen Lakota treasure. As far as 80's buddy movies go, Renegades looks on paper like a fun, if uninspired ride. Unfortunately it's let down by incredibly slow pacing and a dull story that only comes alive during a handful of decent set pieces. You can see why Sutherland and LDP were cast - an attempt to appeal to the Brat Pack crowd - but they're far from convincing in their roles and lack chemistry. Sutherland in particular looks really out of place as a grizzled undercover cop with his youthful looks and ludicrous moustache, whilst LDP just looks bored. Aside from one half-smile I don't think he changes his expression once in the entire film! There's a ton of better flicks of this type out there - Lethal Weapon, 48 Hrs, Tango & Cash, The Last Boy Scout - go watch one of them instead.
xxdebxx
Super Reviewer
November 3, 2011
I am a big fan Kiefer Sutherland so of course I jumped at the opportunity of watching this movie starring the youthful Kiefer as a Philadelphia detective who infiltrates a high-powered gang of criminals to expose the corrupt cop they've bought off. Things get complicated when a Native American civilian is killed and a sacred Lakota Sioux spear is stolen by the mob leader following a jewel heist. The brother of the man (Lou Diamond Phillips) teams up with the cop, unwillingly at first, but differences are set aside when they realize they are after the same man. Robert Knepper malevolently hams it up as the vicious mobster Marino, who has little regard to innocent bystanders. Excellent macho performance by Kieffer Sutherland (although his bushy moustache was distracting) and Lou Diamond Phillips as well!
Page 1 of 5