Up the Creek - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Up the Creek Reviews

Page 2 of 5
July 19, 2010
Watched this alot as a kid, it was awesome. It was funny and had that other thing that young boys loved (as well as men), so that is mainly why it gets 4 stars, cause it is more then a film, it is a memory.
½ June 26, 2010
A cheesy 80's comedy with two actors from Animal House and the comedy is in the same vein as that popular movie. A don't think too hard about it plot about 4 losers in college (one in his 12th year) who are forced by their dean to compete in a river raft race because "they are the only ones with nothing left to lose. With degrees as incentives, the four head out, lead by Bob McGraw played by Tim Matheson. They are up against preppy jocks who all wear the same cologne and who have lots of devices to help them cheat their way to the finish line. The jokes can be lame and the movie hasn't aged well, but it has some endearing moments that have stayed with me all these years, and some dialogue that I still occasionally quote to this day. Bob McGraw's 3rd person narraration -"Their stituation seemed utterly hopeless... and with damn good reason" - are fun, and the actors are loose and having fun with the back and forth dialogue. Add a charade game with a dog and you have a good rainy day movie that will make you laugh.
May 26, 2010
Saw this recently for the first time in over 15 years. It's essentially a poor man's Animal House, set in the 80s and on a river. It even has two Animal House alums in lead roles - Tim Matheson (Eric Strattman from AH) and Stephen Furst (Flounder from AH).

The premise is absurd from the outset, but serves as a springboard for the rest of the movie. It focuses on four lay about collegians who, according to the dean "Have the distinct honor of being the four worst students in the entire country. You're not at the bottom of the list, you are the bottom of the list!" - Dean Burch. This distinction is only further ingrained by the fact that they achieved this dishonor at the nation's worst institution of higher learning.

In an effort to finally rid the school of these academic hangers-on, including Matheson's character, Bob McGraw, now in his 12th year of matriculation, Dean Burch bribes them with degrees of their choice in exchange for competing in and winning an inter-collegiate river rafting race.

From there, it is part road trip - getting to the competition - and part river rafting adventure where they must overcome the not only the rapids, but the sabotage efforts of other teams, including a military academy squad headed helmed by an overly gung-ho captain, as well as a team of Ivy League pretty boys, determined to win the race at any cost.

The cast is rounded out by a plethora of 80s era one-note actor and also-rans, including Dan Monahan - "Pee Wee" of Porky's fame. But it also features James B. Sikking (Doogie Howser's dad) in the uppity-rich-ivy league-alum role, Tozer, so, bonus for that.

All in all, a very serviceable 80s college hi-jinks/sex romp flick.
Super Reviewer
May 5, 2010
Was lucky enough to find a old VHS tape of this pure 80's gem.Has aged badly but they dont make them like this any more.A cross between Porkys and animal house its just crazy fun.Worth checking out if you can find it....
½ January 7, 2010
brings back so many memories of the eighties. a typical colleage race with good and evil forces clashing..
½ December 18, 2009
Pretty funny 80's teen sex comedy.
½ October 20, 2009
GREAT MOVIE. Tim Mathieson is perfect.
September 5, 2009
hay if u want a good old fashioned laugh then this film is for u
August 22, 2009
"Your dog is a whore Bob! yes I have trained him well...."
½ July 9, 2009
Entertaining and wonderfully funny movie that didn't get enough attention when it first come out in 1984. Story centers on a loser group of college kids who decide to race river rafts against other colleges in order to gain some respect and a degree. Shades of Animal House? Yes, and it does star AH alumni Matheson and Furst but the comparison really works. I'm really glad that movies like these are available on Instant Watch, they bring back so many nostalgic memories and provide access to movies that have long gone unnoticed. This one is truly a comedic gem--the cast, script and direction is great. I highly recommend it, I watched this with my older teen kids and they really enjoyed it, its should be rated PG-13 for today's standards, don't let the R-rating keep you away.
½ June 30, 2009
Sorta like an extension of Animal House w/out the cast (and not nearly the laughs..Mike the Dog is the funniest thing in this). I thought there was a little more nudity in this and unfortunately Jennifer Runyon is never naked even though her & Matheson have sex a few times
June 30, 2009
Entertaining and wonderfully funny movie that didn't get enough attention when it first come out in 1984. Story centers on a loser group of college kids who decide to race river rafts against other colleges in order to gain some respect and a degree. Shades of Animal House? Yes, and it does star AH alumni Matheson and Furst but the comparison really works. I'm really glad that movies like these are available on Instant Watch, they bring back so many nostalgic memories and provide access to movies that have long gone unnoticed. This one is truly a comedic gem--the cast, script and direction is great. I highly recommend it, I watched this with my older teen kids and they really enjoyed it, its should be rated PG-13 for today's standards, don't let the R-rating keep you away.
May 22, 2009
Great Funny 80's Comedy/Adventure, Still waiting 4 this 1 on DVD
March 11, 2009
Haven't seen this in twenty-some years. Can't wait to see it again.
March 1, 2009
I enjoyed it. yes its unoriginal, yes the dialouge is awful at times, yes the military guys are stupid, but hilarious bits like the motorcycle, beating up the preppy jocks and especially the Dog charade scene saves it.
November 24, 2008
Have you ever seen the Charlie Brown cartoon where they are in a river boat race? Well if you have, imagine that... but, with tits and booze.
½ October 7, 2008
bleck! this really sucked...two of the animal house alums that actually have had sustained careers seem to be in this piece of shit for the money...zero laughs from this guy, i've seen it all before.
September 14, 2008
This is Midnight Madness (that scavenger hunt movie) on a river. It's the slackers vs. the Army brats vs. the hot jocks vs. the pretty girls on a race to the bottom of the mountain. Majorly cheesy fun with Stephen Furst doing his dumb fat guy routine.
½ September 5, 2008
Classic 80's comedy. Back when they were great on their own. Hilarious and Chuck was just the icing on the cake.
Super Reviewer
½ August 6, 2008
It was fine to watch... once.
Page 2 of 5