Fukkatsu no hi (Day of Resurrection) (The End) (Virus) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fukkatsu no hi (Day of Resurrection) (The End) (Virus) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ February 28, 2014
Adult Sci-fi with aging allstars that will make you think.
½ January 24, 2014
Sometimes overwrought but mostly heartbreaking. Yeah. I'm man enough to admit I wept at like three different points in this movie. I defy anyone to watch the 5 year old Toby Anderson trying-to-work-the-radio sequence and then tell me they didn't well up. The US version sucks by ending the movie with everyone (left) and everything blowing up, so do yourself a favor and track down the Japanese cut. At least it ends with a glimmer of hope (though the trek south sequence could've stood some trimming)
January 26, 2013
The Original is always better. - unedited
December 7, 2012
A biological weapon released in a plane crash spells the end for Earth's population except those stationed in the Antarctic leaving the eight females left with several dating options. Loaded cast. Film was better early with the release of the virus and tailed off in the second half.
October 3, 2012
Great 80s sci fi thriller, very enjoyable, and much copied, but a fantastic, classic film.
March 30, 2012
the best sf that i have ever seen
March 25, 2012
One of those "good" bad movies.
February 29, 2012
Military engineered biological weapon is released rendering the human race extinct save a few stationed in Antarctica. Ambitious film with strong int'l cast somehow found itself on Mill Creek's dubious "50 Chilling Classics" budget release. Abbreviated version cuts almost an hour of runtime; full version no doubt would play out better and be more coherent.
July 9, 2011
Wtf-cast, catastrophe movie with big C, odd twists and out-of-date moralities. Great.
½ June 26, 2011
Very bleak and depressing apocalyptic tale of a biological man-made virus (called the Italian Flu) which is accidentally released and kills the entire population of the Earth except for 865 scientists and personnel in the Antartic. There are 2 versions of this movie - American and Japanese. Go for the longer original Japanese version which is far better than the American one. Director Kinji Fukasako ("Battle Royale") masterfully maintains an atmosphere of both tension and absorbing melodrama showing hospitals overflowing with dying patients, martial law getting declared all over the world and decomposing corpses littering the streets,. The ending leaves you speechless; the international cast perfectly and almost naturally supports each other and most of the post-apocalyptic images are breathtaking. You are certainly left with a chilling insight as to what could have happened if "worst-case" scenarios relating to bird flu had been realised. This is a well made end-of-the-world type movie and it is too bad that is was a flop.
½ June 26, 2011
Very bleak and depressing apocalyptic tale of a biological man-made virus (called the Italian Flu) which is accidentally released and kills the entire population of the Earth except for 865 scientists and personnel in the Antartic. There are 2 versions of this movie - American and Japanese. Go for the longer original Japanese version which is far better than the American one. Director Kinji Fukasako ("Battle Royale") masterfully maintains an atmosphere of both tension and absorbing melodrama showing hospitals overflowing with dying patients, martial law getting declared all over the world and decomposing corpses littering the streets,. The ending leaves you speechless; the international cast perfectly and almost naturally supports each other and most of the post-apocalyptic images are breathtaking. You are certainly left with a chilling insight as to what could have happened if "worst-case" scenarios relating to bird flu had been realised. This is a well made end-of-the-world type movie and it is too bad that is was a flop.
½ March 25, 2010
It is not sensational, but it is quite interesting to see a Kinji Fukasaku film starring Glenn Ford, Bo Svenson, Olivia Hussey, etc.. Essential.
February 28, 2010
A wretched little disaster movie with an underused muliticultural cast, exceptionally poor writing, leaden exposition, and uninspired action sequences. Roland Emmerich would be proud.
½ November 26, 2009
This movie all in all isn't too bad. I picked up it from Netflix as a package deal that came with Hurricane and Deadly Harvest and of the three, this was by far the best one. The plot comes at you repeatedly and heavily with one bad thing after another happening.
November 18, 2009
This is a greally good movie. Masao Kusakari stars as Dr.Yoshizumi , a japanese scientist who is one of only 863 survivors after a virus wipes out the rest of the human race. It starts with the virus (MM-88) being released into the public. The only survivors are scientists stationed in Antarctica (Because MM-88 is rendered dormant by cold temperatures.) I don't want to spoil too much, but this is a very good movie.
November 18, 2009
i heard this film is suppose to be real good. hope to see it soon
October 18, 2009
the best 80's apocalyptic movie you'll never see. decent Japanese funded time filler
April 14, 2009
3++
I wouldn't want to be there. Definately not!
February 3, 2009
I went to some trouble to get hold of the original Japanese cut of this film, which unfortunately doesn't have English subtitles. But luckily, most of the dialogue is in English, however one of the things I found interesting about the movie was the number of languages used (there are 7).
Now, let's be honest, this isn't going to rank among the list of "movies you must see before you die," but it's not bad, and will no doubt have its fans.
January 28, 2009
Såg Hemvideo utgåvan, det här var ju rätt så bra, Henry Silva, Bo Svensson och Glenn Ford, skönt med 80 tals filmer där hela jorden går under, jag såg bara sånna här filmer som liten, det är det som gjort mig till den muntergöken jag är i dag.
Page 1 of 3