Gypsy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gypsy Reviews

Page 1 of 7
December 21, 2015
One of Bette Midler's best!
½ May 31, 2015
Just saw this on stage so decided to watch the film which was a remake of the 50's film with Rosaling Russell. Ths one stars the divine Miss M and its excellant. A pushy mum who ends up with a stripper as a daughter called Gypsy Rose Lee.
½ June 15, 2013
Bette Midler puts on an amazing performance in this classic story of rags to burlesque.
½ March 4, 2013
I love this made for tv musical. Bette carries it! She is a great mama rose
September 16, 2012
I'm pretty sure Bette is my favorite Mama Rose!
July 21, 2012
Pretty painful to sit through.
April 7, 2012
it was very long. but an okay watch
December 21, 2011
I have to say, I was quite impressed with this entire performance. Cynthia Gibb gave a great performance as Gypsy, you just felt her pain from neglect of the spotlight. (I couldn't help but see Natalie in her.) Peter Riegert did what he does best which is acting, his singing was only "actor-worthy". But hands down, the performance given by Bette was phenominal, clearly showing her talents as a 'belter'.

While I have never seen the Merman production, this production does not live up to the 1962 film with Rosalind Russell.
November 27, 2011
it was very long. but an okay watch
November 27, 2011
Rotten Tomatoes, you got this dead wrong. Gypsy is a magnificent piece of art that I will remember as, "The film with Bette Midler as the crazy mother!" This fantastic film features Midler as Mama Rose whose star daughter (An amazing performance by Jennifer Rae Beck in three scenes) quits show business and her other daughter (A mesmerizing Cynthia Gibb) becomes a high paid stripper. Midler's magnificent performance earned her a golden globe. A fun musical for the family with a ton of songs that will give you chills and stay in your head for days. FANTASTIC!
November 26, 2011
Really enjoyed this film.
½ August 10, 2011
I'm always a little surprised by how lackluster a show Gypsy somehow ends up being. It's long and meandering and you really need someone with incredible charisma to carry the Mama Rose role. Bette Midler is passable, but nothing special. (Though neither was Rosalind Russell in the original.) She doesn't particularly shine in any of the musical numbers, and neither do any of her co-stars. Cynthia Gibb is probably the best of the cast, playing an awkward girl who suddenly discovers she has talent she never knew about. I enjoyed bits of the movie but not enough to make it worth recommending.
March 20, 2011
Bette Midler was the perfect Rose. Who knew that Peter Riegert had that good of a singing voice. I love that Tony Shalhoub was in this movie and that the young June was played by Lacey from Party of Five, Mean Girls, and Ghost of Girlfriend's Past fame. Two thumbs up!
February 6, 2011
Something about this film feels lacking, though I don't know quite what. Still, it is a fun portrayal of the original musical and doesn't make any leaping changes from stage to screen. The musical numbers are unabashedly portrayed as musical numbers. Some of the performances seem subdued when confined to the television set (or in my case, the laptop), though I do enjoy Bette Midler's craziness here. Basically, if you want some solid renditions of the song and a chance to see the Broadway show without having to pay $80+, this film is not a bad choice!
½ January 9, 2011
The Divine Miss M can't do any wrong!!!
½ December 15, 2010
The perfect example of the kind of horse shit that should never be applied to film. A film with no redeeming qualities about people with no redeeming qualities. In musical form no less. Utter garbage through and through, and then through again.
July 27, 2010
The story is great, but Bette Midler's performance was way too dramatic
June 12, 2010
A well-done TV movie with Elisabeth Moss in a great early role. And dare I bother saying how great the songs are?
April 11, 2010
This musical/broadway/tv movie was amaazing!!!
½ December 25, 2009
I loved this! Mostly forgettable songs except for The ovious classics but it was well cast and, even though it was pretty long, Midler brought vim and verve.
Gibb played the part very well and transitioned nicely between acts. I'll make this one a favorite.
Page 1 of 7