Silent Night, Deadly Night - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Silent Night, Deadly Night Reviews

Page 2 of 29
February 20, 2015
Slick, different and surprisingly entertaining.
½ February 19, 2015
Another disturbing Christmas film filled with sex and blood that seems like a mix of Halloween(Remake) and the original Friday The 13th. There are not many slasher films that really focus on the back story of the killer as much as this one which is a good thing and really makes you feel empathy and understand the motive of the killer more here. However, the film does get cheesier and sillier as the killing starts and the killer is just not as frightening and SCARY as he should be. There are plenty of sex and disturbing bloody kills and GORE scenes that will be just offensive enough for Christmas lover people but horror fans will most likely enjoy it. Overall, this is a unique slasher film with a potentially great storyline and character development but gets sillier as it goes and ultimately ends up being just another cliche' slasher film. Nonetheless it still deserves to be called a classic slasher film that horror fans will always think of when it comes to Christmas. [B-]
February 7, 2015
The movie itself was disappointing. It was disappointing because the beginning of the movie looked promising. The beginning was suspenseful and I was satisfied with it. Right after the beginning scenes, the movie starts to go down slowly. Ok I wasn't the biggest fan of the main character going to a nun orphanage. I found it to be a lazy route to kind of foreshadow what is going to happen later in the movie. Even though it wasn't done before it failed to satisfy me. When he turns 18 the story changes and I was mildly interested on what was going to happen next. Then that's when the huge plot twist comes into play. The main character becomes a killer and kills everyone who is "naughty". Even though he becomes the killer that he remembers killing his parents. I can't buy him becoming a killer after a few un harmful coincidences throughout a short period of time. It seemed rushed and unbelievable how he becomes a serial killer that fast. The acting is atrocious. The cinematography is below average. The editing is horrible especially the death scenes of individuals. The plot is very weak. There is mediocre suspense because of mediocre "spooky" music playing in the background. Ok one death scene was pretty cool where when one guy was going sledding and got his head cut off with an axe. The other death scenes was anti climatic, over the top, and just plain stupid. Anyway, the whole movie is dumb to the point that it is barely watchable. The ending was horrible! Wait until you see the ending it is pricelessly bad! One of the stupidest movies that I ever saw in a horror film? Yeah. The worst horror movie in history? No not really? I can give the movie this. You can probably have fun with this movie by watching it with a group of friends. And just pick the movie apart piece by piece and make fun of how bad it is. I have to give this movie a D grading.
½ January 6, 2015
A boy witnesses his parents murdered on Christmas Eve by a man dressed as Santa and is sent to an orphanage where he is bullied by the head nun. Eventually he grows up and becomes a toy store Santa and when those his childhood memories come flooding back, he goes on a killing spree.

Silent Night, Deadly Night is a violent, nasty piece of holiday fare that works pretty well overall. It's cheap and the acting, by an no-name cast, is pretty amateurish, but there are some creative kills and a very mean spirit. There's hardly a person who survives and those who do are thoroughly scarred by it, which is addressed in the sequel. Based solely on the story, this film is not very good, but based on it's entertainment value, it is halfway entertaining. It's not as good as "Black Christmas" as a Christmas themed horror, but it's definitely entertaining with not too much blood and gore - at least compared by 1980s slasher standards.
½ December 26, 2014
141224: Finally got around to seeing this film. Not sure what's worse, Silent Night or Attack of the Killer Tomatoes? Both cult classics, but this one is not a cult I belong to. This is just down right bad. The worst part is Mother Superior does not get her just deserts. And William was such a good boy. Merry Christmas everyone!
½ December 21, 2014
It's low on plot, especially in the second half but it delivers for what it is. Trashy and demented but thoroughly entertaining holiday classic.
½ December 20, 2014
SILENT NIGHT, DEADLY NIGHT at the Egyptian Hollywood. Great crowd, great print! Deliciously violent anti-Christmas film. There's not a single moment where the holiday is not derided and then of course there is abused Billy who murders in his santa outfit. Heaven for a Scrooge like me. And also appropriate with all the INTERVIEW controversy. Lest we forget, SILENT NIGHT opened #! at the BO back in 1984 only to be pulled out of theaters 10 days later after moms across America picketed and protested the film.
½ December 18, 2014
I'll never understand why some movies get so notorious while others fall to the wayside and are forgotten. Silent Night, Deadly Night wasn't the first Christmas-themed slasher. Silent Night, Bloody Night and Black Christmas were both released a decade earlier. Maybe it's because Santa Claus is a killer in this movie? Well, Christmas Evil was released years before this movie as well (though I don't remember that movie having near as much violence as this). Perhaps this movie is more popular because it was released at the height of slasher movie popularity.

Regardless, all that matters is if the movie is any good. Silent Night, Deadly Night is okay. It's basic slasher stuff that has been made a million times. It's not on the level of movies of Halloween, but it's sure as hell better than some of the other crap out there like Blood Sisters. The movie has a lot of sleaze, plenty of blood and violence, and it's appropriately paced, not overstaying its welcome. It's dumb for sure, but that's par the course for slasher movies. This movie had a gimmick and it worked well enough to make this one of the more memorable slashers of the time.

The movie has plenty of goofy and "so-bad-it's-good" moments to enjoy with a group of friends. I'm sure there are plenty out there who have made jokes with "Naughty!" and "Punish!" out there. So there is plenty to enjoy with this movie. Just know what you're getting into with this.
December 4, 2014
There is no excuse for a film to be this terrible. Christmas horror is a fun idea, but this piece of exploitation garbage doesn't really embrace that.
½ November 23, 2014
A Christmas set slasher. The movie, later upon it's release was banned from theaters, because of the add campaigns and the killer being dressed as Santa. And to all you people who protested against the film, i have one thing to say to you: FUCK YOU!!!
This is very unfair that many other Christmas set slashers, such as Black Christmas and Don't open until Christmas were not banned as well. Although all of it's negative points, i consider this movie to be the best Christmas horror ever!
November 9, 2014
Two Words: Psycho Santa! Silent Night Deadly Night is one of the most controversial slasher flicks ever made, it's been banned in several countries, condemned by churches, and it has caused numerous protests. Silent Night Deadly Night is so bad, it's good. Silent Night Deadly Night is a must see for slasher enthusiasts everywhere.
Super Reviewer
November 1, 2014
Poor but funny My Bloody Valentine clone with an enjoyably awful charisma-free lead and leaden direction.
August 25, 2014
Rather tame slasher flick even by 80s standards and with rather limited use of the Christmas theme.

Also another piece of cinematic damnation of orphanages run by nuns (always hives of abuse which breed the criminally insane).
July 31, 2014
Pretty bad as a slasher ,more of a porno actually. Some intensely violent scenes and not one women in this film under 50 for does not take her shirt off
June 17, 2014
As a fan of slasher films, I don't know why I waited so long to see this wonderful, demented piece of slasher film history. I was also curious to see this film because of all the controversy that surrounds it even 30 years after its release, as parents and many other people denounced for not only being a Christmas-themed slasher flick, but one in which the killer was dressed as Santa Claus. Plus, having it be an 80's slasher film just sweetened the deal because I love all the glorious cheese that comes with many films of that era.

In 1971, Billy Chapman and his younger brother, became orphans after a deranged killer dressed as Santa Claus murdered their parents on a drive home on Christmas eve, which Billy had the misfortune of witnessing. It was especially traumatizing to Billy because it came just after his nutcase grandfather told him that Santa Claus punishes naughty people.

After this incident, the two boys are put into an orphanage where Billy still has recurring problems whenever Christmas comes around and is savagely punished by Mother Superior whenever he acts up during these times for several years.

At age 18, Billy gets a job working at a toy store, which goes great for awhile until Christmas comes around and his traumatic memories begin to resurface as they always do. This time, however, things become horrible when Billy is forced to dress up as Santa for the toy store, which causes him to snap when he witnesses one of his co-workers trying to rape a female co-worker, triggering memories of the killer raping his mother. From this point, Billy snaps and goes on a killing spree to punish those he deems naughty.

The plot is very over the top in a way that you would expect from an 80's slasher flick, and it also gleefully revels in its premise that it knows will piss off uptight people. For a gorehound, slasher, and B-movie fanatic, this premise is a dream come true in the best possible stupid ways. I appreciate the fact that the script created a psychology for Billy as to why he became what he did, but the script also has a habit of giving hilariously awful dialogue ("PUNISH!") and putting him into the usual slasher flick scenarios like killing off a couple having sex, chopping off a bully's head as he sleds down a hill, along with the usual tropes. Let's just say it's not up to par with the slasher film masterpiece, Black Christmas (1974 original). The script has a lot of interesting ideas, though, and there are moments of genuine intrigue that could have been made better.

The acting, as expected for not a slasher but an 80's slasher film, is pretty campy. The actors try their hardest to be super-serious, but the script simply won't let them do a particularly good job. But, they're certainly not boring, even the characters who are inevitably going to get killed off because they fall into the pigeonholes of their characters (Like the couple that gets killed after sex is interrupted. Remember the lessons slasher flicks taught us: pre-marital sex is bad because you're going to die a horrible death should you engage in it!). They made every wacky, blood-soaked scene a lot of fun to watch.

In terms of horror, there isn't much to be found. This will only be enjoyed by gorehounds and those who enjoy their slasher flicks extra trashy. There's plenty of bloody violence, shameless sexual content and nudity, a ridiculous premise, holiday cheer, and hilariously bad drama at certain points.

Silent Night, Deadly Night will never be up to par with the greats of slasher films like Black Christmas or Halloween, but it sure does provide a lot of entertainment for those who enjoy trashy, blood-soaked slasher flicks. It's a film that revels gleefully in its offensive premise and it doesn't care who it offends. I love it and I feel that I will many fun years with this one, along with anyone who enjoys these kinds of films.
May 29, 2014
This was entertaining in a guilty/sleazy kind of way. It does run out of steam about half way through (which is not good considering how short it is). Typical low-budget 80's slasher. More funny than scary, but certainly not the best in the genre.
March 31, 2014
Silent Night, Deadly Night is my favorite Christmas Horror movie, I have Silent Night, Deadly Night on DVD. In Silent Night, Deadly Night I liked Billy and Sister Margaret
January 30, 2014
Just gave this the now traditional yearly re-watch, such a fun film, well worth the watch, it's become a new tradition for each Christmas season.

Full of corny performances and cheesy 80's staples, this is an enjoyable little slasher flick that was once the victim of attempted bannings. Now it just feels like a quaint snapshot of the 80's, full of silly characters, quasi-believable situations and gratuitous nudity.

Worth a rental at the very least, if only to get that "Miracle On 34th Street" taste out of your mouth.
December 16, 2013
Fully in the festive mood now.
Page 2 of 29