Star! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star! Reviews

Page 1 of 4
August 8, 2016
Among the finest motion picture musicals ever produced for the silver screen!
December 29, 2015
A decent showcase for Julie Andrews with some nice musical numbers
March 20, 2015
The problem with this movie has always been that someone thought we cared about the love life of Gertrude Lawrence, a star of the English stage mostly during the 1930's. She and pal Noel Coward were ever so theatrical and ever so fabulous in their day, and this movie helps establish an "exclusive," off-putting quality about their show biz lives. Noel quips epigrams and they perform scenes from his plays. In this misguided attempt to turn Julie Andrews into Gertrude Lawrence, Andrews comes off as unpleasant and surprisingly unattractive in forehead-baring hairstyles. Her face looks downright mannish in places. She is surrounded by equally unattractive men, 1968 being a bad year for handsome male stars of any sort. Gertrude Lawrence appeared in lots of little musicals that have not withstood the test of time, so we are regaled with songs of a second rate variety composed by Mr. Coward and others of that era. The film ends in the 1940's with Gertrude happily married to a small time theater owner on the east coast. Copyright problems obviously negated any scenes from "The King and I," Ms. Lawrence's greatest hit, or her odd appearance in the film version of "The Glass Menagerie," which were surely the more interesting parts of her story than her dull love life.
½ March 19, 2015
ok bio-pic musical combo
½ April 26, 2013
everything in the film had been set up to please the ego of Mrs. Julie Andrews, starting from the title till her appearance in every scene throughout 160 min. as an ascending star. The world is going around her, that's why the world sucks maybe. if it should be going like this, just don't let me notice!

Anyway, everything else was great and uniquely executed.
December 31, 2011
Julie Andrews pulls off another awesome comic performance on the stage and keeps the intensity of good old Gertie off stage.
July 29, 2011
Brilliant and hilarious. Almost 3 hours long, this movie made in 1968 is a fantastic showcase of Julie Andrews' talents as an actress, a dancer, a singer, and a comedian. Wish I had discovered this movie much, much sooner.
½ June 23, 2011
I Love Julie Andrews in this, I see it whenever it is on
June 5, 2011
A great showcase for Julie Andrews, but probably one of director Robert Wise's weakest films.
½ April 27, 2011
This time Wise-directing-Andrews didn't work out. For the same reason as Darling Lili - some directors and composers want to use all the potential of Julie voice so forget that too much music numbers ruin the story and the movie itself. As a biographical movie about Gertrude Lawrence it is bullshit. But music and dance numbers are AMAZING. Julie is on the screen 99% of the time. Performances of her and Daniel are superb.
Watch it if you are a fan of Julie Andrews or if you go for noncommittal movie and nonconsistent story but loads of funny and entertaining music and dance performances.
April 10, 2011
Yes, Julie Andrews can sing, and yes, this is a musical -- but her acting typically seems to be done solely in primary colors. Unquestionably, STAR! is not a great film. However, it is an interesting cinematic failure that is almost worth seeing just for its elaborately staged musical numbers.
March 19, 2011
An early favorite. I love the songs and Julie Andrews of course.
February 8, 2011
I give the film high marks for Andrews (incredible as ever), Massey's supporting performance, and the well-choreographed and shot musical numbers. But the restoration of the film to its unnecessarily long runtime causes it to falter.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ April 15, 2010
Julie's in fine form and some of the production numbers, especially Jenny, are eye popping but it's just too long.
½ August 6, 2009
A bit too much of a mouthful, but Julie Andrews at her best. Best acting numer Limehouse Blues; best dancing number, the Story of Jenny and best singing number, My Ship.
November 29, 2008
A totally underrated, nearly lost Julie Andrews movie-musical about the life of actress Gertrude Lawrence. Michael Kidd's choreography makes this quite possibly one of the most physically demanding and beautifully performed titles of Julie Andrews. Real first rate musical arrangements, and first billed co-actors, such as Robert Reed, Richard Crenna, and Sir Anthony Spencer. A much heavier story than that of The Sound of Music or Mary Poppins, the movie showcases the broad talents of Julie Andrews.
November 29, 2008
Julie Andrews op haar best... helaas in een film die véél te lang is om je aandacht erbij te blijven houden.
November 13, 2008
This is a very long movie, without very much story. But even so, this is a great movie with a lot of fun songs and dances, and beautiful costumes.
August 29, 2008
A great showcase of the talent that is Julie Andrews.
August 5, 2008
Julie Andrews at her finest
Page 1 of 4