Target - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Target Reviews

Page 2 of 3
April 20, 2008
As much as I like Gene Hackman this was poo. I wanted to punch Matt Dillon every time he spoke.
April 13, 2008
i never actually heard of this movie before i stumbled upon it on the imdb. it was actually a pretty decent flick. way better actors than the actual film deserves, but it was all cheesy b-movie fun.
Super Reviewer
½ March 30, 2008
so so action flick with gene hackman and matt dillon playing a father son role. hackman is great to watch and dillon isn't far off but it's the thin stretched out plot that lets them down. oh and the 80's soundtrack music is funny
½ March 24, 2008
This movie had potential, but fell through the cracks. To bad.
Super Reviewer
½ March 24, 2008
A generally underappreciated thriller, which is a bit like a cross between "True Lies" and "Frantic". Gene Hackman plays a former CIA agent whose past catches up with him when his wife is kidnapped in Paris. Heretofore dismissed as a boring old fart by his teenage son (Matt Dillon), Hackman's exotic past and unsuspected resourcefulness are revealed as they strive to get their loved one back. Yes, it's a bit silly and the plot is alternately predictable and puzzling, so that I was repeatedly either two steps ahead or completely baffled, but the film is lifted by the quality of its performances and its superb use of locations. Dillon delivers a winning blend of surly rebelliousness and vulnerability, and Hackman is extraordinary, lending complexity and credibility to a character who could so easily have seemed ridiculous, in lesser hands. The genuine tenderness of Dillon and Hackman's father-son relationship is highly unusual, giving "Target" a distinctive flavour, unlike that of any other movie I can think of. It isn't another "Night Moves", but it's better than you might expect.
½ March 21, 2008
A bit dated, but not at all bad
½ March 20, 2008
ok thriller,interesting story about father & son trying to rescue the kidnapped mother in europe,decent car chases
I'll watch anything with gene hackman in
March 14, 2008
Bad acting (from guees who) and cheesy.But this is a great thriller.
February 26, 2008
wife of ex cia man is kidnapped so hackamn and son go get her back, good cold war thriller
January 6, 2008
Nice little cold war thriller.
December 19, 2007
a good movie with an interesting plot, exciting action, a couple of excellent car chases, and even some decent music. could have been by the numbers, but elevated itself.
½ September 11, 2007
If you can get past Matt Dillon's cro-mag forehead this is not a bad film.
August 6, 2007
He was sooooo cute in this one! Absolutely precious.
½ July 13, 2007
Fabulous and action packed. Gene Hackman has never made a bad movie.
July 3, 2007
Iinteresting twists, very clever film. Hackman is the king of this film genre and Dillons character development is great.
June 30, 2007
Gene Hackman and Matt Dillon are the best duo in Hollywood action to date. Die Hard, Beverly hills cop, Tango & cash.. write notes because this is how you do real action movies
½ June 15, 2007
Cheesy 1980s’ actioner meant to be a starrer for Dillon, but as usual Hackman shines. European locations at least make this film slightly different from usual Hollywood action fare.
June 11, 2007
MATT DILLON IS THE SEXIEST EVER
June 11, 2007
Greatest action movie ever! Gene "The Acting Machine" Hackman delivers his best performance. Matt Dillon has a lovely unibrow.
½ February 20, 2007
I caught this one morning on AMC and it was funny to see Gene Hackman and Matt Dillon pair up as father and son. I thought it was pretty good.
Page 2 of 3