Dogfight - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dogfight Reviews

Page 3 of 17
Super Reviewer
April 30, 2011
One of the most unlikely of on-screen pairings with River Phoenix and Lili Taylor. Phoenix plays a Marine about to ship off to Vietnam with four of his buddies, on their last night before heading out they stage a "Dogfight" which is where everyone puts money into a pot and proceeds to find the ugliest girl they can find and bring her to a party, the one with the ugliest girl, wins. Needless to say things get bad for the Marine and the lonely and shy girl he picked catches wind of the cruel prank. So he spends the rest of the night trying to make it up to the girl and in doing so they both fall for each other, and a love that will stand a war and several years is born out of the most unlikeliest of situations. Lili Taylor has always been one of my favorite actresses and this is probably one of my favorite roles she has ever done. This also can be said about the late River Phoenix who is fantastic. The film itself is quite honestly one of the quirkiest and best Romance movies I have ever seen.
½ April 23, 2011
Heart warming romance though I think the ending could be better somehow
April 23, 2011
Not much to say but a very good movie about how real love can sneak up on you and how appearances aren't always accurate.
March 29, 2011
Tuesday, March 29, 2011

(1991) Dogfight
DRAMA

More of a drama film than a war film, which takes place starting during the 60's Vietnam and the movie centers on an old ritual called 'dogfight' involving the Marines practiced before going off to war! During this, actor River Phoenix as Eddie Birlace builds a rapport with one of it's contestants, actress Lili Taylor as Rose and the movie dwells on this relationship!

What can I say but interesting information about what Marines or soldiers used to do before being sent off to war! A story using fictionize characters as well as storyline based on actual fact!

2.5 out of 4
½ March 27, 2011
Oh dear, sweet River....it hurts my heart to watch him in movies. This sweet movie is one I loved as a teen. Lily Taylor, as always, is flawless and River is perfection. So, so sad.
February 25, 2011
Na véspera do embarque para o Vietnã, em 1963, quatro fuzileiros navais fazem uma aposta: aquele que levar a garota mais feia a uma festa ganha 50 dólares. Eddie 'Birdlace' seduz uma tímida garçonete e já se considera o vencedor. Porém, antes de chegar ao encontro dos outros, ele se apaixona por ela.
December 29, 2010
Little River Phoenix, sounds dark and interesting! Wanna see...
December 17, 2010
Easy Going teen romance with a shorter Haired River Pheonix giving a great performance as a marine in town for just one night were he meets a young girl. As obvious and run of the mill this all sounds, its suprisingly entertaining mainly due to the chemistry and casting, shame more people havent seen it.
November 13, 2010
I wish this were longer. If it were a book I'd read it. I love River Phoenix and I just learned he died in 1993! :(
½ November 3, 2010
In Dogfight, River Phoenix gives one of best performances of his sadly short career, he plays Eddie Birdlace, a US marine leaving for Vietnam in the morning. Him and his gang have a thing called a Dogfight, in which they all see who can get the ugliest date, they hire out a venue and whoever wins wins the pot of money. Birdlaces date (Lil Taylor) is surprisingly not that ugly, and then finds out. Birdlace then apologises and they go out on a second date.

The film is a relitively unknown gem of a romance film, Phoenix plays a chain smoking sweaaring 19 year old marine and Lil Taylor is also very good.
This is one of my favourite films and im very glad I watched it.
½ October 25, 2010
Last night I saw a movie that riveted my attention, and has been in my thoughts today. It is from 1991, and is called Dogfight. The male star was River Phoenix, who was so beautiful and talented. I am sad that he died in 1993 at the age of 23, so tragic.

Lily Taylor was wonderful as usual. You might remember her from Mystic Pizza with Julia Roberts in 1988 or Say Anything with John Cusack in 1989. She has been in lots and lots of other movies and tv shows as well.

A supporting role was played by Anthony Clark from Yes, Dear tv show.

A small part of a sailor in a fight was played by a young and hunky Brendan Fraser. So cute.

The story starts when President Kennedy was just starting to send military advisers to Vietnam. River Phoenix's character is a Marine who is being sent overseas the next day. A bunch of the guys are having a "dogfight", it is a contest during a party where the guy that brings the ugliest girl wins a prize. It is mean, and hurtful when Lily Taylor's character learns the true nature of the party.

I don't want to tell you anymore, because I hope that you will see the movie if you have not already. It is a sweet and tangy love story, and an enlightening experience about how different relationships are guy to guy, and guy to girl.

Highly recommended - and it was a surprise to me!
August 25, 2010
Likeable enough. The shift that River Phoenix's character makes from asshole to genuine was a little abrupt and without an apparent motivation. Lili Taylor is very good as the frumpy Rose but overall the film was missing something... can't quite put my finger on it.
August 21, 2010
Beautiful and touching film that, unlike many other films set in this period, doesn't overly romanticise its 1960s San Franciscan setting.
July 13, 2010
While this was not his last film it was a goodie. My own mild research, I find this is the Phoenix acting family: River, Rain, Liberty, Summer, and yes Joaquin. I wonder if Joaquin took the role of Johhny Cash as it relates to personal life?
June 15, 2010
Touching and well acted. Love it! Used to see River at a little club all the time back in the day and always wanted to tell him how rad I thought this movie was didn't want to bug him. I wish I had.
½ May 24, 2010
I loved this movie xxxxxxxxx
April 11, 2010
Sad and moving romance that I actually liked.
½ March 21, 2010
River Phoenix sheds off his beautiful hair to play a role he had never done before. A United States Marine who is only in town for one night. He arrives in San Francisco with 3 other of his close buddies. They call themselves the Four B's because of their last names. Like every other Marine, Phoenix plays a foul mouthed jarhead who is in town for women and beer.

Dogfight is a neat film that showed glimpses of what River Phoenix had in store for us had he not passed away. The term "dogfight" in this film is when a group of Marines get together and throw a party for the one night they have in town. They hold a competition on who can bring the ugliest girl, and whoever achieves this goal wins $100 dollars. Phoenix's character, Eddie Birdlace, ends up asking out a waitress at a local family owned diner. Sweet, innocent, she offers a juxtapose to Birdlace's foul mouthed and jarhead personality. Eventually Rose, the waitress played by Lili Taylor, finds out of the cruel game and lashes out at the Marines. The rest of the film shows us a night on the town as the two young lovers end up going on a date.

The performances by Phoenix and Lili Taylor are magnificent and they both do a great job portraying the character's beauty and flaws. The plot is a little thin, and there really isn't much to it until the end where they incorporate the Anti-War mentality during the Vietnam War. Overall, the film will serve as a "What could have been.." scenario for River Phoenix fans. Though not his best work, he gives us a wonderful performance in this oddball of a romantic film.
½ January 9, 2010
Dogfight is a minor classic of the 90's that is about the last night of a marine before being deployed to Vietnam, and the contest that him and his buddies have for kicks. The contest is a dogfight, in which all of the marines go out and try to find the ugliest women available to come to a dance with them and then once at the dance are judged by who is the ugliest. Sounds very unappealing but the film works great thanks to the two leads, River Phoenix and Lili Taylor. The romance that starts to bud between the two leads feels very realistic, the only problem I had was that I didn't hate the ending, but is seemed a little forced. Still one of the few films to watch the late great River Phoenix and watch for some upcoming actors throughout.
Page 3 of 17